We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
US$27
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
US$24
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$24
Hotels.comUS$24
Algotels
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
0
4
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
4
7
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First off, I think Comitan is a must see if you're in Chiapas. My family and I were initially going to stay here for one night. We ended up staying three.

The hotel is located less than a five minute walk from the main plaza. The place was clean. We had some issues with the wireless but the staff was able to get that resolved immediately.

If you're on a budget and want a good location, this place is a good place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksalas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ok hotel. The building where we stayed is an addition to the old hotel, across the street. This is a dangerous place. I walked in twice and took the key to my room. No one was at the reception. (I saw the other reception across the street.)
The first room we got had no place to hang our clothes. So we got another room. There was hanging space on top of the writing desk. A bit weird but what the hell.
When we entered the room, you couldn’t turn the light on. Was the light bulb burned? Was the fixture not working? I don’t know. I asked twice that it be fixed. It wasn’t.
Then there were plugs. Only 2 in the whole room. One was in the bathroom. That’s the one I used to connect the computer, recharge batteries for the phone and the cameras etc.
Basically, this was a sloppy maintained room. I can’t talk about the other rooms but that one (59) was not impressive.
The hotel is well situated, a couple of blocks from the Zocalo.
The hotel advertises a dining room. There is one but it was not opened. So we had breakfast at one of the Zocalo restaurants.
When we left, I asked for an invoice. The reception clerk took half an hour to get my name, then check to see if I had a reservation, then write down my name and address in his exercise book. He then asked me if the information was right and when I said yes, he told me he would ask the manager to send me an invoice. We are Sunday. This was Thursday. Somehow, I don’t think I will receive an invoice. I wonder why.

Room tip: Ask to see the room before unpacking.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Colonial Real for 1-night in mid-Feb ($37). The hotel is conveniently located on a cobble-stone colonial street only 1.5 blocks from the Zocalo. The lobby and secure parking are located across the street at the older Hotel Colonial.

Our 2nd floor room was spacious and clean, with 2 double beds, a small desk, a wall-mounted TV and tile floors; no refrigerator, safe or hot water (and it is cold in the highlands). There was a narrow balcony with a chair, and a nice view of the street and the valley and foothills to the east.

There is a restaurant at the hotel, but it was not operating because there were only 2 guests staying at the time. There were several good restaurants at the zocalo; all opened early for breakfast and closed late in the evening. There was also a mini mart at the zocalo, and a Banamex with an ATM.

Comitán is a regional centre with a pleasant zocalo that is quite lively at night. It is a good base for a day of touring the Chinkultic ruins, Montebello lakes, El Chiflón falls and the Rancho Nuevo cave. The Hotel Colonial Real provides comfortable accommodations at a fair price. We recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed one night in the Real Colonial. The staff were friendly, and the hotel looks to be newly renovated. The room was clean and pleasant. The bathroom had a very small shower, with toiletries provided. I had a little trouble with the wifi, but the friendly man working the front desk was helpful and gave me the code for their sister property across the street, and I was able to use that from the lobby area.

My only complaint would be that I didn't get a great night's sleep. There were several quite loud people congregating either in the lobby or the dining area, even after the dining area closed, and they stayed up until the wee hours. My room was on the first floor, next to the dining area, which certainly didn't help. Some hotels will enforce quiet hours, others do not. I ended up sleeping with earplugs, which did help somewhat. If noise is a concern, perhaps ask for a room not on the first floor.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews