We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveller rating
908
800
367
156
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
800
367
156
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dawn beach grand case ocean front heavenly bed big fish time share atlantic side orient beach rental car swim up bar st maarten beautiful beach minute drive pinel island pool side low season the entire island
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

My family traveled to St. Maarten and stayed at the Westin at Dawn Beach the first week in March 2016. We stayed in their Dawn Beach Club in a beautiful recently remodeled 3 bedroom villa in building D. Our room was 7211 which had spacious rooms and living area, gorgeous decor, and had a great view of the ocean and hills, it was perfect. The resort itself is big and well maintained. Their are several bars throughout, multiple restaurants, a store for quick needs, awesome pool, and beautiful beach. The resort is located in a more secluded area so a rental is recommended. There are some restaurants and a grocery store 5 minutes down the road which are also accessible walking if you don't mind hiking up the steep road. The entire staff from check-in, dining in, housekeeping, to check-out was all smiles and made our stay even better.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Martin G,

Thank you for visiting us at Dawn Beach Club and The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa in St. Maarten. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your condo unit and beautiful views. We also appreciate your wonderful comments about our associates at the resort. We will be sure to share you feedback with them.

We hope that you enjoyed all that St. Maarten/St. Martin has to offer and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Westin Trip Advisor review
We stayed at the Westin 4 days early March 2016 and sadly I give the hotel poor ratings for these specific reasons. If these items are important to you, please consider a different hotel.
1) NO UMBRELLAS (or shade) around the Pool – it’s hot and sunny .. like we want it to be.. but the Hotel has NO umbrellas making it very unpleasant when you desperately need to relax UNDER a bit of shade. (I was told that umbrellas would hinder the partial ‘ocean’ view from some of the rooms that are sold at a Premium for the view.)

2) CONTINUOUS MUSIC BY THE POOL – from like 9 am – 7 pm or so.. music played loudly by the pool. CONTINUOUSLY. The Westin doesn’t believe a guest might actually want some quiet peaceful time to enjoy just lying down.. reading a book withOUT background music.

3) HOT TUB POLICY – Their policy doesn’t allow anyone BELOW 16 into the hot tub. So what do you do with your kiddos when it’s overcast and drizzling.. and the pool / ocean are rather cold? Your poor kiddos can’t even take a hot dip with you?! Very poor policy. Very un-family friendly. (Getting an exception from the Management is possible but it doesn’t stop other adults from giving you the ‘look’ .. as you seem to be disregarding the big sign).

4) POOR ARCHETICTURE – you drive through the beautiful island scenery and hills to get from the Airport - and unfortunately, are greeted by a dark’ish - Casino and a dull, unattractive lobby. The warmth and welcome feeling of being in the Caribbean– are completely missing. It was SUCH A HUGE TURNOFF… The lobby feels like you could be anywhere.. at some 3 Star hotel, in some uncharacteristic city. Anywhere in the world.

The poor architecture is further magnified by the unfortunate placement of an equally dull Bar -right in the middle vision line from their infinity pool. Having stayed at many beautiful properties with much more ocean/ holiday / beach / island character, this Westin’s tan colored dull bar and putting off lobby are HUGELY disappointing.

5) POOR KIDS CLUB – dark / closed: If you are staying at a beach resort for a week, you know how nice it is to have a bright, friendly, engaging kids club where your kids can take for a break from the sun in a safe place, do some crafts - and allow some R&R for the parents. Sadly, the 3 times we visited, it was shut and dark – with a sign to contact the Front desk. Not to mention their poor policy requiring reservations to be MADE THE NIGHT BEFORE. (so I needed to predict the rain all day or that we would tire from too much sun on Day 4 at 1 pm - and pre-pay for the kids club. Sounds unreasonable? I agree!)

6) SMALL BEACH - While the beach has nice white sand with gentle waves– its rather small – and takes less than 10 mins to walk from end to end. So if you are looking for a long, ending beach to walk on and enjoy – Dawn beach is not the place.

7) LIMITED VEG FOOD: If you are vegetarian – you are out of luck - the menu is VERY limited. The excellent staff did accommodate us later during our stay but that was after being overcharged the price of a Pasta Bolognese at $18 – when we had instead substituted it for a simple pasta with tomato sauce for 3 of our meals.
I do want to mention the only redeeming quality of the hotel – the Staff was excellent and did provide very good service. (Thanks Rahul, Loletta and Kevin.. really appreciate your superior service).
But this is just NOT enough to overcome the issues with the facility, their policy, overall offering and rather uninviting entrance / lobby and poor design of the property. There is a certain level of superior décor and service and expectation when you come to the Westin.. and this property completely lets you down.
I would suggest checking out another hotel before wasting money (or points) on this property.

Date of stay: March 2016
1  Thank 577nip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Ni P,

Thank you for visiting us at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa in St. Maarten. We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We a thrilled that Rahul, Loetta and Kevin helped to make your visit memorable and provided great service to your and your family. We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy the feel of the resort or the architecture.

We will be sure to share your review with our managers to have the areas rectified that you mentioned.

Around the pool deck we offer large cabanas for rent for our guests that prefer some shade. On Dawn Beach we offer the cabanas and beach umbrellas as shade options as well.

Our guests do have to be 16 in order to use the hot tub. This is to ensure the health and safety of some our younger guests. It also provides our other guests an opportunity to relax and rejuvenate in a tranquil environment.

Again, we apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations on this visit. If you are planning a future St. Maarten vacation we hope that you will consider giving us another chance.

Sincerely,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We took an all girls family trip to St. Maarten and had a wonderful time! However the accommodations at the Westin were ok. When we first arrived our taxi driver ( he was awesome and very informative) said that the Westin is one of the the only 5 star resorts on the island and a great place to stay! My family owns Marriott timeshares so our expectations are pretty high. The Westin ( not a part of Marriott but a sister company) disappointed us on a few occasions.
We had a 3 bedroom Villa which was huge! But the bathrooms were not my favorite, You could see a lot of wear and tear in the furniture and bathrooms. The bathroom had a little to much rust on the sinks, tub etc. The kitchen was nice and we used it quite often
Getting towels and washcloths was a struggle at first! There was 6 of us and they always seemed to forget a set or 2 and it took over an hr at times to get someone to bring it up to the room
Paying for wifi was ridiculous! It is 2016 and that should be standard at a 5 star resort but it is not and the wifi quality was poor in my opinion.
The hotel is very far from where all the action happens! Taxi rides can get pricey and some taxi drivers didn't even want to take us back b/c of the drive.
If you are young than this property is not for you! Going out down town is a hassle.
The TV's in the room didn't all have the same channels. So what we could watch my mom and aunt could not and vice versa. They said this problem couldn't be fixed while we were there.
The pool and beach were the highlight of this resort! The Pool Bar was excellent!
The food was average and over priced in my opinion! The happy hours by the pool were the best bang for your buck!
Overall the resort was nice but not 5 stars! I think if we had lower expectations we would have been happier.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Veronica B,

Thank you for staying with us at Dawn Beach Club and The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa in St. Maarten. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize about any areas in your condo that were not up to our normal high standards. If you would like to contact me directly for additional information about your room number you can email me at gm@westinsxm.com. We will look into the restrooms, TV's and WIFI connection to have them rectified. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and beach throughout your visit.

Please let us know if you are traveling back to St. Maarten. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I'm giving the Westin 5 stars based on the other large hotel choices in St. Maarten. The service was amazing. The "friendly island" is just that and the staff were the most genuine amongst the other Caribbean islands I've visited.

After arriving stressed out and frazzled after months of busy workdays and a long delay connecting in San Juan, our taxi driver set the tone for the trip. She was kind and warm and pleasant and quite the conversationalist. Our check-in was more of the same. Sweet and inviting. Nice way to start our weeklong conference/vacation.

Restaurant and pool staff were sincere and went above and beyond to make the guests happy. No request was a burden and everything was done with a smile.

Casino staff were equally engaged. The bellmen were knowledgable and efficient. Never waited more than a few seconds for a cab. Cabs add up by the way. Over the week we spent almost $800 visiting the various cities. Plan accordingly. A friend rented a car. Huge mistake as it was sideswiped and her insurance didn't cover the damage. The traffic is awful and daring. Leave the driving to the professionals.

Although the protests on the French side prevented us from going to Orient Beach for two days it seems the cause was worthwhile. Who doesn't appreciate some local politics and action to liven up your vacation?

I'd stay here again despite the remote location. Mr. Busby's, Big Fish, Mama's Pizza and Dinghy Dock/Daniel's were very good food choices.

The pool was nice but cold. The hot tub was just warm but warm enough. The beach was very nice and the drink service was lightning fast! Book it!

Room tip: Spring for the ocean view rooms!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear BigBlueiFlorida,

Thank you for visiting us at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa. It sounds like you had a wonderful conference but still found time for some fun.

We will share your great comments with our associates.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Westin and St. Maarten in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

This is a perfect location for a low key getaway. Beach was spectacular and rooms were nice. The resort had friendly staff but lacks in evening entertainment. Would have been nice to have a reason to go back down to the beach bar for cocktails and fun before or after dinner. Maybe they could have had better live entertainment and cookouts on the beach?

Breakfast buffet was great and kept us full until dinner. Went off the resort for dinner and especially liked the BIG FISH restaurant in Oyster Bay.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KatyG352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, General Manager at The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Katy G,

Thank you for staying with us in St. Maarten for your quick getaway. We appreciate you taking the time to share your Caribbean experience with other travelers. It sounds like you had a great time at The Westin and St. Maarten. Wednesday evenings we future Pirate's Night in Ocean Restaurant which features a wonderful buffet, live entertainment, a evening movie on the pool deck, and a beach bonfire.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews