We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
541
344
180
95
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
344
180
95
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxwich bay the cottages ivy cottage static caravan mussels the main hotel afternoon tea wedding venue secret garden ceremony room overlooking the beach wedding reception bride and groom sunday lunch superb location bar prices welsh breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We turned up here unplanned on my birthday earlier in the week and decided to have lunch. We had our dog with us and we were shown to a lovely dog friendly room. The service was excellent, as was the food. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wendy20141965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

We're really pleased that we could make your birthday special with excellent food and service (and a belated Happy Birthday from all of us!)

We have a new menu that's launched since you were with us, so we hope that you'll come back down soon to try some of the new dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We attended a wedding in this lovely Welsh hotel and, having travelled from Surrey, we booked in for two nights. As there were a large number of the wedding party / guests staying at the location, we were allocated one of ten static caravans, which could accommodate up to six people, so plenty of room for us and our friends.

From our arrival at the hotel to our departure some 36 hours later, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The housekeeping staff were very helpful and provided us with extra linen for the lounge double bed (converted from the seating area) when our additional friend joined us for one night.

We had a pre-wedding dinner in a beautiful and unique private dining room (see photos), which was converted into the wedding ceremony room the following day. The quality of the food and the service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The accommodation we had was perfect for our needs. The two designated bedrooms slept four people and by converting the lounge area into another double bed, six people could easily occupy the caravan. There was a two-ring hob and oven, a microwave and a fridge; a hairdryer was also available for use. Also provided were tea and coffee, milk and sugar, and a selection of biscuits. The bathroom had a shower which was more than adequate for our needs and coped with all our bathing requirements; towels were also provided. Radiators delivered plenty of heat and each one was adjustable, so those in the bedrooms could be turned off while sleeping and the ones in the living areas could be turned down to keep the caravan comfortable.

Each caravan had a dedicated parking space directly alongside, making the transportation of baggage very convenient and easy.

Breakfast (and any other meals) were provided in the hotel a very short walk from the caravan area. There were several dining areas to choose from, as well as a bar area.

The location was spectacular and the sandy expansive beach was beautiful and welcoming - quite a stunning location for a truly memorable occasion. We were very pleasantly surprised to find this wonderful gem at the end of a small road and would heartily recommend it to anyone who is in the Gower peninsula. Thanks to all the staff for making this wedding a particularly memorable event for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

What a lovely review! Thank you for letting us know all the highlights of your wedding stay with us, and we're so pleased that we hit the mark in so many respects.

We do hope you'll come back down our way in the future for a short break or even a longer stay... we have some great deals available in the winter months for a cosy holiday with fantastic and friendly service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We only stopped at the hitel for a drink on our way through whilst walking, but the menu looked nice so we had a bite to eat too. Service was excellent, we sat outside because we had dogs with us, and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

We're so glad that our menu impressed you and that service was excellent too! We have dog friendly areas both inside and outside, so you're welcome to come see us with your dogs even if the weather is not as nice as it could be!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Firstly this is a lovely little place set around fantastic surroundings.
I visit here regularly for Sunday lunch with friends and family.
First il share the bad points.. service isn't the best, feels like they are rushed and short of staff, Drinks are a little over priced but to enjoy the location a small price to pay. Now the food. Always been ok Sunday lunch but always the same with no change.. one of the managers mentioned there's a new chef and credit where due he/she can cook. The changes consisted of the option of medium or well done beef that was cooked exceptionally. The roast potatoes were up with the best I've had and that no exaggeration. The various veg served on the plate was very tasty unlike the normal boiled veg you would get. I would say I'd like to have a little more veg but it did leave room for a desert which again was presented very nice and Tasted as good as it looked.
Left feeling enjoyably full. will definitely be returning and passing this feedback to my friends who live in area. Keep up the good work !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank nellSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed our new improved Sunday lunch and we're so pleased that you'll be spreading the news. We do indeed have a new Head Chef and also another new chef, who is responsible for the Sunday lunch improvements you cited, and he'll be so pleased to read your review.

We are currently in the middle of a few things in the Restaurant that will improve service for our customers and give them the experience they deserve.

We hope that you'll be back in a few weeks to enjoy it again, with service to match!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The location is stunning, overlooking the beach and the gardens are lit up which gives it a fairy tale feel. The reception staff were help and friendly.
Our accommodation was in a cottage a short walk from the hotel. It was of a high standard although I would have liked blinds at the bathroom window.
Food in the restaurant was good but I don’t like the way it is organised. We were half board yet the restaurant gave £25 towards the meal and any extras paid for when leaving.Also we couldn’t fathom out the central heating but the towel rail gave off a lot of heat so we were ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your review, and we note your points on the blinds and the food allowance for half board. We will look to make heating instructions clearer for guests so that this is not an issue for others. We're glad that Reception were helpful and friendly.

We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews