We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camber Sands - Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having read reviews of Park Resorts Camber Sands - I was conscious that it was going to be a "love it or hate it" holiday.
First impressions of the site were poor. From the road it looked very unloved and in need of a makeover.
Having arrived - twenty minutes prior to check in we were simlpy told to go away and come back later.
We had a GOLD PLUS caravan - which was dirty and failed to live up to expectations of "luxury" described. The floors and surfaces were filthy, and way below an acceptable standard.
The range of caravans on the park is extreme - with some impressive new caravans sitting next to ones that appear unloved or worse in need of scrapping. This adds to a negative feel as you walk around.

On a positive note:
The park sits opposite a wonderful beach
Visiting entertainer Jay McGee was the highlight of our break - absolutely superb!

However:
Overall a disappointing break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post your feedback to TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that the park needs a makeover - we were actually told by the NCC that the standards throughout the park are excellent during an audit only two days ago. Camber Sands contains a mixture of privately owned caravans and rental caravans - the older units that you referred to are probably the holiday homes of some of our owners, as we don't use any caravans that are more than seven years old. I'd like to apologise if the caravan hadn't been cleaned to our usual high standards - did you report this to us at the time? When problems are reported to the team at reception, we do everything we can to correct them so that our guests can continue to enjoy their holiday - in this case, we would've either sent a cleaner round or relocated you to a van that was more suitable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,659 of 1,943 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
St Albans, United Kingdom
12
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very disappointed with stay. Caravan not what expected and when complained was not offered alternative as only two of that grade on whole site and other in use ! Would not return or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We got a pitch right next to the road, so we had to listen to cars and motorbikes race along the road literally about 2 meters from where we lay sleeping.

As for the showers....disgusting, smelling of urine with slime on the floor, I wouldn't step inside there without a bottle of bleach ...you might just catch something and I will be reporting it to health and safety because that is not healthy and certainly cannot be up to standard.

Also from around 4pm there was no more toilet paper. Dont waste you money camping at this place. It was a real disappointment

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adelep574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post your feedback to TripAdvisor. I'm disappointed to hear it as the touring toilet facilities received heavy investment in the winter of 2011/12. The feedback this season has, on the whole, been excellent with lots of repeat business, and our standards as a whole are higher than ever before. I can only imagine that you used the facilities after they'd been heavily used or abused by other guests, or after the touring warden had left for the day. I'd like to apologise sincerely if we failed to meet our usual high standards. As for the noise, part of the touring filed is adjacent to a main road that borders the beach and it can be noisy at times, but it hasn't proved to be an issue on any scale before - if you'd brought this to our attention at the time, we would've been able to move you to another pitch. at times it can be noisy but this has not proved to be an issue on any scale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks here. We stayed in a private caravan which was fabulously equipped with everything we needed, plus very clean and a great location on the park. Park itself is clean and tidy and the entertainment centre is not too far to walk from any of the park.

The greatest aspect of this park is it's close location to one of the best beaches in the country - Camber Beach. Sandy, clean and not overly crowded even in the latest heatwave. I would recommend taking your own coolbag to the beach though as the cafe's are quite expensive (e.g. £2 for a small bottle of water).

Park Resorts seems to be undergoing some kind of change as there were a lot of empty plots where caravans had been moved off from. And even in the last 2 weeks (in the middle of the school holidays) there didn't seem to be that many people around. The pools weren't overly busy and we always got a seat in the clubhouse.

Food as usual is diabolical on this park. I would strongly recommend that you do NOT eat in the restaurant - not sure what the problem is, but it's been like this for the last 3 years - food takes forever to be delivered, which you would think would indicate that it's all cooked to order - but then it comes out cold, undercooked or obviously microwaved. The chippy is understaffed, they never have anything ready and really do cook to order - but this is not what's expected from a chip shop. Queues are long and the food very greasy and prices are not reasonable. Advice: take a 10 minute walk out of the park (turn right at the gate) and there is a great fish and chip shop there.

Entertainment team were better than last year but seem to be hindered by the lack of imagination of the Park leadership team. The staff evening 'shows' are just the team stars singing - there used to be shows with a story and singing - but no more.

The same old tired party dances and games have been rolled out again this year - just nothing new or exciting. Visiting cabaret acts were really good but the rest of the evening entertainment isn't that good.

This year there is the addition of beauty treatments in the pool complex - waxing, massage, mani/pedi etc. Quite good value too. The pools were great and the changing areas were kept clean. TIP: don't pay £1 for the lockers as you won't get it back - just take your bag into the pool area and leave near the seating.

So in summary - if you are looking for a beach location, with some indoor activities on site if the weather's not great, or have children under 8 then this is a great site. Eat out or cook your own.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The week we spent at Park resorts Camber sands was excellent value for money and so much fun.
The kids entertainment is brilliant during the day and especially in the evenings. The entertainment staff went out of their way to ensure all the children were having fun and my 6yr old daughter just loved the 'Madness & Mayhem' hour in the evenings, must admit us adults enjoyed it too!!!
Our chalet was very clean and had everything we needed, we were also located very close to the amenities, the pool and flumes were excellent and very clean.
All in all the entire park and its staff were top class and on top of that the park is situated just across the road from one of the best beaches in the UK.
Definately worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
5.5 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
846 reviews
5.6 km away
The Mermaid Inn
1.4 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
5.5 km away
The George in Rye
21.4 km away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Camber Sands Leisure Park New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Camber
Price Range: €59 - €419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing