We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
166
35
15
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
35
15
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

If you have heard of the Santa Marina springs, on your way there, either by car or on foot, you cannot miss the sign Mas Mariassa. It is 2 km uphill from the tiny medieval town of Pratdip, on a narrow road that meanders through gorgeous mountains to liaise with the main road C-44 from the sea at Hospitalet de l'Infant to the wine region Priorat. Mas Mariassa is a hotel that caters fantastic high cuisine food to its guests, but also, by appointment, to visitors from the surrounding urbanizacions and villages.

Since we live now in such an urbanizacion nearby, and we were fascinatied by the almond orchards surrounding the paved road in the Spring, we decided to reserve a table at the restaurant at the beginning of the summer high season. At the end of our dinner, we immediately booked another evening along with visiting friends from Germany.

The dinner concept of Mas Mariassa is idiosyncratic but every possible skepticism is quickly eliminated by the perfection of the serving and the choices of wines and the three dishes plus desert. It is advisable to arrive earlier than the scheduled start - 9 pm - to be able to enjoy the rocky hills, lush vegetation, and the facilities of the hotel and its garden with a swimming pool, terraces, and an open bar. It is a mysterious place, trust me on that!

And it is quiet and filled with silence to disbelief. The dining room is small, and accommodates no more than 25 guests on tabes for two, and one or two tables for four. The same food menu prepared for the night is offered to all guests, but every night the items on it are different, and not printed. Sandra, the ever smiling hostess (speaks both French and English) brings you a wine menu, with prices in the range of €18 to €150, all from the Priorat and Monsant regions. Then begins the feast.

The first night we had pulpo a la gallega, in a small liqueur glass, like a purée, then, salmon with Spanish sauce and herbs, and finally, cerdo a la plancha. The second night the hors d'oeuvre was a toast with sobressata, goat cheese and quail egg on top, the fish was a fantastic cod over a piece of zucchini and covered with Squid ink sauce, the meet was veal scaloppini.

All of the dishes had a singular taste, and a distinct effect on the palate. At the end, one has the feeling of a well-thought-of whole meal, consisting of three parts. Our friends shared our fascination and were highly praiseful of the complexity of a special dinner in a very special place.

The cost for the food only is €35 per person.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank ZlatkoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Absolutely relax place to enjoy with couple.
The rooms are simples but comfortable.

Really good dinner and break,fest recommended pay 30€ per dinner. You will enjoy a lot.

During the spring and summer season the outside area is awsome. If you can not use this area in the low seasons the tariff are a little expensive.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The location is in the middle of nowhere, if you consider, beautiful views of mountains, a middle age village at a short brisk walk as nowhere. The Gastro restaurant is absolutely marvellous, the service sublime. The rooms are minimalist but with all the required furniture. White on white and splashes of color. The bathrooms are clean, crisp and modern, towels, pillows and linens of the first quality. The stone Masia has been respectfully restored and provides all the modern conveniences with the feeling of being in a medieval stone house. We are dying to go back.

Room Tip: There is a room with a private pool....
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeberlingeri2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Wonderful days for the Soulman and his lady in June 2105 at this place on the doorsteps of the Priorat wine region just a mere 120+ km south of Barcelona, Catalonia.
The right place for travelers who love the serenity of this wonderful landscape and the easy access to the wine region with its numerous famous wine estates. And when the wine and dine needs a little resting then spend a lazy day on the beach of L'Hospitalet de l'Infant just a 20 minute drive out of the valley.
The rooms are furnished in a rather light way as in ‘Spanish-modern-contemporary’ style. The daily 5 course dinner with the freshest of foods available and cooked to perfection is a great way of celebrating another day of Catalonian hospitality. So overall a great place to stay in a very quiet valley, but please note that this is a very small ‘Hotel Gastronomico’ run with very few employees multi-tasking and therefore do not expect a perfect hotel services à la “We are there for you every second of your stay, whatever you are asking us for” but rather a relaxed atmosphere entrenched in the wonderful Catalonian hospitality. We loved it and we will be back. Vale!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SoulmanJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Third time we visited this romantic hotel in three years time, and ever so peaceful and enchanting. From the variety of the breakfast, over the views on the Serra Llaberia from the lounge area or swimming pool, to the exquisite diner in the cosy restaurant...everything is TOPCLASS!! The rooms are not cheap buth worth the money. This time we slept in room 1 and even got our little private outside pool!! And Raquel and Fransesc will do everything to make you feel at home. Plus being welcomed to the property by the beautiful dogs Nuc and Makina just adds tot the cocoon-feeling. A must visit!!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twixelien1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews