We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, competitively priced”
Review of The Black Pig

The Black Pig
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Staple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 September 2018

My wife and I had been promising ourselves a meal at The Black Pig and we’re glad we eventually went. The pub has real character and the landlord, Billy, has a good team with him. The food was tasty and generous, to the extent that I didn’t have a dessert, which is very rare for me! Definitely be going back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billmorgan1, Owner at The Black Pig, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks so much for your review Andrew, great to hear you enjoyed your meal, we have a few lighter desserts on our menu at the moment so no excuses next time . Hope to see you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Discovered the Black Pig as we were in the area, a marvellous lunch served by exceptionally friendly staff, all food served was fresh and piping hot, rhubarb crumble was homemade, how great to get value for money these days. The only thing I would change is the salt and pepper served in glasses which didn’t look too clean but it didn’t put us off we just didn’t use them, will return again soon!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank devondumpling60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billmorgan1, Owner at The Black Pig, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Salt a pepper pots have been banished!!! Traditional ones have taken their place. I really appreciate your review, I’m pleased you had an enjoyable lunch and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

this restaurant is excellent.highly recommend. the food is well cooked and fresh, not frozen like so many restaurants.the atmosphere is lovely would recommend people to try .

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billmorgan1, Owner at The Black Pig, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Lovely review Diane, thank you

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Very impressed clean and tidy room. Lovely building very old in parts.Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

Ate one evening very good meal.

Will return.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 115IanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billmorgan1, Owner at The Black Pig, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks so much for your review Ian, really pleased you had a lovely time. Look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We booked a table for 24 of us, adults and children, a few weeks before and also pre-ordered our lunch. Due to the inclement weather we phoned ahead to see if we could arrive early which was no problem. We were greeted warmly and shown to our tables in a separate room, nicely decorated. All our meals arrived promptly and were all correct. Everyone was pleased with their lunches, the Staff were attentive but not intrusive. All in all, an excellent choice. Thank you very much.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stevensonh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Black Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing