We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature and empty beach”
Review of Oyster Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Humansdorp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The property is amazing. It's a perfect place for nature lovers.The walks are well signposted although some time indicators would be helpful. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterBayLodge, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Susan

Thank you for your review.

Your words that you chose to use are perfect discription of us.

We hope you will come back or inform people about us.

Wishing you a great day further

Kind regards

Oyster Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Oyster Bay Lodge. Keep in mind that you need to travel on a 25 km gravel road to reach the lodge, however once you get there you will want to stay there. The lodge offers a variety of activities including 4 walking trails (ranging from 3km - 7.5km), a mountain biking trail, dune surfing, massages in the boma, dune safari, horse riding, picnic, etc. the lodge overlooks exquisite sand dunes and it's about a 10minute walk to the beach. The dune safari and couples massage is a must!! The owner and staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a bar, swimming pool and restaurant offering complimentary breakfast, an a la carte lunch and a 3 course R300 per person dinner. We did not eat dinner there however the daily menu board always looked delicious. Siya, JP and Hanz (owner) really contributed to our trip being amazing! Their team made our one year anniversary memorable with flowers on the bed with a bottle of wine, flowers in the bath and decor at the boma for our picnic and massage. The team puts in a lot of effort in making your stay unforgettable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank marissae2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Marrisa

We appreciate your positive review.

Kind regards
Claire Kloka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We did not stay at the lodge but visited for the dune safari only. It's a great way to learn a bit about the environment in the local area. Beautiful scenery. Very knowledgable guide. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 897leighannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, General Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear 897leighannb

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was my first visit to Oyster Bay Lodge. The reception we received was efficient and friendly. We were taken to our very spacious room. The Lodge is actually inside a nature reserve and this created a sense of being on Safari.

The room was fitted out for self catering and there was also a restaurant with excellent facilities. The highlight was the peace and quiet and privacy we enjoyed. This is an excellent stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. If you enjoy walking trails or horse riding then this lodge is for you.

Room Tip: With Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your review 829PaulC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here whilst in South Africa for my 50th birthday in January 2016.
We were here for 3 nights, staying in a Comfortable room initially as there were no Luxury Chalets available. However, after the first night someone cancelled and we upgraded to a chalet. I would thoroughly recommend these as they are further away from the restaurant.
The food was amazing and the staff very friendly.
The location is fabulous although way off the main road, so you wouldn't want to be travelling in and out.
We loved the tranquil beach and lack of civilisation around. We had a horsehide along the beach and another time a picnic was delivered to us on the beach.
This made a lovely change from built up towns and modern hotels, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The furthest chalet away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sykesc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Sykesc66

Thank you for your review.

Have a lovely evening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humansdorp
19.1 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
657 reviews
1.7 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Oyster Bay
35 reviews
17.3 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
585 reviews
30.8 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#5 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
326 reviews
18.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Lodge

Address: | 2km West of Oyster Bay Village, Humansdorp 6300, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Humansdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Humansdorp
Price Range: €122 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This four star graded luxury lodge is situated on a natural, coastal reserve between Knysna and Port Elizabeth along the malaria free Garden Route in South Africa. We offer freestanding luxury chalets with kitchenette as well as comfortable guest rooms in our main lodge. Where can you find a holiday destination with a breathtaking, private sandy beachfront of more than 3 kilometers? You just found it!!! The longest private sandy beach in South Africa!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Oyster Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing