We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
US$195
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
225
14
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
14
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailsother guestsmain beachinteresting peoplenatural beautyheaven on earthincredible viewspaddle boardingdream vacationyear after yearlow keysand fliesbeach vacationspecial placeget away from it allhonor barwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Honestly, our time at Guana was simply perfection! The entire trip was relaxing and peaceful, but also full of fun! There was no end to the amount of activities for us to do or simply not to do. When asked about my favorite part of my visit, my answer was: to watch the happiness and excitement of my grandchildren the entire visit!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kellycV122DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Wanted to provide a review of Guana Island from a beach vacation perspective. For us, a couple in our 40s, we love a great lazy beach vacation and were looking for an escape from frenetic day to day work lives. As other reviewers have said, there is a ton to do - hiking, orchard tours, day boat charters, but also a fabulous beach where one can do nothing at all.

We have stayed at some of the best resorts in the Caribbean, and this definitely is one of the best and most unique beach vacations.

Highlights:
Beach is awesome. A long expanse of pristine beach with great beach chairs. Big cushions, a giant tree providing all the shade you want, or none at all - totally your decision. One half of it is open to the public - which means occasionally a chartered boat will visit but overall absolutely pristine and quiet.

The Beach Club is a small beach structure/bar with every non-motorized motor toy you could want - floats, glass bottom kayaks, snorkel equipment, paddle boards, etc. Lunch can be served at the beach if you want and you sit in a gorgeous setting and look out looking at the ocean. We would highly recommend getting every lunch down at the beach club.

Food is excellent for the Caribbean, especially lunch. Be sure to try the Guana Island Sauce if you like spicy.

You truly feel like you are at a wealthy friends private beach house. You can always grab a snack or a drink from the honor bar for your own drinks. Very casual in a luxurious upscale way.

Rooms are large, very clean and rustic simple. We stayed in Barbados, which had a fabulous view and beautiful foliage.

People - Both the staff and the guests are fabulous. I think the fact that the staff are so kind and helpful plays a role in how kind and thoughtful everyone is. For example, Andrea, the Assistant Manager was incredible and went above and beyond again and again. In addition, Brenda and the team of Managers were amazing - everything went incredibly smoothly from start to finish.

Only two negatives:
- Mosquitoes were pretty bad, and guessing it because of the focus on environment and insecticides,, but we brought our Deet repellents and then had no issues.
- It is a smaller resort, and therefore if a few guests are loud or unthoughtful it impacts everyone. For a few days there was a family with an infant and it impacted the noise level. Online, Guana says there is a kids friendly space on the beach but that wasn't utilized with this group and each day they sat in the middle of everyone and ruined the peace and quiet in the morning. However, it was limited and the resort does what it can to minimize it.

With that said, the resort is truly a way to get away from it all. For an exclusive beach vacation we would absolutely recommend it for something different and to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DanishZachow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Camelot!
"I know it sounds a bit bizarre,
But in Guana that's how conditions are.

The rain may never fall "til after sundown.
By eight the morning fog must disappear.
In short, there's simply not
A more congenial spot
For happily-ever-aftering than
here on Guana Island.

But in Guana
Those are the legal laws

By nine pm the moonlight
must appear.

There is simply not
A more congenial spot
For all that is great than
Here in Guana Island."

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank endubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Beautiful location with so much to explore! Friendly staff and comfortable villa made our stay one to remember. Perfect to couples but kids are welcome. Kudos to Andrei/Antonia and team for making this one of our favorite vacations ever.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Newt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

My wife and I recently spent four nights on Guana Island for our anniversary. It was, in a word, "perfect." We have stayed in a many great resorts across the Caribbean and around the world, but Guana Island is our new favorite. The island itself is beautiful, with amazing views in all directions, miles of interesting and scenic (and sometimes challenging) hikes, beautiful tranquil beaches and wonderful, if understated, accommodations. The staff was the best I have ever encountered at a resort, with many incredibly passionate about the mission of the Island and its owners. The service was perfect with the right balance of privacy and engagement with guests. The food was amazing with unique flavors from the local orchard, incredibly fresh ingredience and creative presentation. We loved the communal dinners where we met many interesting people and made new friends. But we also loved the fact that we, at times, felt like we were on a private island while we were hiking, walking on the beach, snorkeling or swimming in the ocean. If you are interested in a quiet getaway with a perfect balance of relaxation, outdoor pursuits, an incredible natural setting, amazing food and spectacular service, I couldn't recommend Guana Island more. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews