We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
170
91
30
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
91
30
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegolf coursemansion housetumble dryerleisure facilitiesfull kitchenmain bathroomtravelzoo dealkitchen areawashing machineon site restaurantliving roomboth bedroomslovely weeksmall gymswimming poolself catering
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We have just stayed at Broome Park overnight on a Saturday. This magnificent old house is full of slightly faded grandeur. The room was HUGE and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was served in a pretty dining room by friendly staff. This is not a luxe place to stay but it is very comfortable and has lovely grounds for a wander. Great value for money and we will return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank SilverLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Resort Director at Broome Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We hope that the changes that will be taking place will restore the grandeur from the past and provide a luxury escape for all of our customers. We hope you return to see us very soon when we can offer you some more great hospitality.

Kind Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Broome Park Golf and Country Hotel, has new owners. At the time we visited they were all in attendance at a meeting as well as dinning next to us.
Our food, service and the general atmosphere was good. Lets hope they pull Broome back from the doldrums
DM!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Resort Director at Broome Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Derrick

Our owners are very passionate about our history, product and the vision for the future of the resort. We will all be working tirelessly over the coming months and years to restore this great property and offer the best product and service possible.Your kind comments will be communicated to all of the team and we hope to see you very soon at Broome Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Booked this hotel through Travelzoo for a quick break while taking a week off work and not wanting to travel too far from home. The offer was good value for money in an area I had long wanted to revisit.

The hotel is beautiful, rooms large and well appointed, we were lucky to be in a room with a lounge and I loved sitting on the window seat reading and watching the rabbits at play. The staff were on the whole friendly and helpful, but we did overhear complaints from others of slow service and misinformation.

The "but" comes from a couple of things that could be major issues for some. My husband has mobility issues, but the website gives no indication that there is no lift in the building. In fact the website is very much about the golf and not much else, very difficult to even find a menu for the bar. We were originally given a room on the 2nd floor, but when we said this would not be suitable they moved us to the first floor, which was still difficult for him to get to. We also found the shower only managed to give hot water for one and half showers, not even that on the morning I washed my hair.

We ate in the restaurant one night, and the food was very good, but the restaurant was freezing. There were a number of electric heaters, but if your table was not directly in front of one it was noticeably cold. There were also electric fan heaters in our room, which made the room warm but must cost the hotel a fortune to maintain.

On the whole I could overlook these issues because the setting and hotel are worth it, but we are unlikely to visit again until there is more access for those with mobility issues.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Spanishmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Resort Director at Broome Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have recently launched a new website with all the information that is required to stay with us. Being a grade one listed building we are restricted with adjustments that are made to the main house but we do plan to redevelop other areas of the resort. Apologies if the temperature was not to your liking again being an old building we heat in whatever way we can to satisfy our guests. We hope that you change your mind and come back to see us at Broome Park in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of nights stay at this lovely hotel. The breakfast here was simply delicious, a good choice on the menu and a table of other options too. We received a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. We drove out from our location to Hythe and Canterbury and had a couple of lovely days out.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Resort Director at Broome Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Sandra

We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us here at Broome Park. The chef is very pleased that you enjoyed his breakfast as he has worked very hard on our offer and we hope that you return to see us very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

From the outside as your drive up to the beautiful grade 2 listed building steeped in history, you enter the Great Hall, gives impression of wealth, with the architecture of the ceilings, two great big open fires, and pictures of Earl Kitchener and also awarded a Blue Plaque outside . Walking up to the reception delightful smile by the receptionist, and very helpful. Given key to the room, and again loads of oak along the staircase, the room was lovely, looking up to the Kent Down’s . We got ready and went down to the bar, had a few drinks again helpful people behind the bar and they were kept busy serving with 2 large groups. As people dispersed we enquired about the possibilities of eating on site, the helpful receptionist went to ask and came back with ‘unfortunately they’re full’, so we booked a taxi to the nearest pub, and whilst waiting, the receptionist went and asked again, this time to she said we could eat on site at 20:30, so went down to the pub, and came back went into the restaurant where 9 people were eating. I counted 4 spare tables unoccupied, so I hope the manager can explain why we were LIED to. After a period of time you notice that everything is slow serving, people behind the bar disappeared. Cannot fault the food which was excellently very tasty, and cooked to perfection.
In the morning came down for breakfast at 10:15, and waited where it said ‘wait hear to be seated’, waiter came over and asked us to wait in the bar as they were full, so waited 15mins, eventually sat and had a good seat looking out to the downs. Again waited ages to be served, and a few small issues, fresh orange bottle empty, no glasses, no butter. Finally after 45mins our breakfast arrived at 11:00, full English was tasty, with poached eggs just right. On the menu it stated ‘back’ bacon but turned out to be ‘streaky’, and when we asked for more toast they had run out of white and waiting deliver, on a Sunday I don’t think so, so settled for brown toast.
To round it off, we were charged £10, as we were late checking out, we didn’t bother arguing just said you’ve lost £4000 which we had gone there specifically to look at the venue for our daughter’s wedding, and there was a wedding fair on the Sunday. So if you’re booking your wedding here give it a wide birth as I don’t think they can handle more than 10 people. Wedding people go for the Old Kent Barn few miles down the road
Other factors if you’re going for a drink in the local pub, approx. 2 miles way, taxi’s will charge you £10 each way as they drive come from Canterbury main area.
So unfortunately probably will never go back.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank terry_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Resort Director at Broome Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Terry

I am so sorry that you had this experience with us. This is the first that I have heard of this and will look into every detail that you have mentioned. I do have your email address so will contact you directly to offer my apologies. I will also pass on your positive comments to the team.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews