We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Social House!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ark

The Ark
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ark
The beach outside the house prior to new flood defence Floor plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Ark
The beach outside the house prior to new flood defence
Floor plan
Top floor living room
Top floor living room
Top floor living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Top floor kitchenette
Top floor bathroom
Top floor
Middle floor bathroom
Middle floor living room
Middle floor living room
Middle floor bathroom
Middle floor living room
Middle floor kitchen
Middle floor bedroom 5
Middle floor bedroom 5
Middle floor bedroom 4
Middle floor bedroom 4
Middle floor bedroom 4
Middle floor bedroom 3
Middle floor bedroom 3
Middle floor bedroom 3
Hallway
Ground floor wetroom
Ground floor wetroom
Ground floor wetroom
Ground floor wetroom
Ground floor wetroom
Ground floor bedroom 2 - off kitchen
Ground floor bedroom 2 - off kitchen
Ground floor bedroom 1
Ground floor bedroom 1
Ground floor bedroom 1
Ground floor kitchen
Ground floor kitchen
Ground floor living / dining room
Ground floor living / dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophie G
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Social House!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My rather large family and I (13 adults and 2 dogs) stayed at The Ark for my birthday weekend. Despite being so many, there was plenty of space in the property. The downstairs 'living area' consisted of a large dining table with enough space for us all, 2 large sofas (which can be used as sofa beds) and a pool table - this was great and kept everyone entertained! Lots of pool cues and a rest etc. to use too. There is also a large kitchen on the ground floor which included a wine fried - always handy!! All of the bedrooms were nicely decorated and the beds were really comfy!! The balcony on the top floor was perfect to enjoy a nice glass of red whilst overlooking the sea.
The photos of this property do not do it justice - it really was the perfect place for us to stay.
Angela was an excellent host and answered all our questions before the stay as well as leaving us a lovely welcome pack :)
All in all, a perfect place to socialise with friends and family. I would definitely love to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel342...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“thank you for a wonderful time”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

At our arrival the rooms were clean and warm. In the living room was waiting for us a welcoming basket containing wine and snacks, in the fridge milk for tea. Angela and George were always available to us even before making any reservation by taking time to show us the house and answering to any question we had, taking the time to send us a list with local visiting spots.
Above and beyond your duties as hosts they provided us with all what we needed for a family reunion from all over the Europe. Everybody loved having a themed house close to the beach resulting in a great party. Thank you again we shall visit again in the summer time!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!! Wonderful Property, Ideal for large families and groups.”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great property, exactly what we were looking for. Will 100% stay here again. Angela was brilliant, great communication and very accommodating. Three, bathrooms, three kitchens and three living rooms made it ideal for everyone to still have their own space whilst staying together. The second floor living room is beautiful with sea views from the balcony. We also spent a Saturday on the first floor living room and that was very cosy, we all lounged around for the day watching tv together. Would highly recommend The Ark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large ground floor kitchen and large pool table in the ground floor living room.
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect. Exactly as described.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie O
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nautical dream, an absolutely gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Upon arriving at The Ark, my friends and I were taken aback by how stunning the house was, and the awe didn't stop when we entered the building. It was a nautical dream, an absolutely gorgeous place to stay, and all of us are now wishing we could be back there again tomorrow.

The Ark had everything we needed and then some, the pool table being an excellent source of entertainment. The crowning jewel of the house however has to be the top floor balcony; framed with fairy lights and an excellent view of the sea, this was our group's favourite spot to relax, even in the wind and rain!

All in all, we had a fabulous New Year here, and would very happily come again.

Thanks Angela for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R
New Paltz, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful for a large group.”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

There were 13 of us, friends and family, from the USA for a family wedding. Ages ranged from 21 to 61. Angela was amazingly accommodating with our needs. The house was great for such a large group. There is space for everyone to be together or go off and be
in smaller groups or on their own. The only thing that would have made it perfect was if the
beach across the street had been opened. If Angela could have arranged that I'm sure she
would have. If we're back in England with another large group we'll stay here.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing