We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019

I have stayed at The Orangery Retreat 3 times as I keep being drawn back to its rustic and classic beauty and also due to the host Martine. Each time I have stayed, Martine has thoroughly spoiled us with her outstanding cooking using all local produce. The way she has designed & restored these beautiful apartments creates the most cosy & romantic atmosphere, surrounded by rustic Italian architecture, you feel like you're in a time gone by. Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

Wonderful stay with Martine at The Mandarine. Beautiful location and totally relaxing.

Fabulous host who was really helpful with ideas is places to visit.

Views are beautiful from the Mandarine with Rabatana full of history and atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Italianphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

From the moment I received Martine's email, I knew this was going to be a spectacular experience, and it was !

The Bergamot Suite was luscious and practical. Goodies to eat in the fridge, wines to choose from, central heating (!) and a huge cast iron claw foot tub, surrounded by candles. A full kitchen and comfortable bed completes this lovely space.

This is a place to sit and read, relax and count your lucky stars!

The view from the patio and terrace is something out of this world. Tursi was so welcoming and very close to The Badlands, as well as the coast.

If you're in this part of the world, do not miss this opportunity to stay at the Orangery!

Thanks Martine for all the thoughtful touches and making my stay so memorable!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Candace96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine G, Owner at The Orangery Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dearest Candace,it was simply a pleasure to meet you and to share my little paradise with you. Am so pleased you found every thing you needed and felt coddled and comfortable. My aim when creating The Orangery was a space to relax and reflect in, to read,to chill without outside influences. As you say the views are spectacular and timeless which helps put our frenetic lives into perspective. Looking forward to welcoming you here again for more exploring. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

One of the most enchanting places I have ever seen , set amongst the hills in Tursi , the views from the window just take your breath away . Martine is the perfect hostess and no stone is left unturned ! Her beautiful Egyptian bed linen the , cozy fire place . How is it possible to describe her heavenly bath with its aroma therapy oils and honey skin scrubs ? It is a must place to visit . I will most certainly return , and recommend it for a beautiful romantic weekend to a sightseeing tour of Matera and surroundings , just a hoo , skip and a jump from stunning beaches .. a slice of heaven .. thank you Martine for making me so welcome and allowing me to stay in your incredible retreat .. can't wait fir my next visit ..

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Wow - an amazing hidden gem nesting out of the busy rat race. It's beautiful, the history, scenery, the coastline, the locals, but most of all the food and wine are to die for. Martine is the most wonderful host covering every detail with 10/10 precision not one fault, highly recommended

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dizzydog365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews