We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
178
69
21
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
69
21
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding great place nature reserve set menu sand boarding walk in shower bird watching food was great very special place huge private beach amazing setting outdoor activities dune area lodge walks accommodation meals
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Oyster Bay Lodge. Keep in mind that you need to travel on a 25 km gravel road to reach the lodge, however once you get there you will want to stay there. The lodge offers a variety of activities including 4 walking trails (ranging from 3km - 7.5km), a mountain biking trail, dune surfing, massages in the boma, dune safari, horse riding, picnic, etc. the lodge overlooks exquisite sand dunes and it's about a 10minute walk to the beach. The dune safari and couples massage is a must!! The owner and staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a bar, swimming pool and restaurant offering complimentary breakfast, an a la carte lunch and a 3 course R300 per person dinner. We did not eat dinner there however the daily menu board always looked delicious. Siya, JP and Hanz (owner) really contributed to our trip being amazing! Their team made our one year anniversary memorable with flowers on the bed with a bottle of wine, flowers in the bath and decor at the boma for our picnic and massage. The team puts in a lot of effort in making your stay unforgettable.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marissae2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Marrisa

We appreciate your positive review.

Kind regards
Claire Kloka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We did not stay at the lodge but visited for the dune safari only. It's a great way to learn a bit about the environment in the local area. Beautiful scenery. Very knowledgable guide. Really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 897leighannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, General Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear 897leighannb

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was my first visit to Oyster Bay Lodge. The reception we received was efficient and friendly. We were taken to our very spacious room. The Lodge is actually inside a nature reserve and this created a sense of being on Safari.

The room was fitted out for self catering and there was also a restaurant with excellent facilities. The highlight was the peace and quiet and privacy we enjoyed. This is an excellent stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. If you enjoy walking trails or horse riding then this lodge is for you.

Room tip: With Sea View
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your review 829PaulC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here whilst in South Africa for my 50th birthday in January 2016.
We were here for 3 nights, staying in a Comfortable room initially as there were no Luxury Chalets available. However, after the first night someone cancelled and we upgraded to a chalet. I would thoroughly recommend these as they are further away from the restaurant.
The food was amazing and the staff very friendly.
The location is fabulous although way off the main road, so you wouldn't want to be travelling in and out.
We loved the tranquil beach and lack of civilisation around. We had a horsehide along the beach and another time a picnic was delivered to us on the beach.
This made a lovely change from built up towns and modern hotels, I would definitely recommend it.

Room tip: The furthest chalet away from the restaurant
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P9957YEcolleens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Sykesc66

Thank you for your review.

Have a lovely evening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

After a days traveling we arrived at oyster bay lodge to be greeted by friendly staff . Rooms are simple but sufficient , no air conditioner . Restaurant food was very nice and they have uncapped wifi . Plenty of activities including mountain biking , horse riding , hiking and dune surfing . Good place for long unspoiled beaches and hiking .

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank raymondr500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, General Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear Raymond

Thank you for your review.

I hope you are having a great time back home.

If not feel free to return.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews