We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
146
12
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
12
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm bread freshly squeezed orange juice the river pleasant stay living room douro tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2019

Casas de Pousadouro is a truly incredible place to stay! Everything about it is perfect: the location, the houses, the staff and the atmosphere in general. It’s surrounded by picturesque nature: beautiful views of the river Douro and hills. It’s a relaxing place: very calm, quiet and peaceful.

The houses are super comfortable and well-equipped with everything you need. Breakfast is brought in the morning as you wake up - warm bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt… You can also order the lunch or dinner from a local restaurant.

A lot of activities are offered such as swimming in the pool or in the river, kayaking or paddleboarding, a boat trip, visiting wineries and tasting local wine, hiking or biking.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, always ready to help or give some advice. The owner is absolutely fantastic, he immediately makes you feel comfortable and at home, contributing to a even more pleasant stay. 

I strongly recommend recommend this place to everyone! I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marynamalanenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

Amazing place to have relax. Very calm and unique. But here you can also visit nice cities around, taste wines at the caves, eat delicious food. Houses are so stylish with beautiful view. Loved staying here. Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JankaSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2019

Stayed here for a weekend and loved everything about the place. Stayed in Rocks house and the views are amazing its the closest house to the swimming pool too. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Highly reccomend.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank José S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2019

I had an excellent weekend on this little paradise by River Douro. This is such a relaxing place. The sights on the hills and on a train bridge are amazing.
You can relax on the puffs by the river or kayak on it. Diving into the swimming pool is also a good choice.
In conclusion: good and professional staff, delicious food and cozy, lovely housing are granted.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

Beautiful, quiet, clean and very remote property in the Douro. Nice accommodations with gorgeous views of the river and hills from the Pilot house. We were a family of 7 adults and enjoyed some quiet days swimming in the river, reading on the deck, and using the 3 kayaks provided. A car is highly recommended since there is no transportation provided by the hotel, and it is too far to walk to any town, restaurant or train station.

A delicious breakfast of warm bread, yogurt, cheese, and fresh orange juice was provided daily. A housekeeper was on the premises and the apartments were cleaned daily. We ordered dinner from the restaurant that delivered and it was very good. I had hopes from the website photos that the staff might set this all up for us, but it was self catering. We didn’t see the owner during our stay, and we mostly felt like we had the place to ourselves with the exception of one or two other couples.

There were two problems with our stay. The first problem was that we had booked Pilot house and Ruin house months in advance and upon check in the housekeeper put two of us in the Outer Bedroom, which was small and damp. We asked to phone the owner, who said it was not available, and the following day another couple checked in to Ruin house. Another problem for us was that there was no access to boat tours or auto transport for seven people, other than dividing into two pricey taxis.

I would recommend Casa de Pousaduoro for couples or families speaking Portuguese with a car and who would like an self catering vacation in a beautiful remote setting.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 701sarahq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews