We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
535
339
178
95
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
339
178
95
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxwich baythe cottagesivy cottagestatic caravanmusselsthe main hotelafternoon teawedding venuesecret gardenceremony roomwedding guestsoverlooking the beachwedding receptionsunday lunchsuperb locationbar priceswelsh breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

2 night stay in Oxwich room. Sea views are spectacular, but bed is small. Major issues with condensation in the bathroom, (which smells of damp), even with window & door open & fan on caused by contrast of steam from shower against very chilly bathroom, heated towel rail & bedroom radiator not functioning. On departure Reception claimed not to be aware of this problem which frankly was difficult to believe! Menu is quite restricted, food okay overall but a little overpriced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Traveler621002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We're so sorry about the bathroom issues you've experienced. We've made sure that a solution was found in this last week and we have ordered a different fan for this bathroom to see if it solves the issue.

We've checked the heated towel rail and radiator and they seemed to be working fine when we checked them, but we will monitor this in case there is an issue. We always have management available for advice on how to use the facilities if you can't work out how to get them on.

We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

There appears to have been a number of negative reviews about this restaurant recently.Our experience was that like many places they appeared to be understaffed hence the staff seemed to be a little rushed.There was however a new manager on duty there and by what he said he was keen to improve the restaurant and inject new life into it . The hotel is in such lovely surroundings and welcomes both children and dogs. The Sunday lunch menu was good with both meat and vegetarian options ,the portion sizes were generous but not too huge.The food was tasty and we all enjoyed it but the one person who ordered beef was disappointed as it was not pink enough❕ We all.enjoyed our meal but thought there was room for improvement but would definitely recommend it to others .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bathlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. We do have a new Restaurant manager who is working actively to make sure that things are right in our restaurant and improve and maintain standards.

We hope that you'll be back again some time for another meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Have been many times as food excellent

Today had one course, we would have had three but the service was so bad we gave up and walked out.

After main course the dishes were not cleared, we eventually went to bar to get a pudding menu from waiting staff, was given one but no body bothered or even asked if we wished to order, our dishes remained uncleared. The staff were just "wandering" around without apparent interest

We gave up

So disappointed as usually the restaurant is well organised.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank E5643PHianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We are extremely disappointed with the experience you have had and are actively working with the F&B and Restaurant Manager to ensure that this situation is not one that continues, as it is completely unacceptable to us.

If you would like to get in contact with me to provide a few more details, I'd be grateful lindsay@oxwichbayhotel.co.uk

The service you experienced was not a reflection of who we are and our core service values, so I can only apologise and promise that we are looking into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

The room was in such a poor state and unable to stay there. They even insisted to get 50% payment to reserve the room 6 weeks in advance. This was the view from my room.
I checked in and they asked for the rest of the payment up front which I paid will never do that again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We're very sorry that you felt you were unable to stay with us- that is not the feedback we get from many of our guests. I know that one of our managers tried to talk to you about this so that we could understand your issues.

Unfortunately, not all of our rooms are sea views, and we can advise this on booking if you book by phone.

It is our policy to take a deposit in advance to secure the booking, and this is reasonably common practice with many hotels. We ask for payment up front from wedding guests to speed up check out in the morning.

If we had been able to speak to you while you were with us, I'm sure we could have dealt with your issues and come up with a mutually acceptable solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Called into the Oxwich Bay Hotel for drinks, cakes and various other things after a days walking with our local Ramblers group from Bristol, and we had a bit of time before getting the coach back to home - about 20 of descended at short notice and we were served promptly with various different requests for drinks, cakes etc. and we were served promptly and efficiently - we were quite damp after out days activities but it was a welcome rest before the 2 hour journey back home

I try to comment on places I go to and vary rarely look at trip advisor before I go, because each day is different as each person is different and I always report as I find.

The places to eat and stay are more limited in that area and even so would not survive if the service was bad - I wish them all the luck and the welcome was warm on a wet day

Room Tip: open to non-residents too
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We're so glad we could cater for your group and that you had prompt and efficient service.

We hope that you and your group will come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews