We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break away”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely break away”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend break and really enjoyed it. The standard of the accomodation was excellent - with really good quality furnishings. We stayed in a one bed apt with friends (who slept on the bed settee) and the size of the apt was great and made things a lot easier! The staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we brought our own food, but the bar was very welcoming with a big roaring fire and big comfy couches and chairs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SpainloverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    159
    41
    25
    16
See reviews for
183
269
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom Lodge. Very large living/dining/kitchen area. Everything you needed in the kitchen.
Both bedrooms were great and the main one had an en-suite. The main bathroom was very spacious.
We ate in the restaurant 3 nights and the service and the quality of the food was great.
Didnt use the gym but used the pool. Very clean and good temperature.
Would definitaly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMC300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A few quick thoughts:

Positives:

- I stayed for a week in a service apartment, interior well decorated and very clean.

- Location is ok. 12 minutes from the M6 and similer distance from Lancaster.

- Good gym and swimming pool.

- Great restaurant onsite.

A few negatives:

- Apartments are not well serviced, for instance I stayed for almost a week and no one cleaned my room or made my bed. I guess it depends on your definition of "serviced".

- The restaurant closes at 9pm, perhaps typical for the area/time of year. I can highly recommend Boothes (supermarket 10-15 minutes away) for stocking up your apartment.

- On site bar and restaurant are separate entities from the hotel, so you need to take payment when you use the bar and restaurant.

- The bed was a pull down from a closet and not very comfortable. I have stayed in other apartments at Thurnham that have a separate sleeping area, with a proper bed. I wish I had checked my reservation and booked one of these.

Minor issues aside, I can definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you do not mind a pull down bed, book an apartment with a separate sleeping area, with a prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I spent the weekend at Thurnham with two friends in one of the self catering apartments.
The apartment itself was spacious, clean and well equipped with all the relevant kitchen equipment, there was even a dishwasher!!

The weather wasn't the best during our stay so we didn't explore the grounds but we did try out the pool and Sauna - again lovely.
On our final morning we had brunch in the bar area and I can highly recommend the Bacon and Egg barm which was delicious and set us up nicely for our journey home.

All in all, it was a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have just recently returned from our stay at Thurnham Hall and I had to write a review (i never do usually). The apartments here are spacious and immaculate, and include everything you could need for a weekend away, they even inculde items that you always forget! But the most impressive part of our stay were the staff, especially in the leisure centre, I don't know his name but he is one of the most helpful people I have ever come across in the hotel/hospitality industy, he is an asset to your company, he was there on Saturday 26th November in the afternoon. It was just a great place to stay, a great weekend and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
3.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
21.0 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
30.6 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
10.0 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
17.9 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing