We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted oceanfront”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Beautiful setting, nice breakfast, spacious room, offer rest in comfort after daytime activity. Walk-up stairs, good wi-fi reception in lobby area. Outdoor pool (too cold to use), top floor jacuzzi (not hot enough) - extra/waste of the property?
Water is precious, so shower can be strenuous to use with multiple press & holds, which I didn't mind, as I endure and even like intermittent cold showers.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SmallArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again.

We will appreciate you recommend us with your family and friends.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

This hotel is everything it advertises and more. What they don’t tell you is because you are closest to the beach and outside of the downtown area, you get the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets, the easiest access to the beach, a front row seat to the iguanas making their daily commute from the pond behind the hotel (that is home to flamingoes and finches) to the ocean. You see all the people staying at the other hotels going by on bikes looking up and wishing they had stayed at Iguana Crossing. It truly is the premier hotel on the island.

The junior suite is totally worth the money because the deck wraps around to the west which allows you to see both the pond and the ocean with unobstructed views. You can also see the volcano in the distance. We spent a total of 2 weeks in the Galapagos, visiting 9 islands-- the 5 days we spent at this hotel was a highlight of our trip.

Pedro, Paula, and the staff are so helpful and friendly! They do laundry, help prepare you for your activity and have 4 chefs on hand that make some delicious food. The coconut fish and fish ceviche were our favorites. The owner of the hotel owns a citrus farm so there is always orange and grapefruit juice on hand.

Be sure to ask 3 hours in advance for them to turn on the rooftop jacuzzi for you! We found it to be a perfect way to enjoy sunset.

The three adventures that we booked through the hotel was the Volcan Sierra Negra Tour, Las Tintoreras, and The Tunnels. All three were completely worth the time and money. In fact, I can’t imagine coming to this island and not doing all three!

They also went above and beyond when we forgot a couple items at the hotel and had them delivered to us the next day in Santa Cruz.

One other tip, spend the $200 per person to fly to this island rather than the speedboat.

For the people that say the "showers don't work"-- they're idiots.The showers are meant to conserve water and the environment. You're in the the Galapagos-- things are a little different but that's why you go and love it.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with the wrap around porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear guests

We are so glad to hear from you, it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay, it is a compliment to know you enjoyed not just the accomodations but the service. We are always trying to conserve our resources because that is how we can enjoy this wondeful nature that sorround us.

We really hope you to come back and we will appreciate you to recommend us with your family and friends. Greetings from Paola and all the staff.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel centrally located to walk into town, walk the beach, boardwalk or watch the marine iguanas cross the road. You can watch surfers if you go down the road.
Very nice breakfast , dinner and dessert. Beautiful windows in the bar to sit and watch the water. Nice pool area and roof top jacuzzi. Turn down service in the evening. Lovely shower area but the shower is difficult. Stays on a few seconds unless someone is holding the button.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as you said it is located at the end of the beach and that is why we have a great view. We really hope you come back. We thank you for your comment.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The showers are the only thing that was not perfect but their was hot water just had to keep pressing knob to get water. The staff was friendly and location was great. The pool area was clean and perfect for lounging.

Room Tip: Showers are push button so water only flows during the time button takes to come back out. Have to k...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment,we are glad you enjoyed the accomodations of the hotel, we constantly improve our services in order to please our guest. We hope you recommend us with your family and friends.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Ant infested, showers did not work, no remorse for conditions of the room we were given. It was a very expensive hotel for the island, and to experience these conditions was very disappointing. I would advise to book elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 220mmgnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 km away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0 km away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#6 of 10 in Isabela
41 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
73 reviews
0.8 km away
Brisas del Mar
Brisas del Mar
#10 of 10 in Isabela
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: €180 - €429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing