We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
185 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 185 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
shelbel20
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in all 3 of the barns for a long weekend - we were a party of 11 celebrating a 50th birthday.

When we arrived we met Ken who was very friendly and showed us around. We quickly found that the barns were very well equipped, from kitchen utensils, to games and a folder giving useful information about everything you could think of.

Everyone agreed how quickly they felt at home. I'm sure the warm log fire helped this, along with the beautiful view out of window in the living area.

For us as a large group, we found that having the 3 barns worked very well. We all made use of the large living and kitchen area in Swallow Barn, but were also very grateful of the extra space of the other barns.

During our stay we felt reassured that we could seek help/advice from Ruth or Ken if necessary, but were otherwise left to enjoy our weekend.

Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us during our stay so we were unable to explore the local area, but we all agreed that we would love to come back and do just that as we were so pleased with our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sws19
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, rare experience of rural idyll”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in Swallow Barn for a family celebration, and were all really impressed with the space, beautiful environment, wonderful views across the mountain valley and great kitchen for gathering and preparing a feast! The bedrooms were comfortable and the flexible space much appreciated by all of us. We also ate out in the nearby Bridge Inn, Michaelchurch Escley, which was very welcoming and served good food and the best pint of Butty Bach we found all week.
Two of us stayed for longer in Goose Cotts and enjoyed the warm and peace by the wood stove, in the middle of blustery weather.
Both properties are skilfully converted from barns with love and imaginative creativity. I loved the small details, good interesting pictures to look at, stone arrangements to appreciate, and the running babble of the stream. We walked to the ancient cist at the top of the farm, most interesting. Also, handy for Hay, great walking and cycling area, visited Arthur's Stones nearby - spectacular, lots to do.
Ken and Ruth are brilliant hosts and we enjoyed meeting them very much. This is a special place and we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and beauty
Liked least: Weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laatkins
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“We all loved it!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Dukes Farm was a perfect getaway for a city-family-reunion. It was well worth the journey, a beautiful easy drive, getting lost on the country roads, and far away enough from the stresses of life, and good motivation for us to get out and about. The directions to get there were fantastic for even map readers.

We were greeted with a warm smile, and lots of details for our stay and activities. The hosts have a great knowledge for the area, and were very hospitable in providing directions and all others things we needed (from boots to games, and even freshly picked apples). But the hosts were already fantastic when it came to communication in preparation for the trip, with all my family's questions. They also provided us with biscuits and option of tea or coffee for our stay, which is nice be welcomed to.

The kids excitedly ran around the house, chose their room and felt right at home, unpacked, and showed the rest of us around. We loved the atmosphere of the beautifully furnished barn, and especially the log fireplace. When we were all together, the living area fit us all comfortably, while the mothers were cooking in the fully well-supplied kitchen (which could have done with a knife sharpener and a pair of scissors). And the dining area sat us all, with 2 little ones in provided high chairs. With the big screen tv on in the background, wifi, games being played on the floor, kids and big kids running in and out to the games room, there was ample for all of us!

We were sad to not have used the Goose cottage much, apart from those that slept there, but it certainly was cosy for those in the family that needed a break from the kids, or even to watch something else. And the views of the valley from the adjoining terrace was spectacular to wake up to each morning.

A bit chilly in the morning and evening, but we had great weather for and Oct-Nov weekend. The kids enjoyed the trampoline, and the Wendy house. We really enjoyed walking their farmland. And we all felt safe and well-rested. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The real wood fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Whoops! - didn't notice the kitchen scissors had gone AWOL until after you left. Sorry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastics Anniversary Retreat”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a Find! We found the ideal place to enjoy our anniversary when we booked Goose Cottage at Dukes Farm, We were welcomed by Ruth and Ken with warmth and an obvious love of the beautiful area surrounding the farm. We were given lots of great ideas for walks, including the Cats Back and Offa's Dyke which you can see from anywhere on the farm, and also ideas for places to eat.
The cottage itself is a gem. with a log burner to keep your warm and cosy, ( already lit by Ruth before we arrived) a plentiful supply of logs supplied. Everything you might need is supplied and the finish and attention to detail is first rate. and the heated floor in the shower room is bliss to the feet.
We will be back to continue our exploration of this beautiful area and next time we will take the dog.
Brian & Sara Smith
Guildford, Surrey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warmth & Welcoming”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a wonderful way to explore hidden landscapes and experience this utterly inspiring location. Ruth and Ken could not have been kinder, more welcoming or accommodating, making us feel at home before we even arrived. Their guide to Crasswall is a 'must read' and touchingly personal, the Goose Cotts a rare haven and perfect launch pad for walks, or just sitting in the sun.

Duke's Farm is nestled down a lane with spectacular views, benefitting from excellent local pubs and a truly rural environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting.
Liked least: Leaving.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing