We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
156
14
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
14
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkon arrivalcotton budsbubble bathopen countrysidedanish pastriesthoughtful touchestranquil placeexcellent wifiwonderful cooked breakfastour room was spotlessly cleanbottle openerwet roomcatch uplittle touches that makeexcellent accommodationthought of everything
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

A wonderful lodge with great hosts. Room was clean and equipped with a fridge which has was really good. A welcome tray was available along with slices of cake. Breakfast was provided with a good choice of options. A large snooker table and dart board was also on site. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank 190735Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Neil and Reece have taken great care and vision to provide a first class B&B situated in a lovely, quiet countryside location close to Peterborough. The booking process was straightforward and the confirmation email gave excellent instructions on how to get there. We had a spotlessly clean, beautiful and very spacious room overlooking adjacent farmland. There was fresh milk in our fridge and slices of cake to welcome us. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order from an extensive list of options. We would not hesitate to stay here again (and are currently looking for a reason to do so) and highly recommend to everyone to think carefully before committing to a hotel when accomodation of this standard is available. Faultless.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We arrived only 30 minutes before the stated check in time and had a very haphazard reception from two OAP’s who were standing in for their grandson who was sunning himself in Spain. They could not find our reservation or the room key. Their son finally arrived to sign us in and exchange the first key for the correct key. Noticed a sewage smell on arrival – from the nearby septic tank - and, later, our WC was blocked and unable to flush properly.
We booked knowing it was a motel but wrongly thought the room rate included breakfast but this was £20 a night for two people.
When we returned later the first evening we found that the WC flushed OK, but were surprised to find a note on our bed advising us not to place anything other than paper into their WC as the system used a septic tank. We have lived in rural France for more than 20 years and have actually designed a septic tank installation for an old barn, and that has two runs of drains 50 metres long, discharging the purified water coming out of that tank on a sloping ground below the barn, so we know what septic tanks are like.
For some reason, when using the shower, the water splashed at least 10 feet right up to the entry door, despite a water bar added to the floor.
Good points were an abundance of towels, good heating and a nice TV.
Poor points were locked bottles of soap and other products which did not respond to any kind of push, and a shaving light that needed a hard punch to switch it on. The bed was large enough, but the mattress was not a good quality product.
Really thought that the owner is trying hard – despite his absence – but certain things need to be improved to make it competitive or attractive to disabled visitors.
l

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 - too close to the septic tank
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wilkpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReeceCrane, Owner at Spanhoe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

We are very sorry that you feel you had a less than fully satisfactory stay at Spanhoe Lodge. As you will notice from our other reviews we have received consistently good feedback.
Taking on the running of a B&B is certainly a lifestyle choice, but I don’t think that anyone would take on anything like this without being able to take a holiday, or even time away to do shopping etc.
On the day you arrived, we were indeed grabbing a few days away in Spain after a long and busy summer. We knew however that we were leaving Spanhoe Lodge in the very capable hands of Paula & Ian, Reece’s parents. The day to day running of the B&B including breakfasts & cleaning can often run on into the afternoon, and it is usually a matter of a quick dash to the shops before the stated check-in time of 4pm.
This was the case on the day of your arrival, and Ian & Paula were away from Spanhoe Lodge getting shopping for the B&B. You arrived at 15:20, which is 40 minutes before our advertised check-in time. Ian was back on site by 15:38, and knocked on your door just 4 minutes later at 15.42. When you arrived early, rather than see you sat on the carpark, the front door was open, and although not expecting anyone to arrive that early, Reece’s Nan was able to help you at least get into your room.
Our booking confirmation email that was sent to you on 11th August clearly states our normal check-in time as 4pm and asks you to let us know what time you expect to arrive. It also says that if you would like to check-in earlier than that to contact us and we will try to assist.
We are sorry you felt there was a sewage smell, we will certainly investigate this, as this has never been brough to our attention before. However, I can assure you that this is not related to the problems you experienced with your WC. Once you had reported the problem to Ian, who is a builder by trade, he investigated the issue and found that the problem with both the shower and the W/C was due to the toilet being blocked by items other than toilet paper. We can guarantee that this was not blocked before your arrival, as the toilets are all flushed as part of the thorough cleaning process, and the shower would also have been run. We have also not been able to repeat any problem with the shower since the WC was unblocked. We can only take the advice we have been given regarding the septic tank, and that was not to flush anything other than paper down the WC’s.

We are sorry that you found the mattress to be uncomfortable, this is the first such comment we have had about any of the rooms. We have several returning guests specifically ask for room 4 because they find the bed so comfortable.
We have many disabled guests staying here, some of whom have been coming for many years and love the comfort and convenience of room 4. To quote another guest “it was ideal for our requirements”
All rooms booked via booking.com are booked not including breakfast. This is clearly shown on the booking.com website and also is reiterated in the booking confirmation email that is sent out by us.
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the toiletries. We apologise that the Shower Gel pump had been broken and it had not yet been replaced and we thank you for bringing that to our attention. The Shampoo and Conditioner were working when you stayed.
We are aware that the shaving light can be difficult to switch on. We only took over the running of Spanhoe Lodge just over 12 months ago, and these are as they were when we took over. They are something that we have on a list to be looked at over the coming months and replaced where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This was a great place to stay. From the first contact their customer service was great. We had a meal from their litebites menu which was good quality and well presented. Breakfast was good too. Will definately stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We only stayed one night and had to leave early in the morning but were delighted by our spacious accomodation. Every detail has been thought out with quality bedding, fresh mlik (and fridge) and even a chocolate on my pillow. Beautiful countryside setting would be ideal for a longer break. Seating outside and very friendly owner. We didn't stay for breakfast but the menu looked full of local produce. As a result we really appreciated the scrummy cake that had been left for us.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews