We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Laxey Wheel and Mines Trail
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely walk up the valley

Many information board all around the trail and some great views. plenty to look at all the way... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
jezbar50
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Amazing engineering

The walk from the village to the wheel is very pleasant and varied. The Great Wheel itself is so... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2018
mrcox21
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Laxey
from US$425.74
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely walk lady isabella laxey wheel isle of man hat height heritage information
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 17 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I was driving past the Laxey Wheel again today, and decided to visit this attraction - as I had a spare hour!
It is a great little visitor attraction and very informative, showing the history of mining in the Isle of Man.
The two staff I spoke to were very friendly and knowledgeable about this attraction.
If you have a head for heights, I would strongly recommend going to viewing platform at the top of the wheel, which has stunning views over Laxey and the surrounding countryside.
There is also the opportunity to go about 100 feet into an old mine, which brought it home how hard it would have been, being a miner many years ago.
All in all a very worthwhile place to visit.
Thank you.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank PaulBGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

great place to visit, lots of history and a lovely walk round. there is lots to see including the old machine house and mine entranced. there are plenty of information boards around. but I would recommend buying a guide book as it details the whole history of the mine and the wheel.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We visited the Laxey wheel for the second time this year. The climb to the top was quite tricky as it was raining and the steps slippery. Don't attempt this unless you are fit and sure footed! Great views over Laxey at the top.
On our descent we walked along to the mines. Here you don a safety helmet and can walk in a short way to get a feel for mining life. Worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Trotaroundtheworld98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews