We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA at its best in Penzance”
Review of YHA Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YHA at its best in Penzance”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Impeccably clean, large, updated bunk rooms, very friendly staff, great food. Delightful place to stay during your adventures through Penzance and surrounding areas. If on foot, it's about 20 min walk from train station.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    44
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
35
18
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed for two nights. The hostel was at full capacity but it didn’t seem overcrowded. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had dinner on one evening which I felt was a little overpriced. My breakfast was better value. The bar/restaurant is airy and pleasant. The hostel was quiet at night and I slept well. I only used the self catering facilities to store some food for lunch. The fridges were very full and the self catering kitchen was really busy at breakfast.

The hostel is slightly out of town. It is about a 20mins walk or a short ride on the number 5 or 6 bus. There is a lot of do in the local area. I would recommend the Wayside museum in Zennor (bus 508). St Michael’s Mount at Marazion (Bus 2). St Ives (bus 300 or the really scenic train line). Mousehole and walking on the coast path to Lamora Cove (bus 6). If you area planning on taking buses then ask for a day ticket (£7.50 for First buses only or £10 for all bus companies and the trains in Cornwall).

I intend to return to Penzanace YHA next year. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed at Penzance Youth hostel in July for a weekend with my husband and 4 children. The hostel had I think recently been refurbished. It was very well decorated and the restaurant bar area was very nice. The family room was ok for the six of us (3 bunk beds) for 2 nights. There was a TV and games room so there was entertainment on site. The £10 meal for a family of 4 was a good idea but quite small portions, we had to order two for our family of six but 3 would have been more filling, but it was very tasty. Luckily we hired a car when we got to Cornwall you cannot see the hostel from the road so it was a bit difficult to find especially with no sat nav! Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sistajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Have stayed a couple of times now and enjoyed both stays. Very peaceful, clean, warm and furnished superbly. We R a family of 4. Kitchen has everything u need to prepare and cook a family meal. On site restaurant is ideal and caters for families perfectly. Breakfast is also worth the money if u don't want to cook. Bar is stocked with local beer, cider etc and is all reasonably priced. All the staff that work, clean and cook were lovely, friendly people. Will be coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgenie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A warm welcome; very comfortable and so many things to see in the area.
We felt very relaxed here and did not want to leave.
The boys - 3 and 5 yrs - loved the table football and the self catering eating area..
We hope to go again same time next year.
Anon

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enthusedYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
11.1 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
40.1 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
85 reviews
9.3 km away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
79 reviews
34.6 km away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 2 in Coverack
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Property: YHA Penzance
Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Castle Horneck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing