We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Priceline
US$159
View deal
eDreams
US$152
View deal
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
131
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
10
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Loved this place. We were on the last leg of a five day walking holiday in the Bordeaux region of France. The day's leg was Sautern to Barsac. Some 16k on quite a warm day. So it was a pleasure to arrive at Chateau Camperos which is very pretty indeed.We had a comfortable room, with a Nautical theme, on the first floor, facing down the garden, towards the swimming pool.After we had showered and changed we had aperitifs on the terrace before dinner. The excellent meal was cooked by Brigette and was served by Paul (both affable hosts) with an ample supply of the local wine.The other guests were very sociable which added to the general ambiance.

Room tip: We had a room facing down the garden, just delightfull.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We returned to Camperos with friends this year after a wonderful visit last year. On arrival the Chateau is very imposing - but the warmest of welcomes awaits you! Paul has a great sense of humour, and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are gorgeous old French and grand , each with a specific character of its own - we like the India room which overlooks the front of the house. Do not come here if you want to lose weight!! Brigitte is a fabulous cook and for dinner reels off loads of choices for starters, mains and dessert! And off course there is always a good selection of local cheese, which must be tried! Local wine is excellent and very reasonably priced - much cheaper than in the UK (well it was before Brexit!)
Barsac is a great little town with lovely walks round and about and the scope for longer walks in the area. We found a couple of places for lunch in Barsac - the Maison du Vin proved to be a gem - we popped in for a glass of wine but we soon succumbed to having lunch there as we saw what was on offer - the food was delicious, the host very friendly, attentive and generous - and you can buy your wine to take back there!
We will return to Camperos next year - it really is a lovely place to stay. Oh and there's a great outdoor pool as well - with the most com sunbeds I've ever tried - which mean a lot of lovely afternoon snoozes (helped by sun and wine no doubt!)

Room tip: I think all rooms here would be lovely - we have seen 3 of them and would be happy in any
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Camperos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Thank you for your so kind message. We are so happy to see you next year and no doubt,we will cook for you with pleasure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Felt like going back in time travel machine... Beautiful chateau, very warm welcome, fantastic dinner! Definitely would recommend to stay if you are in the area. Thank you very much Paul and Bridget!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Nataly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Camperos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Thank you for your message. We hope to see soon and nice trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

What elegance, charm, and hospitality we enjoyed while we stayed here for 5 nights. If you want to stay in a chateau that is reasonable in cost, has immaculate huge rooms and excellent food-stay here! Be sure to have dinner here because our hostess, Brigitte, can seriously cook. I especially loved the library. Not so much for the books, but the fantastic ambiance. Wood, overstuffed chairs, beautiful decor. We played billiards (yep) in the evenings and sipped on wine. You feel so welcome and comfortable in this chateau and you do not feel like you are intruding in someone's home. Paul is a fantastic host. The bedroom was beautiful and bed was comfy. The bathroom is excellent with all the amenities for a pampered visit. It is a very quiet neighborhood as you are surrounded by vines! There is a covered pool which many guests enjoyed.
Location is excellent as you can walk into Barsac and visit the Maison des Vins which also has a (deserved) high rating. You have the opportunity to have wine from 2 regions: Barsac and Sauterne. Even you red wine lovers will enjoy these fantastic wines. We did Bordeaux in "wine flights", we started in Sauterne (whites/rose), moved to St. Emilion, for medium bodied wines, and ended up in Bordeaux. What a wonderful trip!
Next time in Bordeaux, we would surely stay here. You will NOT be disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Camperos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

It was a big pleasure for us to receive you at Camperos.Thank you for your message and we hope to see again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

This chateau house, built around 1870, retains all of its original beauty and detail both externally and internally. Stunning! The French owners, Paul and Bridget, are most welcoming. The breakfast and dinner are excellent. Got lost trying to find it so look for the D118 on the south side of Barsc town centre, 100 meters past the level crossing, on the left. The lovely nearby town of Cadillac sits on the north side of the Garonne. Yes, that's where the name of the car came from.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 972NickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Camperos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your so kind message. We are very happy you had a nice stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews