We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$113
View deal
Booking.comUS$112
Expedia.comUS$113
eDreamsUS$112
PricelineUS$112
TravelocityUS$113
Orbitz.comUS$113
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
112
21
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
21
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019

I LOVED the design of Les Bananes Vertes and our two meals here were top-notch.

Our 3 nights of sleep were more difficult... the mattresses are thin, our mosquito netting had lots of holes [which meant many mosquito bites] and at 2 am, 2 nights out of 3, a strong smell of sewage was everywhere in our cabin. This smell was gone the final night, so maybe it was a rare problem.

I think with a few small adjustments, this place would be outstanding. Our hostess was also incredibly gracious and offered assistance and recommendations for our entire visit.

Room tip: We didn't stay in the 'tree-house' lodge but it looked incredible!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrSniffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My wife and I spent all of our six days in Guadeloupe here, and we had a wonderful time. (Even a day spent indoors due to rain was a great chance to relax and read a good novel.)

We had one of four cabanas overlooking the pool. Ten seconds from the breakfast table and you can be in the pool! The all-wood cabana had all the basics: Shower, sink, clothes hangers, enclosed toilet, couch overlooking the pool, a simple kitchen, refrigerator and table for four . The mattress was very comfortable. Other cabins offered more space and amenities, but we found our room to be just fine.There is no A/C. Oddly while we were there it was 90 degrees F in Atlanta but closer to 65 in St. Claude, so who's to complain? The mosquito net above the bed was an exotic (and effective) touch.

And the grounds were really something -- just the tropical garden that you might want to see if you come from more northern clime.

Eric, the landlord, is a Frenchman who left the "rat race" in an alpine ski area of France and emigrated to one of the "colonies." He speaks pretty good English and was happy to offer some guidance to us on key issues. (Like the car rental agreement my wife sighed that committed us to return the car in precisely the same condition it was in at the time we got custody. He counseled me not to worry too much if the car was less than spotless, but to drive it through a car wash if I could find one. I never did, but he was right. They declared it satisfactory, though it did need a wash.)

Breakfast is very limited, and you will want to supplement it with something from the grocery store.

I'd also suggest to travelers that if you lack a GPS, trying to find the hotel entrance could be tough for the first time at night. We arrived at the airport in mid-afternoon, but after time-consuming paperwork foul-ups at the car rental and getting caught in traffic out of PAP, we arrived after dark. St Claude is easy to navigate in daytime, but upon arrival it was a different situation. That made a long day a lot longer.

This is a very attractive place, and it says a lot that the only criticism I can find is to observe that it's about time to repair the driveway, My wife and I had a wonderful time, and would stay there again on any trip to Basse-Terre.

Room tip: If you need two bedrooms (or just one) the tree house is just plain cool.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stayed in one of the lodges at Bananes Vertes, and we could not have been happier. The lodge was impeccable and comfortable, close enough to St Claude to be convenient, but far enough from everything to feel like we were in the middle of a jungle. The hosts were helpful and friendly but never intrusive. We spent five nights there to celebrate my impending 50th birthday, and it wasn't enough. I can't imagine a better way to ring in my birthday.
We will be back.

Room tip: lodge #4, where we stayed, was lovely. All seemed great though.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbenoit34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Propriétaire at Les Bananes Vertes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your message. We were happy to see you
your welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in Lodge 4, which has two cabins and a hot tub. The lodges are set in a beautiful garden - the other buildings are all close in sight, but we felt we had ample privacy in our cabin. The host Laurence was very helpful and welcoming. She struck a great balance answering questions and showing us everything we needed to know about the cabins, but then left us to enjoy it on our own. We appreciated that we received a small bottle of Rhum Bologne, lime and sugar in our cabin upon arrival and Laurence showed us how to make ti-punch :) Our kitchen a sink, 2-burner stove, mini-fridge and the basic pots, pans and utensils you would need to cook for yourself. The town of Ste. Claude is only a few minutes drive where we could get food at the 8 a Huit corner store. We also ordered the traditional creole dinner made by Laurence and her husband and served in our cabin one night, which was delicious and hearty. It was amazing to watch sunset from our deck and sit in the hot tub at night and watch the stars. Bananes Vertes was a very convenient, short drive from the trailhead for La Sufriere and other hikes, but also not too far from the beaches (especially Plage de Grande Anse, the black sand beach about 20 minutes drive away). We would come back to Bananes Vertes in a heatbeat and would love to stay for longer next time.

Room tip: We loved Lodge 4, which has a hot tub.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bethlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Propriétaire at Les Bananes Vertes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your message. We were happy to see you
your welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week and it was great. The all wooden bungalows are a dream built in a lush green surrounding. The hosts, Laurence and Eric, are more than friendly and always eager to help and advise. Fresh baguette in the morning and delicious meals in the evening. The choice of rhum is overwhelming.
There's a nice swimming pool to cool off in the evening.
Highly recommended place to relax and use as a home based to discover Guadeloupe

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank joergk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews