We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
59
23
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
23
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Can only endorse recent reviews. Lovely location, quiet despite the road with beautiful gardens and terrace overlooking. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Very large room, beautifully appointed and good sound proofing between rooms. Very comfortable beds. Private parking alongside the hotel. Cuisine of a very high standard and very Southern French so lots of red meat, offal etc (not necessarily to our taste but we could see the quality). We stayed primarily to visit Castillon la Bataille but would have loved to have seen more of what is obviously a glorious area.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmcolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This small, family owned hotel and restaurant in the beautiful vineyards of southern France is quite charming, the staff is very friendly and attentive, and the meals in the restaurant are delicious. We were visiting the Bordeaux wine region with a group of friends and had the most delicious meal of our trip in the l'Epicurial restaurant. The chef prepares the foods fresh and the menu selections were excellent. Our meal was pared with the most delicious red wine from the region; again, probably the most delicious we tasted during our stay. The atmosphere in the restaurant is quiet and casual, which was perfect for our party. The hotel and restaurant are on a beautiful manicured property that invites you to relax and enjoy the beauty of the area. The hostess of our trip arranged for a cooking class for our party and the young chef helped us select a french home style menu and demonstrated for us how to prepare a soup, veal and rice stew and delicious strawberry tiramisu and rum baba. We had a delightful time and were able to enjoy the wonderful meal we had prepared with his most generous assistance. If you like attentive service, well prepared, delicious food, and a relaxed atmosphere, l'Epicurial is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmmaandElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

L'Epicurial hotel is a perfect base for a holiday in this region.
It is very well run and the rooms are absolutely perfect.
Plenty of free parking a lovely quiet location and attentive staff.
There is a very nice garden with chairs to sit outside, there is a little bar for tea, coffee or drinks . The restaurant is very good and I had a wonderful chocolate desert. Housekeeping is of a very high standard and we absolutely loved our shower and bathroom.
The breakfast is extremely good and a cooked breakfast is made to order if required. The hotel is ideally located to visit the Chateaux and wine area of the region. We used it as a base for a wedding at Château Rigaud. In fact we were delighted with our accommodation and it seems to be superior to many of the others on offer. I cannot comment about the spa because we did not use it but our friends did and seems very happy.
I recommend this hotel highly. Just go there, a great place to stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I recently spent 4 nights at this extremely lovely hotel with a group of old (and new) friends, whilst we attended a wedding celebration.

Reading through reviews on hotels in the area, it was difficult to choose from the myriad of properties on offer. In fact, we settled on the l'Epicurial because it had room for all of us. I can only say that photographs displayed certainly didn't do justice to this charming but unpretentious hideaway.

We were met on arrival by Clemence, the owner, chef and manager who swiftly showed us our rooms. Spacious with firm but comfortable beds, the rooms have been thoughtfully decorated with modern bathrooms fitted out to a very high standard. The spa provided an opportunity to relax in either a sauna, steam or jacuzzi with access to an external deck which acts as a sun trap.

In a country that's renowned for its good food, L'epicurial did not disappoint. The menu is small but everything is exceptionally well cooked and presented. Even better, Clemence is prepared to rustle up whatever you require with nothing being too much trouble.

Breakfast was a variety breads, pastries, rich fresh yoghurt and fruit. We were offered eggs cooked any way with extremely good coffee with fresh orange or pineapple juice.

The property is well run, scrupilously clean with friendly yet unobtrusive staff.

I can't recommend this property highly enough and know given the opportunity, wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have mobility problems, choose ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue02Al01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed for three nights and thought everyone we dealt with--the woman who runs (owns?) the property, the chef, our waiter--were all kind and helpful. They really made us feel at home. The rooms are quite nice, the grounds are pretty, and the food is excellent. We did not have time to try the spa.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barroway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews