We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
152
27
12
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
27
12
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart price level luxury hotel modern architecture sun loungers beautiful landscape empanadas spa services hamburger off season countryside las bungalow tennis uruguay birds silence
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Positive:
- The huge (from one end to the other it's probably 5-6 kilometers) area of the hotel offers a really beautiful landscape with a great variety of different animals (mostly birds).
- It's great fun to drive around with your own golf cart + you can do a lot of other activities (tennis, golf, horse riding, beach, etc.).
- The architecture and the interior design of the different buildings (restaurants, libary, bungalows, spa, etc.) is absolutely stunning. Well done!

Negative:
- Exorbitant prices for food and beverages. Yes, this is a luxury hotel where prices might be higher as somewhere else, however, the price level across all restaurants is unreasonable. A few examples: Two very simple ham/cheese sandwiches: 55 USD, 2 Gin/Tonic (cheapest Gin): 53 USD, 2 small scoops of chocolate icecream (you just get the icecream - no fruits, no decoration - nothing): 18 USD.
- The service level of staff is very poor. They are probably all nice people, however, most of them are not competent at all and don't speak a SINGLE word of English - it feels more like a group of interns taking care of you which makes the price level mentioned above even worst.
- During our stay the hotel was almost completely empty which makes the atmosphere a bit weird.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tobias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel D, Gerente geral at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Mr. Tobias,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Fasano Punta del Este. Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guests’ expectations.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed staying with us.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you even better in the future.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Da Silva
General Manager
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Pros

Remote with sprawling vistas
Excellent decor reminiscent of the wild west. Very rustic yet luxuriously tasteful.
Fascinating modern architecture with cantilevered staircase
Rooms are large with views of Punta Del Este and surrounding countryside
Hi speed WIFI
Attentive staff
Spa services were good as were the amenities and pool
Quiet, secure
Good breakfast on the top floor with 360 views

Cons

Limited food options
Remote from attractions, however, the concierge can arrange a biking tour, tour of Montevideo, etc

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel D, Gerente geral at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Fasano Punta del Este.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our services, decor and view. It is always a satisfaction to offer the best to our guests.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you even better in the future.

Kindest regards,
Emanuel da Silva
General Manager
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Very quiet off season with only a few people around however we loved the peace and had a relaxing stay.
There are a few quirks, getting in and out was always a bit of a hassle as they seemed surprised to see us, at this sort of hotel I would have expected more recognition of people coming and going and less can you show me your ID and what room? Housekeeping a little patchy no changing or cleaning of cups for coffee/tea over three nights.
Breakfast was good, our last morning no buffet as I guess not enough opeple to warrant the buffet.
Overall quiet but on our last night the team were moving the sunloungers around on the upper deck late at night leading to some quite prolonged noise as they moved and scraped them over the room ceilings.
I would go back but probably eat out as the food/value equation was a little unbalanced in both restaurants.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel D, Gerente geral at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Mrs. Tracey,

Thank you so much for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Punta del Este.

Glad you had a relaxing stay. However, I am sorry that some events did not please you. That is why your opinion is very important to us, because I can work to improve our service and food.

Sorry again for what happened and I hope you come visit us once again for any bad impression to be reversed.

Sincerely,
Emanuel da Silva
General Manager
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The place is fantastic but really empty. There is nobody and on Booking.com it always looks like as if it is full. The front desk boys very nice and helpfull but the people from the restaurant a part from Nicolas are terrible with a terrible service. I love fasano and his restaurants but hated this place. Will never come back... bad energy.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Italianosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel D, Gerente geral at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear customer,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Punta del Este.

Rest assured that we, highly value our guests and that your feedback is analyzed and taken into consideration, as it is only through it that we can constantly improve and adapt our services. Make sure we are already working so that situations like this do not happen again.

I hope you do not get any bad impressions and come back to visit us again.

Best Regards,
Emanuel da Silva
General Manager
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Beautiful and brave building. Bring extra money for food and drinks - You do not want to leave and its expensive. Fantastic place also just to hang out during the day - and then you sleep far away from ugly Punta Del Este

Room tip: Bring extra money - you want to stay
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews