We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
173
67
21
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
67
21
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingoystersprivate beachgravel roadgreat placegarden routeluxury chaletminute walktwo daysset menucouple of daysocean viewcomfortable roomrecommend this placewalk in showerfood was greatbeautiful nature
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here whilst in South Africa for my 50th birthday in January 2016.
We were here for 3 nights, staying in a Comfortable room initially as there were no Luxury Chalets available. However, after the first night someone cancelled and we upgraded to a chalet. I would thoroughly recommend these as they are further away from the restaurant.
The food was amazing and the staff very friendly.
The location is fabulous although way off the main road, so you wouldn't want to be travelling in and out.
We loved the tranquil beach and lack of civilisation around. We had a horsehide along the beach and another time a picnic was delivered to us on the beach.
This made a lovely change from built up towns and modern hotels, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The furthest chalet away from the restaurant
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Sykesc66

Thank you for your review.

Have a lovely evening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

After a days traveling we arrived at oyster bay lodge to be greeted by friendly staff . Rooms are simple but sufficient , no air conditioner . Restaurant food was very nice and they have uncapped wifi . Plenty of activities including mountain biking , horse riding , hiking and dune surfing . Good place for long unspoiled beaches and hiking .

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank raymondr500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, General Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear Raymond

Thank you for your review.

I hope you are having a great time back home.

If not feel free to return.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Oyster Bay, despite getting lost on the way in the staff were really amazing about ensuring we made it there safely. I would highly recommend this place to everyone and the massage was brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaraB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, General Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear LaraBB

Thank you for your review.

Lana is an amazing masseuse and I am sure to pass on the message to her.

We aim to make everyone feel at home and safe when they are travelling to the lodge.

You are a brilliant example.

I hope that you are safely back home and have millions of memories to share.

Have a lovely weekend further.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Wonderful, peaceful and beautiful lodge. Great for walks on the Beach, horse riding and sand boarding. The Rooms are very nice and comfortable. The view from the Rooms is breathtaking. The 3-course Menü was very good. The Service is professionell and welcoming.
Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathalies52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

On our way from Tsitsikama, following sign posts, getting quite depressed ffom the condition of the road and wondering if any damage happens to our rented car, we had second thoughts regatding our booking. All worries vanished at once on arrival to this wonderful lodge.

The lodge is situated on a small river, 10 minutes away, walking, you arrive at a beach, all yours, with amazing dunes, all yours. Be it hiking, cycling or sans boarding, all is available for you.

Oh, and there is food... A two course breakfast a nd a three course dinner, and if you are able, lunch is there or a picnic basket will be organized for you and brought to picnic areas on the beach.

The staff is lovely, the accommodation is fine.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Yair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirtroads, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews