We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
48
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal du midi sheer delight gardens are beautiful croissants roland towpath cycle prade basin chateau terrace gite carcassonne hosts house toiletries anas
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We stayed one night at this lovely chateau. Not large but charming and beautifully decorated. We did not see much Remy, the owner but Ana's, who came to help us find the chateau when our satnav deposited us in Bram, turned out to be a wonderful host and a great cook. His breakfast in particular was superb!
We selected a delightful room overlooking tranquil gardens. I think it was Montaigne Noire. Huge comfortable bed and light but stylish decor.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. Old world country charm. Our hosts were helpful and charming from the moment we arrived. Newly renovated bathrooms contrasted with the feel of staying in someone's home. A stroll around the gardens before drinks on the terrace. We ate a delightful dinner of foie gras, asparagus, canard and dessert. Breakfast was also excellent and served at our time. Young Anas drove us to Castelnaudry for the next stage of our trip and recommended a restaurant that turned out to be as good as he said. thank you Georges and Anas for the wonderful memories of just one night. we waved to you as we cruised back down the Midi Canal on our hire Canal boat.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank heather4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I thought that I had reviewed this wonderful property at the time that I stayed, but for some reason - it was lost in translation!
I am reminded of this wonderful stay as I think of where I will stay this summer.
Roland and his team offer a wonderful welcome.
The house itself is really authentic, accessed down a minor narrow road - from the main route. The canal is running directly at the back of the house, offering wonderful walks along a very scenic route.
Our room was to the front facade/ back of the house / looking onto the canal (if you follow)/ with a lovely step out area. It looked out to the back garden.
We had dinner - which was very generous and very good value. The smell from the kitchen drifting to the outside, gives you a real appetite.
We had generous portions and we even had a whole dish of peach cobbler left on our table to help ourselves ... much to my husband's sheer delight. The other
gentleman that runs the place with Ronald offered us a very special bottle of Corbierer wine - it was delicious!! €25 from memory.(Other wines are €18)
A wonderful nights sleep followed - totally undisturbed in a wonderful bed.
Breakfast was outside in the garden - Fruit/ yogurt/ breads.
Overall, a really lovely place, and I would definitely return!!

Room Tip: All rooms good
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank comfortfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

A stunning, peaceful and well run 5 bedroom hotel. The interior decor and the beautiful gardens have been thoughtfully put together. The peacocks add a country touch.
The bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable with superb bathrooms. Garage parking saves your car from the attentions of the peacocks!
A 'no choice' menu is served for dinner - all homemade and beautifully prepared and cooked. Breakfast excellent with fresh breads, homemade preserves and eggs if you wish. I highly recommend this hotel.
Very close to the Canal du Midi, lovely walking.

Room Tip: They are all good and very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

As others have said, this Chateau is a gem! George and Roland add so much to your visit; you feel part of the family but in an arms length kind of way so you have your privacy as well. The patio lends itself to pleasant chats and visits with other guests, in fact we pulled the tables together for 2 lovely evenings with new "friends". George could not have done enough for us - helped with car return, and train details; Anef helped us get groceries to our Canal du Midi boat etc etc. The Chatea is chock full of character. Do not hesitate to book! Great beds as well!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevinHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews