We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely culture gem”
Review of Hotel Jarvsobaden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jarvsobaden
Ranked #1 of 8 Jarvso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This place has preserved the old Swedish 'pensionat', a hotel with boarding that was verk popular in the fifties (when I was a kid). Staff in the reception make you feel really at home and give you a personal welcome. Rooms probably differ a bit, ours was rather small but quite ok. What is most impressive are the common areas with decoration from the old days, furniture, paintings etc.
We had the fixed five menu dinner which was excellent, pickled herring, salmon soup, cheeses, flank steak and ice cream/strawberries. The local lager beer was perfect.

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden2013, Kundansvarig at Hotel Jarvsobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

We wish to thank you for your kind words about us! We strive to keep the charm of days gone by and it is our hope that each of our guests will feel genuinely welcome when they stay with us and enjoy true Swedish hospitality at it's best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2015

We have spent a long weekend at Jarvsobaden for the last 4 years, and each time it is a true pleasure. The hotel is run by a delightful, warm family who ensure that your stay feels homely and relaxed. The rooms are traditional and relatively small, but they are clean, nice beds and soft sheets. Breakfast and dinner are excellent, good quality home cooked food with lots of variety.
We have 3 children and they are free to run around, play in the play rooms or sit and draw in the drawing rooms. Jarvsobaden has this year also added a spa area with Steam and Sauna, large jacuzzi and plunge pools, which the kids and parents loved
Bottom line - Jarvsobaden is a great hotel in a traditional swedish style that delivers

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreasBernstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden2013, Hotelldirektör at Hotel Jarvsobaden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2015
Google Translation

Tack för att Ni kommer år från år, det är så fantastiskt med alla barn osm kan leka på hela vårt hotel.
Ni är hjärtligt välkomna tillbaka till oss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

We have been there for my cousin's wedding. The hotel is good with nice decoration and very clean. The staff is very kind and pleasant. I heard that in Summer is better and more crowded. The room was small but everything someone needs was included.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank MichaelKatsaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

We stayed at Järvsöbaden over parts of the Christmas Holiday and found the place working up to expectations once more. This was the first time to stay there in the wintertime so we used the time between meals to walks in the neighbourhood. The newly built spa department was not ready for visitors yet but will be soon.
The meals are as always very good, especially lunches and dinners and the staff is friendly and helpful.
We will be back again!!!

Room Tip: rooms towards the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalle_villanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This restaurant serves good homemade traditional Swedish food on a long buffet table, with lots of different salads for the first course, bread and butter, and a nicely done main course, meat/poultry/fish with accompanying veggies and potatoes or rice, good sauce.

Dessert is available too, but I'm not usually hungry enough for that as well. I do take the coffee and perhaps a cookie, which are included in the two course option.

You are charged for either two or three courses.

The tables have white tablecloths, candles and a view out over the valley. The guests are either passing through like we are, straight from the slopes, or conference guests. There are often a fair number of kids in the restaurant, and in our 10 or so visits, the children have almost all been well behaved and all of them had attentive parents.

I think the Sunday dinner is frequented by a lot of locals. If I lived there, I'd frequent it too.

The ambience is 50's and the building is older. There are well tended african violets in the window sills and a bird feeder outside the bar window. The staff are mostly friendly middle aged women.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JaneStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarvso
21.4 km away
Orbaden Konferens & Spa
Orbaden Konferens & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vallsta
73 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
1.2 km away
Brostugans Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Gastgivars vandrarhem och B&B
2.4 km away
Helsingegarden
Helsingegarden
#5 of 6 in Jarvso
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jarvsobaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jarvsobaden

Address: 4 Turistvaegen | Box 43, Jarvso 820 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Jarvso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jarvso
Price Range: €129 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jarvsobaden 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Jarvsobaden, originally founded in 1905 as a spa hotel by the forefather of the 3rd and 4th generation Pehrson, who are now running the hotel. In 1935, the old health facilities turned into a more cultivated family hotel. For more than 100 years this flagship hotel has been run with great joy and pride by the same family. Renovations have been gradually made and today Jarvsobaden is a fully modern conference hotel, with high standards of tradition and genuine hospitality. It has become a favorite place for many guests to return to year after year, both summer and winter. Hotel Jarvsobaden is situated in Halsingland, one of Sweden's most beautiful areas of forests and lakes with opportunities for many different activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jarvsobaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing