We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maypole Inn

The Maypole Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maypole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Rochdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed for two nights in a room at the back of the pub. Very tired and dated furniture, net curtains in dire need of a wash, bathroom was freezing cold, no heating in it at all!!
On a more positive note the bed linen was lovely and the tea tray well stocked. Breakfast was very good but would like to see a choice of either butter or flora instead of having to ask.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    48
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a lovely lunch in a very traditional pub. Plenty of choice and a small portion sunday lunch also. Service very friendly and helpful. Food very good and plentiful. Busy but not over crowded would certainly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed overnight as I was travelling on business.From the visitor's book comments the inn has plenty of happy customers who come back again and again. Room decor and furniture was a little dated, but the bathroom was modern and newly decorated. Friendly staff. My evening meal, from a menu definitely a grade up from standard pub fare, was excellent, as was breakfast in the morning. Rooms at the front might suffer a bit from road noise from the A65 outside - my room was at the back, but the quiet was spoiled a bit by a motor noise in the background - extract fan? heating boiler? I don't know, it ran all night but didn't keep me awake. Excellent value for money - double en-suite room for single occupancy, evening meal with a pint of bitter, cooked breakfast, - total £54.15! Premier Inns, eat your heart out....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This cute little inn has it all, it's only a small inn with 6 rooms but the staff are so friendly and look after you really well.

It's a fantastic location if you want to experience the Settle to Carlise rail journey, get on the train at Long Preston which is just a 3 minute walk from the inn.

Beautiful place. The best thing about my stay was the food, yum yum yum! My 2 breakfasts there and 2 evening meals were wonderful and some of the finer meals I have ever tasted. The menu has a great selection of food along with a specials board. Amazing chips!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetcorn_Coni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Me and my friends had just been for a walk and were looking for a pub to get lunch. It was proving difficult to find a pub serving food past 2:00pm but we finally found this place in Skipton. What a find. The pub was full with customers but we found a table. The service was attentive from the start; the food served was delicious and generous. We had a great refilling lunch at a very good price. Good atmosphere too...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
5.1 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.5 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.5 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
19.9 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.2 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maypole Inn

Property: The Maypole Inn
Address: Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Maypole Hotel Long Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing