We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
536
339
178
95
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
339
178
95
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxwich baythe cottagesivy cottagestatic caravanmusselsthe main hotelafternoon teawedding venuesecret gardenceremony roomwedding guestsoverlooking the beachwedding receptionsunday lunchsuperb locationbar priceswelsh breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch we were the only people in the restaurant... in desperate need of update quite grubby we were very shocked ! The meals were good but very overpriced for lunchtime and quite small. The location and views are amazing. Hopefully the place will receive a freshen up asap...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are currently looking at a few plans that will make a difference to a few of our public areas.

We hope you'll be back in a little while to see what we achieve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The wedding event, ceremony, and reception afterwards was excellent.
The food was good, but service for breakfast slow, the restaurant seemed not being able to cope with the amount of wedding guests.
The 'B&B' cottage certainly has seen better times. Although it appeared that the bedrooms had been freshly painted, (the paint was still sticky), the staircase, the entrance room with the furniture, the carpets were all very tired to say the least.
The girls at the reception and the bar/restaurant were welcoming and very friendly.
It was a nice stay, location glorious, and I am sure a great venue for all sorts of celebrations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank anoxasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding with us, and the breakfast. We are actively working on some logistics in the Restaurant, and we hope that customers will see some big changes very soon. We're currently also looking at refurbishment in a range of areas. We are pleased that Reception and Restaurant were so friendly- just how they should be!

We hope you'll be back at some point to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This was out third visit to the hotel. Previously, I had no qualms about leaving a glowing review as that was the way I/we felt.
This time the thing that let our visit down was the evening meal in the restaurant. We both ordered the surf and turf. This was described as having garlic prawns - fair enough. When these arrived they looked like something from 'Iceland' - they were hard, dry and basically rubbish - I ate mine (being a bloke) but my partner left them - the dogs ate them. When we mentioned this the waitress did not seem overly concerned and had no empathy just offered a £5.00 reduction - but as you will see this turned out to be no deduction at all. No one came to ask how our meal was and the wait for the desert card and the generally feeling of being disregarded made us just decide to leave without any desert. Consequently, we were below the meal value allocation anyway.
Breakfast was great; the accommodation was good (although maybe starting to get a bit tired); and the staff, generally, very helpful.
The overnight stay was not cheap (for what I paid I could have stayed in a business chain hotel in Oslo) - as we were not on any deal - but we needed to be away from home for that night so we had little choice.
Would we come again? Probably yes, the advantages outweighed the disadvantages and maybe it was a one off.

Room Tip: If you have dogs go for the caravan
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank donbroadband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so sorry that your stay wasn't up to the standard that we like to offer to all of our guests. We are in the middle of changing our menu (launching in October) and have a new head chef who started last week who is keen to get everything up to a very high standard across the board, with every dish being delicious and special.

We will definitely speak to the restaurant manager about the service, which is not of the standard that we like to offer.

We hope that you will be back to see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A warm welcome in a friendly atmospheric dining room / area. With stone walls and wooden beams and a wood burner in a tree we had a very comfortable and delicious Sunday lunch.
Our starters were good especially the mussels.
Freshly cooked veg and the best roast potatoes and parsnips cooked to perfection.
Definitely go again , then a walk along the beautiful sandy beach yards away.

Room Tip: Try the food and walk the beach.Also a walk through the woods to see an ancient Church.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us in the Chestnut Room- it definitely is atmospheric and we're quite pleased to be able to offer 2 different dining experiences with our Seaview Restaurant and the Chestnut Room.

We hope you will be back again soon - with our new menu launching in October, why not see what we've got on other days of the week too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

2 night stay in Oxwich room. Sea views are spectacular, but bed is small. Major issues with condensation in the bathroom, (which smells of damp), even with window & door open & fan on caused by contrast of steam from shower against very chilly bathroom, heated towel rail & bedroom radiator not functioning. On departure Reception claimed not to be aware of this problem which frankly was difficult to believe! Menu is quite restricted, food okay overall but a little overpriced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Traveler621002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so sorry about the bathroom issues you've experienced. We've made sure that a solution was found in this last week and we have ordered a different fan for this bathroom to see if it solves the issue.

We've checked the heated towel rail and radiator and they seemed to be working fine when we checked them, but we will monitor this in case there is an issue. We always have management available for advice on how to use the facilities if you can't work out how to get them on.

We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews