We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Pond and St Martin !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Oliver's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed about eight days here, in a oceanfront, larger guest room. The views are great from the oceanfront rooms, and for the island, the room prices were very reasonable.
Upon arrival, the assorted front desk staff, Laura, Stephan, and especially "Trefont" were very nice and accommodating. This hotel is a older, and at times could use some upgrades and additional maintence, yet they are more than willing to help and assist to make things right during your stay ! The marina is nearby, and restaurants are within walking distance as well. We will stay here again, reasonable and drivable elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront rooms 105-110 away from pool, nice views and quieter as well !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel was difficult to find, but owing to the remote location I was able to find peace and quiet. It's a 30-minute ride to both Grand Case and Philipsburg.

The room was clean but in need of maintenance and repair. It had, for instance, a fishy, metallic smell that lingered on my clothes and belongings. The drawer doors were so stiff and difficult to open that I began leaving them ajar. (The nightstand to the right of the bed was so difficult to open that the handle fell off. The same happened to the veranda door.) There wasn't any hot water in the bathroom; the tissue box became wet, turned blue (?), and smelled foul when I pulled some out.

The staff and crew were friendly and accommodating, and there were some good French restaurants and supermarkets nearby. All things considered, I wouldn't pay full price to stay here again, and would only consider doing so at a significant markdown.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank grasschoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This Hotel was selected particularly for the value (reasonable pricing, condition of the property, amenities, and location). We travelled to SXM early August 2016 and found that Captain Oliver's Hotel was fit for our vacation. It was very affordable to stay there and Dessi Pantova was very helpful with some arrangements prior to arrival to ensure that our trip was memorable and also with scheduling and providing information for local activities. Although most of our time was spent out and about SXM, the condition of the property was of importance. We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View room, which was very spacious, very clean (daily housekeeping) and and had a great view of the ocean. The general property does need some upgrades.... The pool was fairly large, in-room safes were a plus, and there was also a television in room. There were absolutely no maintenance issues during our stay. The location was ideal since we were exploring the island. The hotel is centrally located (between the French & Dutch). We enjoyed many restaurants and nightlife on the Dutch side and enjoyed water-sports and other activities on the French side. It was an absolutely wonderful vacation!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View Rooms - Great view, Large Sunny, Short Walk to Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Location is not bad, nice little bars near there and good outlook on ocean and marina.
Prices where very reasonable so easy to put up with as similar accommodation would cost you twice that much. stayed 4 days there and management was very helpful considering the issue the place has and will have in the future if nothing will be done.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is a nice resort in Oyster Pond. Not fancy but very clean and convenient for the charter boat we were hiring . There is a pool and restauran to site.walking distance to several restaurants Sand a convenience store.

Room Tip: Askk for room with view of the Carribean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
25.8 km away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
0.9 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
763 reviews
9.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.9 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
6.2 km away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Oliver's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Hotel

Address: Rue de L'escale, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: €68 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Oliver's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Oliver's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing