We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Did not want to leave!”
other traveller has booked this property
A cute house for two or four persons, that is what we offer you in the middle of the tropical nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cute house for two or four persons, that is what we offer you in the middle of the tropical nature
Casa chocoyo with a view to the lake, is also a four persons house, next to three other houses.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
A cute house for two or four persons, that is what we offer you in the middle of the tropical nature
Casa chocoyo with a view to the lake, is also a four persons house, next to three other houses.
The shared swimming pool for the guests of the eight bungalows
Picking the fruits of the trees and use them for your breakfast or a juice
As guest you can pick fruit from the trees for your juice or smoothie.
Ask Jairo, Luis or Miguel to have a coconut.
The view from the Casa Chaperno, a two persons bungalow with a Guanacaste tree
From the roofed terrace of casa Coco you see the left border of the Masaya crater lake.
Maybe you spot one of these beautiful tropical birds.
Jairo shows the green leguana. We have books where you can read more about the animals here.
The jocotes needs to be harvest. The family of collaborator Luis buy the fruits and pick carefully.
Collaborator Luis harvesting the biological coffee in December. Maybe also the coffee you like.
Next to our farm you may see the harvest of brown beans. A lot of families cultivate hiring a plot.
Try the difficult hiking trail with one of our collaborators. You may try this adventure.
Walking to the crater lake is so nice because of the views to the volcano Masaya also.
The small town of Masatepe with the mototaxi, also driving on the dirt road next to the park.
One of the activities of the small churches in the community to collect money for their activities.
A Dutch volunteer, staying in the casa naranja organized a workshop for teachers of rural schools.
The whole year around the sunrise is between five and six o'clock and sunset around six o'clock
The view of sunrise from casa Chirca, a two persons bungalow
Nel and her husband Joop, a Dutch couple, who like to welcome you to be their guest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Masatepe, Masaya Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not want to leave! ”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We rented one of Nel's houses for 3 nights. We were coming from Leon (2.5h away). Nel was nice enough to send a great, reliable, English speaking driver to get us and bring to our house safely. We were very grateful for Nel's assistance as our Spanish is limited.
We stayed at house #7, the last one by the cliff, the best view of Masaya lake and nicest breeze! The house was well constructed, rooms were spacious, and tastefully decorated. Beds were comfortable, good linens, nice pillows. Mattresses were on the harder side but comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked. We put the juicing machine to a good use as Nel let us collect fresh oranges from her garden daily! Hot water showers were very welcomed as well.
I want to thank Nel for a wonderful stay, great conversations, useful advice, and for making us feel at home at her beautiful property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you Victoria for your commend about the house. For us it is a pleasure that you felt home and we are also glad that we can offer the service of a good taxi-driver and are still looking for more good services. From the start we like to develop our project together with the Nicaraguan entrepreneurs, not trying to do everything by ourselves, but share the benefits of having you here. We succeed to reach good quality during the construction phase and now we like to offer good quality services. Thank you also for the great conversations we had, trying to learn from people like you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannaIsak...
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot surrounded by amazing nature and fresh air!”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We rented a 2-bedroom bungalow for 3 months and absolutely loved the place. The altitude of Masatepe is around 400m so the temperature is a bit cooler than many other areas, which is one of the reasons we picked this area. The surrounding nature is amazing with views of Masaya lake, city and volcano from the property. There is also a supernice pool to relax in, good internet and lots of fruit trees on the property. The bungalows are of good western standards, although as everywhere in Nicaragua there are some bugs and creatures finding their way in. The owners Nel and Joop are very friendly, helpful and talkative, great people! The neighbourhood around the property is also very safe and tranquil and allows for strolling or running. We got to know the lovely neighbours in the area and used to buy eggs and fruit directly from them. Otherwise you would have to go into the village Masatepe for shopping at the daily market or supermarket. The condition of the dirt road is not great but there are moto-taxis driving you back and forth to Masatepe for 15-20 cordobas per person. So anyone looking for a peaceful place with fresh air and beautiful surroundings - this is the place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you very much Hanna. I learned a lot from you and Jakob about what to improve and what to develop more. Some of your recommendations we are implementing already. Hopefully other guests will come to join the groups of runners at four o'clock in the afternoon and guests who like to buy eggs and fruits from the neighbours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaHilb...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living life in the best way in tropical Nicaragua.”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I planned my own travel journey in Nicaragua in the summer of 2017 and stayed several night in Villas Vista Masaya in a lodge each traveller would dream of. Dutch founders Nel and Joop do have definitely an eye on quality and service. The lodges are built with enough space, comfort and facilities. Really very nice! Waking up in this lodge and sitting on my veranda, watching and hearing all kind of birds and overlooking a stunning nature, brought me in a real paradise far away from home, however I felt immediately very home in Villas Vista Masaya.

Villas Vista Masaya does have a very nice swimming pool, all eco oriented with a great view over Lake Masaya. In the evening there is an option to have dinner with other guests in the Casa Club. Masetepe is very close by to buy food to prepare your own meals in case you prefer.

Nel is a great advisor with regards to transport arrangements and site trips in Nicaragua. Villas Vista Masaya offers great value for money packages and staying here will make a real difference in your journey in Nicaragua. It was for me one of the most relaxing places in nature I have experienced off all journeys all around the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you very much Linda. Also for us it was nice hearing from you that you experienced your stay as relaxing days during the tour to other nice places in Nicaragua.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullBelly...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Views”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. It's a beautiful property with very nice hosts. Nell and Joop took good care of us. We joined Nell one afternoon in the local town to see a horse festival, a 200 year tradition. We had a very relaxing time enjoying the terrace overlooking the beautiful lake views with warm breezes. There is a pool and clubhouse that was 99% complete when we were there so probably up and running now. We would definitely come here again next time in town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you Sam and Don for taking time to write this review. You stimulated me to go to the horse festival again after years and it was nice to watch this tradition like a lot of traditions so well conserved in Nicaragua.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil paradise in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Where to start..........?
I was lucky enough to stay in one of the houses on Nel and Joops amazing property and it is without a doubt and without exaggeration one of the most beautiful, peaceful and tranquil places I have ever "lived" at.
Never did I feel more zen waking up in the morning from the sound of all the (wild) tropical birds that happily live in the orchard (including the guardabarranco, Nicaragua's national symbol), or the wind that is always sending a refreshing breeze through house and head : )
The views of the lake or the orchard are an absolute treat, no matter how often you see them. The houses are super well equipped and nice and cool, the matrasses are the best and the warm shower is a gift every day. Nel and Joop are truly amazing hosts that are always willing to see if they can help you in whatever way needed. Transport to and from the house is easy peasy thanks to the cheap local caponera's (that you can even call and they will drive down to the house to pick you up!). If you want to use your legs to get to the main road, it is only a 20 minute walk through the little community of Nimboja, where the people will greet you with friendly waves and kind smiles. Laguna de Masaya is at about an hours' walk from the house. I could go on forever writing about how I fell in love with this place (and all of its inhabitants), but I think you get my point...
I would recommend this place to anyone, but be careful; you might never want to leave!
I wish I didn't have to...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for your stay and your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing