We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it- make your own judgement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Some of the comments that I have read recently are really subjective and quite frankly unfair.
I bought my caravan earlier this year and camber is a completely new area and concept for me. I love my caravan and I am going to list what I believe is great about the park:
Very good security- and they are happy too!
The beach- is truly stunning big enough for thousands- brilliant sunsets- fantastic walks!
The entertainment centre- the bingo is great and so Is the atmosphere - they are trying hard to entertain you!

It's 90inutes away from London , close to rye and Hastings with lots of other areas to explore!
Believe me it is not as bad tbh nowhere
near what I have read- in fact I simply can't get enough of beautiful camber sands!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irena48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,621 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

From the start of trying to find the check in, the administration was a disaster. Then trying to find our unit and park 300 yards away. I broke all the rules and drove over the grass so that we could unload four adults stuff and a baby. All in all it seems to be a money making machine. With no effort to help customers in any way. Wi fi is useless even though you pay £7 per day but the area where wi fi works is only open from 9 am to about 11.30 pm. We booked and paid in advance for a travel cot. On arrival no cot. Tried phoning reception. No response. Walked 400 yards to be told that I needed to deposit £20 cash extra to paying for the cot. No mention of this when we booked the cot. Not having £20 cash on me, I had to walk back to our unit and then back again to the reception. Reception is only open from 9.00 am until at latest 6.00 pm. After that tough. Web site says they have four heated swimming pools. What they have is one pool complex with a total of four pools. One adult pool and three kiddie pools. I could go on and on. Avoid this place. Its a disaster.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingtutwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

just back from camber sands. we had a good time, but the park could be so much better.
the entertainment centre is set up so that you have to go through the arcade to get anywhere, including to check in, which meant I had to drag my kids off the cars/bikes/guns each time we went to the pool or play area. a really stupid set up. the whole place has a tatty feel. we upgraded from bronze caravan and as nothing else was available were put in a bungalow. it was decorated like the kind of flat the council gives to benefit cheats, ok for what we paid but i would have been steaming if i'd paid top whack for it. we weren't told how to get our car to the bungalow as it was nowhere near a road, so i lugged a whole family's gear from the parking area. on the way home i drove miles round on the grass through the chalets - many of them were wrecks and it felt like New Orleans after Katrina. such a waste of a lovely location.
there seemed to be a lot of booze around for a family park. you can get a coffee but the breakfast brew of choice is Stella. people wander round with cans of cider or stella all day long, then at night funnily enough (unless you're trying to sleep) they're drunk as newts and singing their heads off.
Park says it has 4 pools - actually it has one pool complex, with a kids pool, baby pool and jacuzzi which does make 4 but is a bit of a con, especially as it closed at 4.30 on the day we arrived
what is frustrating is that with a bit of effort and thought this place could be really nice. but it ain't

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank 185wkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had a good holiday however I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the park. We hold our check in days in the entertainment venue as this provides our guests with an opportunity to view all the facilities available at the earliest convenience. Camber is situated on a large site with our bungalows built to an excellent standard. I believe you may have driven the wrong way and come across our chalet development which is currently in the middle of a major refurbishment programme, ready for 2013, which we are very excited about. Stella is not available to purchase on park and I can assure you that we pride ourselves on being a family holiday park and do not encourage drinking around the park. I must apologise for your experience on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After reading all the reviews of this caravan park before we went we were dreading it. We only had a bronze level caravan and couldn't update as they were full the weekend we were going. Yes, there were small marks on the carpet and a largish stain on the upholstery. Yes, the upholstery was torn at the back of the settee where the sun was on it all day but the main thing was that is was clean and tidy. Because of other reviews we took some blankets to cover the seats with and our own sleeping bags in case of dirty linen. As it happened we had glorious weather so we didn't need to spend much time inside. We didn't try the club or shops but instead ate out each night of our 3 night stay, at restaurants recommended by TA! The three night break cost us £62.50 through collecting tokens in the Daily Mail so it was great value for money. Again, if I had been paying more then I might have been more critical of the accommodation. As it was it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChristabelSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

When deciding whether to holiday here I was rather concerned at the negative reviews on the internet so I contacted the Park and they asked me if I would like to come down and have a look. I accepted their invitation and decided to book. Although some of the chalets and bungalows could do with a bit of TLC - a coat of paint and repair some of the windows, inside the accomodation was absolutely fine. It was clean and the beds were the most comfortable that we have ever slept in on holiday. The adult evening entertainment was very good - we didn't have any kids with us. The on-site restaurant was adequate, if a bit slow on service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, had no real complaints, and that is unusual for us and might consider going there again, we normally go somewhere different every year unless the park is exceptional, which we felt that this one was. Park Resorts have had some problems but I was informed that all of the old management had been sacked and new management had been recruited and that they were doing all they could to bring the park up to scratch. I visited in March and we holidayed in August and I could see that during this time, big improvements had been made. My advice if you are in any doubt - go down and have a look and see for yourself - speak to the staff and they will tell you, if anything is wrong, they'll make sure they put it right. They certainly kept their word with us. The beach is right opposite the park. It is shingle there, but that is fine if you want some quiet time on the beach. Walk along the beach for about 5 minutes and it's pure white sand!!! Go to this park - you'll
enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbalah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
5.6 km away
The Mermaid Inn
1.4 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,439 reviews
5.5 km away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
831 reviews
5.6 km away
The Regent Motel & Bar
21.4 km away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Camber Sands Leisure Park New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Camber
Price Range: €59 - €412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing