We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
19
13
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
13
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarctic circlesoft chairsmealsrestbuffetdinner
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

This is a great hotel, with fantastic views all around. The owners are really helpful and friendly.

I was very happy to be staying here for a few days rest before heading south again. It's lovely, peaceful location.

There is a very nice breakfast buffet each day, with everything you could want. I also had all my evening meals in the restaurant, which were freshly prepared, and were very nice.

The room was nice, a really big space, with soft chairs and a sofa.

I slept very well here as it's so peaceful, but I almost couldn't wait to open the curtains in the morning to see the stunning view.

I will certainly stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Chambersp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbjørn F, Daglig leder at Saltfjellet Hotell Polarsirkelen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to see you again, and next time with your wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed here one night on our trip north. Positives: 1. Location, over the top of the Saltdal plateau, north of the famous Polar Circle centre and above the roaring Lønsdal valley. 2. Fantastic for long mountain walks using T marked trails, and shorter ones. 3. A good stopover point; convenient for the train also. 4. Wonderful hot and cold evening buffet with many traditional dishes - you could eat until you burst! 5. Friendly staff, when you saw them.
Niggles: 1. Our room was promised a fridge and carpets (according to Booking.com) it had neither. Fortunately the hotel staff looked after our cold foodstuffs. 2. There was a unpleasant smell from the bathroom. 3. Lacking in atmosphere – probably because the hotel was quite quiet. 4. It had the look of a place that needed some money spent on it. The owners told us that were trying to sell the hotel.
Cost 1250 NOK (£118) – which we felt was a little expensive for the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed for one night only, but would have happily stayed longer. This hotel has plenty of character and charm! The staff were so lovely, taking time to share local history and attractions. Breakfast was amazing, the best assortment of choices in our whole Norway holiday, and dinner was outstanding....home cooking at its best, fresh local fish was superb! The staff make sure everything is to your liking and that you are happy. The area around the hotel looked stunning, with several hikes around the place. Sadly we didn't have time to stay longer and explore.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This old mountain hotel was run by warm, helpful and nice couple. Their own warm touch (like the candels in the evenings) could be seen everywhere in the hotel. They knew the local nature sights well and gave us good recommendations. Dinner and breakfast were good. This old building needs a bit of maintenance, but it was not disturbing. We will return here someday.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VPV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

this hotel dates back to the 40-ties and the exterior seems more or less original. In some ways it is much better than the "all wodden built" hotels. (We could not hear the nabours - as you normally do in these old hotels). No traffic noise as the hotel is a few hundred meters from the E6. Rooms spacious and some with hard floor an pretty new refurbished bathrooms. Beds and housekeeping very fine.
We dropped in allmost at midnight and got nice service at the reception. We intended to reach a ferry from Bodø to Lofoten in the morning so they served us breakfast half an hour earlier than usual. It is exactly 2 hours drive to Bodø and yes we arrived at Bodø well in time for the ferry line (we had no reservation for the ferry).

Old fashioned hotel - not new and fresh -but OK. Example: No A/C - fresh air during the night : open the window and enjoy the sounds of the nature. Good - Very Good everything taken into account.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms/bathrooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews