We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Magdala
from US$115.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
626
77
24
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
77
24
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary magdalene sea of galilee archaeological site our tour guide archaeological dig don t miss modern church christian history guest house ancient town the crossroads century ad spiritual experience come alive galilee area beautiful chapel interesting place
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Recently rediscovered ancient synagogue, tied to the story of Jesus. A mile-a-minute Irish guide with great command of the history as applied then (2000 years ago) and now on the multifaith land that is Israel today. Modern pilgrimage facilities still in construction, but enough to welcome us and give us experience of the past, with hope for the future.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 104stevenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience M, Front Office Manager at Magdala, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are grateful the guide was able to provide the information you needed and desired! Please come back and visit us soon!

To stay updated, visit Magdala dot org!

Sincerely,
Team Magdala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The greatest discovery for Christianity and Judaism so far. The church is amazing, the story is a sign of God. My faith was never stronger. Is a must visit in your trip to the holy land!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank karla t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience M, Front Office Manager at Magdala, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for your passion for our site! We are honored you were able to have such a powerful experience here, and we hope to see you again!

To stay updated, visit Magdala dot org!

Sincerely,
Team Magdala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is the site of a real first century synagogue on the Sea of Galilee , Jesus , the Bible tells us preached in such village synagogues . It's condition for an excavation is very clear and the volunteer guide ( Ms Celine Kelly for our trip ) really made it come alive . The modern church built behind the site is it's self well worth a visit , even for non christians .
Allocate 2 to 3 hours to capture the presence before you and reflect on just what is likely to have been going on at this site 2,000 years ago .
Magdala will become an absolute must for any Visitor to the Holy Land ,for Christians a place used at the time of Jesus ( not 350 years after his death cannot be bettered ), yes it really is that good .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience M, Front Office Manager at Magdala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

We are so glad to hear of your experience and that Ms Celine made Magdala come alive for you! We appreciate all you have said, and we hope you come back and visit us again!

To stay updated, visit Magdala dot org!

Sincerely,
Team Magdala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Father Kelly was an excellent guide about the area and development of the area and the excavations which have found many new historic finds dating back to 1AD and the Roman occupation of Israel. I would encourage anyone seeking to increase their knowledge of the Jews, Jesus, and historical info to visit this new site of discovery.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank The P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience M, Front Office Manager at Magdala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are happy Fr. Kelly was able to guide you through the site and share his knowledge!

To stay updated, visit Magdala dot org!

Sincerely,
Team Magdala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This is a newer archaeological site and may not be well known yet. But it was definitely worth the visit!
Our private tour group of 4 visitors spent two hours here, learning about the ancient town of Magdala where Mary Magdalena, disciple of Jesus, came from.
The site of this town is fascinating, with an ancient synagogue, houses etc. The Magdala Stone that was discovered here is currently on display in Washington, D.C. at the new Museum of the Bible.
Beyond the archeological interests there is a Catholic chapel and faith center that is beautiful and peaceful, right on the Sea of Galilee. We loved that it highlights the women in the Bible through the art works in this center.
Our tour guide was excellent, a young man from South America, who was very intelligent and knowledgeable.
Do not miss going to Magdala!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank gemsi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews