We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
119
26
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
26
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the east coast overlooking the bay whale watching witless bay bright room irish loop nice hike sea birds bedroom window coffee house terrific view typical newfoundland day hiking avalon peninsula spent three nights here front porch dining room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Very friendly owner, Rita. Excellent views. Great breakfast. Close to St. John's. Clean and comfortable room. The chef operating the evening restaurant (The Keel) provided a spectacular small plate meal!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We spent two nights at The Bread and Cheese Country Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. The property is charming, comfortable, well maintained and in an ideal location on the Irish Loop. The views from this property are absolutely breathtaking! Rita was a delightful host and our breakfasts were delicious. Our stay here was the perfect end to two wonderful weeks in Newfoundland. Thank you Rita!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We started our trip to Newfoundland in Bay Bulls at the Bread and Cheese Country Inn.
We made the right choice! Rita was welcoming and very accommodating , made a call for us when we wanted to go whale watching. The location is beautiful and the property looks immaculate.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjolein D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Not only is this a lovely, well-maintained B&B, the views from every room are breathtaking! Friendly owners, Rita, Sidney and Sheldon make the stay very enjoyable. The resident little black fox and her kits were a surprise to see. Great hikes close by as well. The food served in the in-house restaurant, Keel, was excellent! The chef, Leanne, was friendly and accommodating to my allergies, and we had a fantastic dinner!

Room tip: All rooms had a great view!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed here one night and the hospitality was amazing. The view I can’t even explain , it is just up from the water. The owner Rita sure makes you feel so welcome ,she adds her personal touch to everything. It was a great expwrience for sure

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Brigid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews