We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
591
40
15
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
591
40
15
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal plan our honeymoon dive shop west end apple tv dive staff full kitchen meal package romance package couples massage guest services grocery store private island dive sites main island the entire staff spent a week
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This was an interesting property. The rooms are all located out on a small island which you get to by taking a small boat across a moat about 30 feet over to the island which drops you off onto the site. So security wise it's pretty darned safe as someone would have to swim out to get onto the island. The boat guys are always right there at any time of day or night to get you on and off the island quickly whenever you feel the need.
The rooms are very, very nice. The beds are excellent!!! The food was great, the staff was excellent - especially the front office staff.
The snorkeling is very average right there at the resort. It would be fantastic if there was some way to get out past the rocks into the ocean, but we tried and it is far too dangerous to even try to get out there without killing yourself. They really need to clear a small area off to the side of the property of the rocks to allow people out to the ocean. It is sad because you can see all the snorkel tour boats just on the other side of those rocks, but you can't get there at all from the property. it seems like such a minimal and easy thing that could be done to make this place a 5 star rated gem, but it just falls slightly short because of this. We are comparing this to the Parrot Tree resort (where we stayed a week before) and they had a path out beyond the rocks and the snorkeling there was amazing. Hopefully they will make that small change - if they do, this place would be close to perfect.

Room tip: There isn't a bad room anywhere on this property.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara C, Guest Services at Barefoot Cay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

On behalf of our General Manager, Mr. G. S. Lewis:

Thank you sincerely, Nicholas, for the thoughtful review, many compliments, and for being our guest at Barefoot Cay Resort & Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed the amenities and service we provide. 

Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we have noted how you felt your snorkeling experience was diminished by the lack of direct access to the open sea.  Please understand what appeared to be a rock barrier was in fact the edge of the spectacular Mesoamerican coral reef, and as such is both natural and protected.  In fact, some of Roatan's most famous dive sites are quite literally a stone's throw from our house reef.  Any time a snorkeler wishes to venture into the open water, they can join our scuba diver guests as they go out on our dive boats to the various sites.  And the benefit of the natural breakwater to our house reef is that it is teeming with life for our snorkeler guests; in fact a sunken VW minibus is now a most enjoyable natural habitat with a wide variety of underwater inhabitants on board and the occasional 6 ft. grouper behind the wheel! 

We do hope you will stay with us again in the future and more fully enjoy all the snorkeling adventures we have to offer here at Barefoot Cay Resort & Spa and Barefoot Divers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I had the best time relaxing and having fun at Barefoot Cay. The scenery here made our honeymoon so memorable. Hurricane Irma prevented us from going home, so the staff was more than accomadating for our extended honeymoon. They allowed us to stay another week. They even put us in the honeymoon cottage for the last of our stay. Put this resort on your trip list to enjoy snorkeling and many days at the pool. You won't want to miss this beautiful paradise spot.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation in a spectacular dive destination then you need look no further. The property is situated on a private island dedicated to guests only. From the time that you arrive at the airport your vacation is effortless. There is an excellent onsite dive operation with arguably the best dive site on the island right in front of the property. For non divers, the snorkelling is tremendous!
I have stayed at many beautiful properties, I have yet to see one that is as well managed.The staff is outstanding and the hospitality is incredible. If you want a place to recharge, relax and experience all that Roatan has to offer then you have found it. I can't wait to return!

Room tip: The beachfront bungalows are great!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This was my first time staying here and I will be back. I come to Roatan several times a year and have driven by this location, but never really noticed it. This is why I liked it so much. Just off the main road, but quiet from any noise. 5 min from French Harbour and 10 minutes from Coxen Hole. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby

Room tip: I was alone and chose the Garden Room. Small and only for short stays.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriscO7205MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Unbelievable hospitality. A first class resort. They accommodated us for an extra week during a hurricane in Florida. If you want serenity away from the bustle of the cruise ships and the tourists than this is the place. The chefs food was out of this world. Only needed two meals to fill us up all day. I came at the recommendations of my son who had his honeymoon here and have not regretted it.
The Schraders

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Austen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews