We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and great food”
Review of Breakspear Arms

Breakspear Arms
Ranked #26 of 151 Restaurants in Uxbridge
Price range: US$11 - US$17
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A taste bud delight, where East meets West. Sitting within eyes view of the former Breakspear House, once the home of the first and only English Pope, Nicholas Breakspear, the Breakspear Arms, will for the first time, bring a taste of India to its menu. The Traditional Northern Indian cuisine, which can be savoured either in the relaxed environment of the newly refurbished premises or enjoyed at home, courtesy of the free local delivery service (3 mile radius), sits proudly alongside traditional British favourites including a full carvery and cooked English buffet breakfast which can be enjoyed in our restaurant. We are also able to offer a full catering service at your venue, including cooking on site.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there on our way back from a kids party and am glad we did. It was recommended to us by a few parents. Lovely spacious bright pub with a nice garden. My kids are quite fussy with their food but they absolutely loved the Chicken Byriani, 'orange rice with chicken'. The chicken wings were delicious as were the rest of the food but the main attraction for us was the Lamb Chops. Good selection of drinks, staff were nice and a 5* rating for hygiene. Will definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vikarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. Glad you and your family enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes and Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for meal with my boyfriend at 9pm easter Monday. We asked for starters first and the waiter said we need to bring food out all together cause kitchen closes at 9.30pm . They were trying to rush us so they could go home. Food wasn't that good. The waiter gave us our mains didn't tell us which was which cause my boyfriend has a madras and I had he's instead I nearly choked cause he didn't tell us who's was who's . Terrible. Went to the toilet there was a bottle if bleach on the floor in the cubicle and one one the side nxt to the sink imagine a child getting hold of the bleach.

1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. Sorry you had a bad experience with us. I can reassure you that you were not rushed because the staff wanted to go home. The kitchen was closing at 21:30 and that is why you were told your entire order will be brought to you at the same. I can only apologise for the way you found the bathroom and bringing that to our attention. We take pride in the cleanliness of our establishment and your experience has been stressed with our staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over priced average food was charged £2.50 for soda water and blackcurrant (basicly carbonated water and a dash of cordial). Service charge for a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids sitting in the pub area.
The food it self was bland nothing special.

1  Thank Jas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We have eaten food here a couple of times and in the past it has been better.
Overall the food was ok. Nothing special that would make me want to return specifically to this restaurant when there are many others with the same food.

The service also lets this place down. The managers weren't friendly and the waiters/waitresses evidently don't realise that they are a part of the whole dining experience.

Cant complain but won't be in a rush to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank r0se91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for the review and for the feedback, we take all feedback seriously as it helps us improve the business that we love.

Hope to see you again and cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Been here a few times, last time was for Mother's Day.

Each time there has been one Indian dish with a fault.

This time we ordered a mixed grill. The meat was very tough. Our paneer tikka was extremely bland and the portions of our mediocre butter chicken and overpriced mixed vegetable (£10.95) were small and tasteless.

I can appreciate it was Mother's Day and they were extremely busy. However, I still expect good food when I go out.

Don't think we will be returning there for a while.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's clear you were not happy during your visit.

The dishes you mentioned in your review are our customer favourites and they do get ordered quite regularly and I'm very happy to say, without any complaints but with lots of compliments.

Obviously this does not change your opinion of your order but if you do decide to come back, hopefully you will, and you are not happy with either our service or our food then please let one of the serving staff know and they will be happy to rectify the situation.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakspear Arms also viewed

Uxbridge, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 

Been to Breakspear Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing