We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dairy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dairy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitwell, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
englandap...
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dairy cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Sweet little cottage on a lovely part of the isle of wight. It is a very handy location to visit the attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really impressed to be honest.”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was very upset to find on arrival the fridge freezer turned off and had food that had gone off. Had to clean it out. After a long journey not impressed. Also after 1st day washing machine had broken so no use for 5 days. I did ask for a refund of £200 but to be honest asking having spoken to people they said I should have more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Dear Lorraine,
I'm so sorry that you and your family are still unsatisfied.
We did our very best to resolve your numerous issues both before and during your stay, including the temperature of the cottage.
We had an emergency plumber at the house the following day and a replacement washing machine within 24 hours of that.
My husband took time out from work and travelled down from London to be present when the new washing machine was installed and to try to resolve any other problems.
When it became clear that you were still unsatisfied with the cottage we gave you the opportunity to set the amount you would like to be refunded, and we transferred that amount to your account straight away, before your rental money had cleared in our account, to try to satisfy you.
I'm surprised to hear that you are unhappy about the amount when you set it yourselves. The best way to resolve this would have been to contact us. As you didn't I feel we did everything we could to satisfy you. I'm sorry that it left you unimpressed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela c
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing week had by all”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booking couldn't have been easier , cottage was very clean and so cosy , thought we would struggle with no shower but no problems at all there , we were a bit disappointed with the garden area and seating , I would say it's more a court yard then garden and the table and chairs are past their best for comfort.
Really good location to visit the whole island , shame there isn't a Shop near by to walk to rather then having to jump in the car if we forgot anything.
I would certainly recommend it to most people , had a lovely week on the island .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thanks Angela! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We're trying to find a way of making a shower work in the bathroom so fingers crossed we can find a way!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly A
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely homely stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found booking our holiday easy and stress free, as was paying safely. The owners were always courteous and very friendly when I contacted them which is always reassuring and nothing seemed too much trouble. The cottage itself was homely and well equipped as well as cosy and warm with plenty of hot water and everything we needed as a family. The pint of milk in the fridge was very welcome as were the fresh flowers and chocolate as well as other welcome extras. The location was quiet and we sat in the courtyard and enjoyed a peaceful glass of wine. We were close to most places we wanted to visit - Godshill, Blackgang to name but two. We'd love to go back to Dairy Cottage as we now have some lovely holiday memories here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family feel of Dairy Cottage
Liked least: Wifi not particularly good but was actually a good thing as it meant we didn't spend hours on our phones and laptops!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage for a Cozy Getaway”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Five of us stayed here for Easter Weekend, and it really did feel like something from Enid Blyton's "The Famous Five"! The cottage has been lovingly furnished in a vintage style, with little ornaments and posters from bygone days adorning each room. There is also an open fire, and a selection of board games and books for those cozy nights in! It's perfectly located within walking distance of the quaint village of Whitwell, which has an excellent local pub and church - both worth a visit (but remember to book if you want to eat at the popular White Horse Inn). For us townies, it was lovely to wake up to the sounds of birdsong and the horses whinnying in a nearby field. A perfect place to escape to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Service
Liked best: Vintage decor, open fire, good location, welcome pack with clear instructions (and a couple of ales)!
Liked least: Hairy rug in lounge was a bit grubby.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$113
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing