We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenuta Pantano Borghese
Nearby Hotels
L'Ottava Hotel(Monte Compatri)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Paradiso(Monte Compatri)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Casale di Lusi(Monte Compatri)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Monte Doddo(Monte Compatri)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
28
15
7
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
15
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercowsplaceweddingagriturismomonicaborghesekitchenentrance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend held our summer vacation at Tenuta Pantano Borghese for a week and we loved the place.
The hostess was so nice to us, brougt us a basket of food every morning to our door and we even got a room upgrade because there was a wedding saturday which meant that our original room was taken.
The grounds were really romantic with the garden, the buildings, the chapel etc. The cows and the birds were a source of irritation though because of all the noise but you could forget about that in the pool.
We didn't spend much time in the local city, but travelled around every day. Because the local metro station was closed we has to rely on our rented car for transport. So if the station still hasn't opened, you should take that into account.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadsThirsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed there with our three children whilst visiting Rome. It is a bit out of the way but we usually avoid big cities and rather visit small towns, but felt Rome was a place we had to see.

We loved the atmosphere and was made to feel very welcome by Federico and Monica. On one of the three days my kids said they prefered to stay on the farm rather than face the crowds in Rome! We enjoyed walking around and Federico showed us the old Roman aqueduct and let the kids visit the dairy.

The apartment was very spacious and clean and is nicely furnished - had a nice old world charm with some antique furniture and Toile bedspreads. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was neat.

Self catering facilities only allows for basic cooking and the counter is very tiny so the preparation area for food is limited, as is the drying area for the dishes. We had a two plate cooker, microwave and small fridge.

To get to Rome takes some time: drive to the Metro and then a train ride in. Takes about an hour but we enjoyed the stay outside of the city and found Rome very crowded. On our last day we drove out to Tivoli to visit Hadrian's Villa and this farmhouse is well situated to visit Tivoli as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MywaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel with white glove service, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a unique experience at the foot of the Romani Casteli and an easy train ride from Roman, this is your place. The farm has been in the same family for 400 years and is a working dairy - this means there are smells and mud, but also terrific opportunities for children to learn. Federico is the owner and drove my husband around to show him the area while I settled the rest of the family. He drove us to the train station, made reservations for dinner and even helped my husband reconnect with an old friend.

There are Roman ruins and a standing Roman signal tower, a couple of horses, dogs and, of course, cows. If you want to see how real Italians live, this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OslersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The guest house is situated on a dairy farm on the outskirts of Rome. Depending on what you expect, first impressions (exterior) are not all that good. However, the accommodation suited our family of four, two adults and two kids, very well. The rooms are extremely clean, spacious (with a living area), the beds are fitted with white linen and the central heating works very well. There is free Wi-Fi which had some trouble during our stay and normal mobile phone reception was also troublesome.
The accommodation are advertised as "self catering" but the equipment for this purpose falls a bit short. You can do some very, very basic cooking. Our room did not have a microwave which I regard as stock standard for self catering and no drying area for dishes.
If you are visiting Rome, it might be a bit far out. It takes about an hour to get to the city centre, first by car to the underground station and then the underground itself. If you are however want to experience the Roman country side and life on a farm, this is the place. It is an active farm which to my understanding has been in the family of the current owners for 400+ years! In the end, all roads leads to Rome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Initally seeing the photos of this place is what inspired me to book our trip to Italy. This is a quintessential italian farmhouse. The house and grounds were so lovely with a grandiose tree lined driveway as you enter the property. When we arrived we briefly met the owners, a very cute old italian couple. The place is run by their daugher-in-law. Our room was really nice - it was a one bed-room with a living area and efficiency kitchen. Our bed was really comfortable.

For us the location was ideal as we were just staying here one night before driving down to the amalfi coast. It may not be the best location if you are planning on doing Rome as it is a bit out of the city, unless you intend to stay here as a mini-getaway.

We really enjoyed wandering around the property and it was a delight to watch the cows getting fed in the morning. We did not smell the cows at all the first day we were there. We could smell them a bit the following day but it was not too bothersome. We were given a brief tour in the morning of their event area and kitchen which was nice. There is also a pool but we did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews