We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday break”
Review of Oxwich Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The location is stunning, overlooking the beach and the gardens are lit up which gives it a fairy tale feel. The reception staff were help and friendly.
Our accommodation was in a cottage a short walk from the hotel. It was of a high standard although I would have liked blinds at the bathroom window.
Food in the restaurant was good but I don’t like the way it is organised. We were half board yet the restaurant gave £25 towards the meal and any extras paid for when leaving.Also we couldn’t fathom out the central heating but the towel rail gave off a lot of heat so we were ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your review, and we note your points on the blinds and the food allowance for half board. We will look to make heating instructions clearer for guests so that this is not an issue for others. We're glad that Reception were helpful and friendly.

We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch we were the only people in the restaurant... in desperate need of update quite grubby we were very shocked ! The meals were good but very overpriced for lunchtime and quite small. The location and views are amazing. Hopefully the place will receive a freshen up asap...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are currently looking at a few plans that will make a difference to a few of our public areas.

We hope you'll be back in a little while to see what we achieve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The wedding event, ceremony, and reception afterwards was excellent.
The food was good, but service for breakfast slow, the restaurant seemed not being able to cope with the amount of wedding guests.
The 'B&B' cottage certainly has seen better times. Although it appeared that the bedrooms had been freshly painted, (the paint was still sticky), the staircase, the entrance room with the furniture, the carpets were all very tired to say the least.
The girls at the reception and the bar/restaurant were welcoming and very friendly.
It was a nice stay, location glorious, and I am sure a great venue for all sorts of celebrations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank anoxasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding with us, and the breakfast. We are actively working on some logistics in the Restaurant, and we hope that customers will see some big changes very soon. We're currently also looking at refurbishment in a range of areas. We are pleased that Reception and Restaurant were so friendly- just how they should be!

We hope you'll be back at some point to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This was out third visit to the hotel. Previously, I had no qualms about leaving a glowing review as that was the way I/we felt.
This time the thing that let our visit down was the evening meal in the restaurant. We both ordered the surf and turf. This was described as having garlic prawns - fair enough. When these arrived they looked like something from 'Iceland' - they were hard, dry and basically rubbish - I ate mine (being a bloke) but my partner left them - the dogs ate them. When we mentioned this the waitress did not seem overly concerned and had no empathy just offered a £5.00 reduction - but as you will see this turned out to be no deduction at all. No one came to ask how our meal was and the wait for the desert card and the generally feeling of being disregarded made us just decide to leave without any desert. Consequently, we were below the meal value allocation anyway.
Breakfast was great; the accommodation was good (although maybe starting to get a bit tired); and the staff, generally, very helpful.
The overnight stay was not cheap (for what I paid I could have stayed in a business chain hotel in Oslo) - as we were not on any deal - but we needed to be away from home for that night so we had little choice.
Would we come again? Probably yes, the advantages outweighed the disadvantages and maybe it was a one off.

Room Tip: If you have dogs go for the caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank donbroadband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so sorry that your stay wasn't up to the standard that we like to offer to all of our guests. We are in the middle of changing our menu (launching in October) and have a new head chef who started last week who is keen to get everything up to a very high standard across the board, with every dish being delicious and special.

We will definitely speak to the restaurant manager about the service, which is not of the standard that we like to offer.

We hope that you will be back to see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A warm welcome in a friendly atmospheric dining room / area. With stone walls and wooden beams and a wood burner in a tree we had a very comfortable and delicious Sunday lunch.
Our starters were good especially the mussels.
Freshly cooked veg and the best roast potatoes and parsnips cooked to perfection.
Definitely go again , then a walk along the beautiful sandy beach yards away.

Room Tip: Try the food and walk the beach.Also a walk through the woods to see an ancient Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us in the Chestnut Room- it definitely is atmospheric and we're quite pleased to be able to offer 2 different dining experiences with our Seaview Restaurant and the Chestnut Room.

We hope you will be back again soon - with our new menu launching in October, why not see what we've got on other days of the week too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
3.4 km away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
167 reviews
4.2 km away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
728 reviews
16.4 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
11.9 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
146 reviews
15.2 km away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxwich Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Price Range: €97 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxwich Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Oxwich Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing