We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Fuerte(El Fuerte)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rio Vista Hotel(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Posada Don Jose(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Franco(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$131
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
156
114
29
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
114
29
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsposada del hidalgobeautiful hotelcopper canyonthe rivertrain stationstreet sidethe hotel's restaurantswimming poolshrimpnice roomchurch bellsgreat margaritasonly stayed one nighttaxi ridewalk aroundvery friendly servicepesos per person
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The gardens are beautiful. Rooms ok, friendly staff, good breakfast. Location in perfect next to the museum and 1 block away from the main plaza and other attractions. If you stay at El Fuerte stay at this hotel

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jcisinthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stopped in El Fuerte to catch the Chepe train to Copper Canyon. Someone had told us this was a nice town and it certainly is - one of the nicest small colonial towns we have found in Mexico in 7 years here (admittedly mostly on the coast). It's a mistake to do Copper Canyon without breaking the journey here and getting the train 2 hours later than Los Mochis - taxi ride only MX$1300 from Topolobampo.
The hotel is well described, quiet with nice room, beautiful courtyards (many of them) and 100 years old. Well maintained and the staff are very professional and friendly. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, and the courtesy Zorro show amusing. The hotel is right next to the fort and best view of the city and river.
We stayed in 3 hotels on this trip, this was the cheapest and the best.

Room Tip: We had a room over the street but it was quiet. Other rooms had terraces/views, enquire
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordBrackenrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

The grounds are breathtaking, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The hotel restaurant serves scrumptious good and the staff is accommodating and gracious. It was a pleasure staying here!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hotel Posada de Hidalgo. Well kept gardens and pool, very comfortable room and bathroom, good working a/c and enjoyable Mexican folkloric show before our delicious dinner.

Our bedroom had two tiny balconies opening into the street. We could hear the lovely tunes coming from the church bells...twice, @ 10 pm and @ 6 am.

Very nice buffet breakfast with made to order eggs and homemade quesadillas. The only issue was that they were not prepared for large groups. We were supposed to eat breakfast at 7 am but they were not ready for us. The buffet is set in a very small area and was very difficult to get around to the food and tables. Somewhat disorganized.

Leaving this issue aside, we enjoyed our short stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbufChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It set the tone of welcome when we were met at reception with a tropical drink after a long train ride on El Chepe. Our rooms were comfortable, the service remained excellent throughout our stay. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews