We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
684
368
167
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
368
167
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity restaurant oysters dawn beach time share beau beaus marina side seaweed problem big fish the activities desk rental car restaurants within walking distance grand case small store st maarten french border timeshare sales concierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I loved the infinity pool, the food available onsite, entertainment nightly, the beautiful and well lit property day and night, the location which was halfway from Dutch and French locales, and most of all the courteous and fun staff who absolutely went out of their way to accommodate us. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: best view faces the beach (Oceanside)
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pomluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

The Oyster Bay Beach Resort (OBBR) was AMAZING! It is a resort that gives you the true "island life feel". With a friendly staff that treats you like family and beautiful views I definitely recommend this resort. The location is away from the airport and the busy city streets, which I enjoyed because living in California the last thing we want to deal with is city traffic and loud airplanes flying over us while we are on vacation. The Infinity Restaurant was very delicious and reasonably priced. The OBBR staff is the cherry on top, friendly and inviting they are the epitome of what your vacation experience should consist of.

Shout out to Derek, Vince, Yolanda and "The Firecracker" for turning this dream vacation in to a reality.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank CHALMER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We traveled as a group of friends - 4 adults / 2 couples and stayed at Oyster Bay from 9/13- 9/20/2015 - part of an Interval timeshare - with a room reservation for 4.

Here's a brief summary of what we found, then I tried to break this into categories to be helpful if you're thinking of visiting.... we would recommend it !

September is a great time to go if you're wanting a quiet, relaxed vacation - it's the ' low season' or less busy time for the resorts / island and nearby islands as well.
* THERE IS NO SHUTTLE SERVICE FROM THE AIRPORT - so keep in mind that either a car rental or taxi will be necessary to get to the resort.

We did encounter the seaweed issue some people have mentioned, but mostly due to some large storms which had moved through the area previous to our visit - so Dawn Beach was covered, but there are 32 more to choose from - some of the most beautiful we've seen with warm water and beautiful white, soft sand.

This resort is very small - intimate and really everything is within walking distance - from the lobby, to pool, marina and restaurants, to the small onsite store and pagoda ... The people on and off resort property were helpful, friendly. There can be somewhat of a language barrier in the French sections - if you'd don't speak French - but we enjoyed our interactions for the most part!
Fair Warning: There are other resorts on site who will pursue you rather aggressively with offers of ' free ' this or that on scratch off cards. We even had people pull over in cars on the main streets, and/or try to sell beach chairs on a public beach !

The key for us was renting a car ONSITE at that resort, with free parking, and exploring the different parts of the island from the Dutch side to French, several beaches and interacting with people of St Maartin. We also enjoyed the 'wild life'
iguana's and birds ....

Here is a breakdown Pro /Con by bullet points.

Airlines: We experienced difficulties with US AIr / American - coming from the USA.
Fair warning - expect delays and allow ample time for connecting flights.
the airline will NOT accept responsibility for this nor overloaded crowds in
customs. If you have other flight options I'd suggest using them.

Resort: Restaurants
Beau Beau's / Infinity On -site 4 more just at the entrance of the resort.

* Great Food - somewhat pricey / Check out Daniels on the walkway
* Entertainment - pretty lame, they were holding ' Hawaii' week - ?!?!
* Rooms - clean, comfortable with well set up kitchen and living space
* Both rooms had great views of the ocean
* GREAT infinity pool - open 24/7 with hot tub and views of St Barths

Season: Sept is just before the 'in demand' season on the islands

* Quiet, peaceful = like having your own private resort, no lines
* Several of the nearby islands are ' closed down ' ( St Barths )
* French District has several establishments 'closed' until October

Excursions: Set up in the lobby at the excursion desk

* Check out the sail boat tour with the group ' Quality Time ' they are
amazing and attentive and everyone on our tour had a great time.
* Cap'n Al - boat / snorkel tour from the marina - this is a smaller group
very knowledgeable captain - and beautiful snorkeling / beaches.

Transportation / Mobility: Rent a car if you're comfortable !

* Shuttle services are available via the resort - but at $15/ person and on
a set weekly schedule.
* Car rental is available pretty reasonably ON SITE or via airport and
there is free parking on-site.
* Driving rules are a little different - but they are much more relaxed
about it - also license plates will indicate an 'R' if you rent a car so
people will know you are visiting!
* Watch out for moped / motorcycle drivers - they 'weave'
* Street signs, location signs and exhibit signs are NOT common

Beaches: So many beaches,

* There are beautiful beaches all around the parameter of the island,
some clothing optional, some not.
* Mullet Beach was absolutely stunning, Orient Beach was beautiful as
well. Prickly Pear island and Anguilla were wonderful.

Island Culture / Restaurants:

* We stopped in to say hi and befriended the gang at Radio Station
Island 92 FM - in Simpson Bay, Dutch Side - Dr Soc, and Mr S !!!
What an awesome group
* Check out the Team Goldendog group - dog rescue Dr Soc runs on
the island !!!
* We met Greg - owner of The Palm restaurant at the station as well -
don't miss the chance to eat here the food is locally made and
incredible !
* Residents / people on the street were helpful and friendly - and good
to help us find our way !

This was a wonderful vacation - and we can easily recommend his resort and a visit to the island - like they quoted us " One island, two cultures, one people".
We loved it !

Room Tip: Request ocean view, but specify NOT over the restaurants / clubs section.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank xxVacationOrBustxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Resort is nice, room was redone but definitely not upscale. Work was being done outside the building we were in due to a water leak some where so you would have thought they would have moved our room to try and keep vacationers away from the jack hammering noise and holes outside the building but that was not the case. I was also lucky enough to have the room across from the water treatment plant so needless to say enjoying the balcony was limited due to the smell.
Resort is kind of in the middle of nowhere so if you want to rest and relax this is your place but if you want gambling and nightlife you should look elsewhere
Bugs were vicious got so many bites the first night there was scared to venture out after dark.
Beach was full of seaweed so we actually never went to it.
Infinity pool is amazing although a little small for the size resort wouldn't want to be there during high season. View is fantastic from that part of the island.
Beau Beaus restaurant was good. As was the pool side food.
Restaurant across the street Canao is fantastic!!!!
Captain Alan's boat day trips are located in Marina and are EXCELLANT!
Marina store is great and convenient.
Wifi is expensive and not very good.

Room Tip: Shoot for ocean front
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Slelmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This resort is very nice but it is a bit away from things to do. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful resort, this is the place for it. The pool overlooks the ocean so it is magnificent! We ate at Beau Beau's on site and food was good. There is a small grocery store but it only takes cash. Supermarket is a distance away. A few drawbacks though, there is no elevators, Wifi is available at a cost and is very slow and lots of digging due to water leak. Staff is wonderful and rooms were very clean. Overall a great vacation!

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank kswny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews