We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in lovely atmosphere and superb staff ”

Chez Martine et Claude
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Alzonne
Price range: US$16 - US$44
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Three of us ate here while staying one night in Alzonne. We were looked after really well. Had a choice of outside terrace or inside terrace or inside the restaurant. Two had beef and one had duck and all dishes were so well prepared and beautifully cooked with the chef coming out to check we were satisfied with our food. There is a feeling of real pride in the people who run this restaurant and we had a very enjoyable evening. It is located a walk outside Alzonne but very accessible.

Cleanest bathrooms I've seen in a restaurant for a long time!

Thoroughly recommend this for a meal.

1  Thank JEGCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titinette33, Gérant at Chez Martine et Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

l’équipe la pujade vous remercie . a bientôt d'égailler vos papilles en Occitanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Called in at short notice and were able to get a table without booking.Well set out restaurants with lovely country views.All vegetables were straight from the garden and this showed in the spectacular flavours.Service was top class without being intrusive.
All in all an excellent evening,and I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonybavaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titinette33, Gérant at Chez Martine et Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

un bon moment entre nous tous étranger, mais européen a quand l'experanto . au plaisir de vous servir en Occitanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I can't comment on the food as we didn't stay to eat but as the experience with the owner was so bizarre I thought I'd warn others.

When we arrived at this restaurant my wife started to look at the menu which was on a sheet in front of the restaurant to check the food but as she was doing so she was invited to sit on the terrace by the waitress.

However, when we had the chance to look over the menus we found the choice to be limited to traditional French cuisine and although this suited us my two teenage children weren't as keen.

When we attempted to explain the situation to an older woman who seemed to be the owner, she seemed to take this personally and despite our apologies began to rant at us that we shouldn't have sat down and should have read the menu outside.

We tried to explain in our basic French that we had tried to but had been invited in by the waitress but she continued to make the same point and even marched us to the menu to show it to us, as though we had never seen one before.

It was all a bit strange really. Maybe she was just having a bad day!

    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titinette33, Gérant at Chez Martine et Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016
Google Translation

Non Monsieur je n'était pas dans un mauvais mais j'estime que quand on s’assoie a une table de restaurant, on a préalablement regardé le menu, ce que je fait mois même, si cela ne me plait pas je ne rentre pas, logique!!!! Un porte menu se trouve a l'entrée du camping et un autre a l'entrée du restaurant en français et en anglais, nous avons pas l'habitude d’accoster nos clients, vous vous êtes assis délibérément ainsi que de vous rafraîchir en buvant un verre d'eau avant de quitter la table, ce n'est pas très convenable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

As with other reviewers, delighted with finding this gem. Lovely lunch in very pleasing surroundings, host and hostess charming. Did not need to eat for 24 hours afterwards!

Thank Stag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We have lived in this area for 10years and don't know why we have never tried this wonderfully friendly restaurant before. Had tried to book the 2 previous Sundays but it was fully booked. 3rd time lucky and 9 of us pitched up for Sunday lunch. Fresh,bright ,clean restaurant with excellent menu and food beautifully cooked by Claude. The portions are huge,however, a few of the ladies were able to take a "doggie bag" home ...... much too delicious to waste. Great value for money and we will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Martine et Claude also viewed

 
Pezens, Carcassonne
Montolieu, Carcassonne
 

Been to Chez Martine et Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing