We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
120
140
83
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
140
83
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st martin french dutch grand case exploring the island ocean front upgrades nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed about eight days here, in a oceanfront, larger guest room. The views are great from the oceanfront rooms, and for the island, the room prices were very reasonable.
Upon arrival, the assorted front desk staff, Laura, Stephan, and especially "Trefont" were very nice and accommodating. This hotel is a older, and at times could use some upgrades and additional maintence, yet they are more than willing to help and assist to make things right during your stay ! The marina is nearby, and restaurants are within walking distance as well. We will stay here again, reasonable and drivable elsewhere.

Room tip: Choose oceanfront rooms 105-110 away from pool, nice views and quieter as well !!!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jerrym343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel was difficult to find, but owing to the remote location I was able to find peace and quiet. It's a 30-minute ride to both Grand Case and Philipsburg.

The room was clean but in need of maintenance and repair. It had, for instance, a fishy, metallic smell that lingered on my clothes and belongings. The drawer doors were so stiff and difficult to open that I began leaving them ajar. (The nightstand to the right of the bed was so difficult to open that the handle fell off. The same happened to the veranda door.) There wasn't any hot water in the bathroom; the tissue box became wet, turned blue (?), and smelled foul when I pulled some out.

The staff and crew were friendly and accommodating, and there were some good French restaurants and supermarkets nearby. All things considered, I wouldn't pay full price to stay here again, and would only consider doing so at a significant markdown.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank grasschoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This Hotel was selected particularly for the value (reasonable pricing, condition of the property, amenities, and location). We travelled to SXM early August 2016 and found that Captain Oliver's Hotel was fit for our vacation. It was very affordable to stay there and Dessi Pantova was very helpful with some arrangements prior to arrival to ensure that our trip was memorable and also with scheduling and providing information for local activities. Although most of our time was spent out and about SXM, the condition of the property was of importance. We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View room, which was very spacious, very clean (daily housekeeping) and and had a great view of the ocean. The general property does need some upgrades.... The pool was fairly large, in-room safes were a plus, and there was also a television in room. There were absolutely no maintenance issues during our stay. The location was ideal since we were exploring the island. The hotel is centrally located (between the French & Dutch). We enjoyed many restaurants and nightlife on the Dutch side and enjoyed water-sports and other activities on the French side. It was an absolutely wonderful vacation!!

Room tip: Deluxe Ocean View Rooms - Great view, Large Sunny, Short Walk to Pool.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Location is not bad, nice little bars near there and good outlook on ocean and marina.
Prices where very reasonable so easy to put up with as similar accommodation would cost you twice that much. stayed 4 days there and management was very helpful considering the issue the place has and will have in the future if nothing will be done.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is a nice resort in Oyster Pond. Not fancy but very clean and convenient for the charter boat we were hiring . There is a pool and restauran to site.walking distance to several restaurants Sand a convenience store.

Room tip: Askk for room with view of the Carribean
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews