We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,254)
Filter reviews
2,254 results
Traveller rating
2,021
182
32
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,021
182
32
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool villa orange county plantain leaf bird watching nature walk reading room pepper corn coffee plantation cultural show coracle ride housekeeping team cold coffee heaven on earth our honeymoon lilly pool candle light dinner vegetarian restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,771 - 1,776 of 2,254 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

this was the most expensive resort i ever stayed. we were 2 families and booked private pool villa at last moment. PPV is a small hut with big living room, bed room and bathroom. all spacious. the ambience is authentic traditional with rich quality wood. great care has been taken to maintain the suite although for construction economical materials has been used.
pool is very small, hence good for kids only or 1 person. good for those who donot know swimming. those who know swimming have option of 2 bigger pools so booking ppv is not avaisable.
slight improvements needed like tatasky connection in room, TV in bedroom, extra plug pins near bed. room heater, replacing spring door with door closer etc.
this is very big resort with internal lake, plantations, 2 pools, 3 resturants, reading room, activity center etc. you need 3 days to explore fully.
try to book through some member so as to reduce cost.
food is OK with less variety in vegetarian food
overall nice experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mukundvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Evolve Back, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings to you!

We wish to thank you for your feedback and appreciative comments as regards Orange County, Coorg.

As for your apprehension regarding the price, we do comprehend your perspective. However, our prices are all-inclusive comprising all meals at any of our 3 restaurants, the snacks served in between, a free mini bar and a wide array of amenities and onsite activities, as well as all taxes applicable :).

The TV is purposely underplayed at our resorts. In fact, at our resort in Kabini, we did not provide TVs for the first two years until we were kind of forced into providing the same because of government regulations. The Orange County Experience aims at getting you ‘disconnected’ from the snares of the ‘urban jungle’, and instead, ‘connecting’ you to a new world that comes alive with the sights and sounds of nature. The superior Daikin air conditioners fitted in the bedrooms come with a climate control system and provide cooling as well heating functions for the comfort of our guests.

As for the variety in the cuisine at the resort, in keeping with our philosophy of showcasing the local nature and culture of the destination, 50 % of the fare comprises Local and South Indian cuisine. Of the remaining half, 30% is North Indian and 20%, Continental. This combination varies to an extent based on the guests’ demographics at any given point in time.

We wish to sign off by thanking you once again for your comments.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Orange County was chosen this time to give my parents a relaxed break away from the city lights and what a great time we all had! From the lovely, spacious accomodation, yummy yummy food to satisy different palates, the peppy plantation walks, the peaceful coracle ride in river Cauvery, the local music and dance they encourage, the art and craft in their shop (that tempted us to buy more), it was an experience we will not forget. The resort is huge and its eco-friendly nature is a big plus along with the beauty of trees, flowers and birds and many little things like convenient buggy rides for the elderly and kids, an 'adult' swimming pool with a bar, an ayurvedic spa(the Abhayanga is fantastic) and deliciously refreshing coffee on the house in the reading room. A special mention for the amazing staff, many of who have been there for over a decade and continue to smile and serve at all times. This was our fourth visit in the last 12 years and the place justifies its Gold Crown RCI ranking. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The cottages are all well located. If you want to do a bit of cooking, ask for one or two bedroom cottages with a kitchenette.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Numerous goof-ups by the management/ housekeeping prevented our trip from being perfect.
Following are the things that bothered us through-out the trip:
1) We entered the villa only to find out that there was no shampoo and conditioner. Later on we discovered that there was no goodnight (mosquito repellent), even though we had specifically asked if it was available in the room. On complaining, the staff apologized by sending a cake over.

2) When we went over to keep the cake in the mini-bar, the cake got spoilt as water spilled all over it. Reason for the water spill---no one even bothered to switch on the mini-bar. We sent that cake back and were later they were insisting on another cake but we refused. So, they gave us coorg t-shirts, coorg umbrella and coffee. I do appreciate their efforts in pleasing their guests but why couldn't they get things right in the first place?

3) We went in for their nature walk and thje resort promises "Learn all about the birds and the beasts, and understand how each tree has a story to tell. Listen to jungle lore under a canopy of multi-hued green, and come back with a greater knowledge of the forest system and a higher sensitivity to the eco system". But all we got a stressful and tiring walk with no insight what-so-ever about the forest. Reason being too many people clubbed together in one trek. I fail to understand why couldn't multiple groups be made? I was thoroughly dissapointed with my nature walk.

4) The quality of toiletries was sub-standard. Even the quality of matches and candle provided in the villa (in case the electricity goes off) was so pathetic that it won't even light!

5)Last but not the least. The highly irritating staff. The staff asks soo many times during the day (over the breakfast table, at the reception, during cleaning of the villa, at lunch and dinner, during activities inside the resort) that "how is your trip going on sir, how do you like the food, how do like the villa, where are you from, is this your first stay in our resort, that it gets really annoying. Can you PLEASE let us have our food with some peace and quiet? Asking once/ twice is okay, but if you are asked the same questions by 3-4 people during the day it gets annoying. There was one occasion, when we were really irritated. We were watching the India-Pakistan cricket match and had asked our room to be cleaned. There walked in a housekeeping supervisor who kept on asking one question after another, not realizing that we were trying to watch the match. He went on to recommend our next stay in Taj, Coorg.

6) More than half of the time, the food in the Granary was cold and this continued throughout our trip.

Room Tip: Lake view resorts are really scenic but offer no privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nids85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Evolve Back, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings to you!

Thank you for your detailed feedback on Orange County, Coorg. We have studied and investigated your review in detail and would like to make the following points pertaining to the same.

As a standard, besides a range of other toiletries, we place Soaps, Shampoos and Moisturisers in the bathrooms and I believe these were placed in your bathroom as well. We provide hair conditioner only on request because the Shampoo is itself a ‘Conditioning Shampoo’. Additionally, we have already launched a new line of improved toiletries to enhance your bathing experience including a ‘Cappuccino’ scented moisturiser in keeping with the Spirit of Coorg. The mosquito repellent is a standard fitting in all rooms and is switched on as part of the evening turndown service. It is placed in a not-so-obvious location in order to maintain the aesthetic appeal of the room. On your complaint, the housekeeping team had pointed the same out to you. As is customary, the cake was complimentary and was sent to the room as per your request to celebrate your wife’s birthday. The T shirts, Coffee and Umbrellas are complimentary for all guests during this season.

The resort although situated in a remote rural area where power cuts are frequent, has 100% generator back up which auto starts within 30 seconds of a power failure. Due to this, we have noticed no consumption of candles or matchboxes in our rooms. However, we have noted your feedback and will surely take positive action on this.

As the thermostat in the in-room refrigerator was set a bit low, this caused a few drops of condensed water to fall on the cake that was left inside. The thermostat was adjusted on your request and a free replacement for the cake was offered to you.

It is our policy to limit the number of participants in any nature activity to a maximum of 10. As the resort was on high occupancy during the time of your stay, despite dividing into 3 groups, your group still had 18 members. We apologise for this inconvenience. To compensate for this, our Head Naturalist Mr. Ganesh offered a nature walk exclusively for your family the following day, which you declined for your own personal reasons.

We at Orange County strive to provide personalized service to our guests at all times. While some guests are comfortable with this, others are not. We try to study the pulse of the guests and act accordingly so that they are put at ease.

The housekeeping supervisor interrupting you constantly is unacceptable conduct even from our point of view. We will make sure that going forward, such incidents do not recur.

The food is constantly kept warm at the buffet counters. There is a possibility that the flame could have gone off beneath some dishes. We are currently investigating this and promise to rectify any errors that come to our notice.

We wish to sign off by thanking you once again for your detailed feedback.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Orange County review needed some time as there is so much to write and this is going to be a long one …

It was definitely one of the best resort experiences we have had in recent times … unparalleled when it comes to experiencing nature. Right from the time we got off the plane, we received a call confirming the timely arrival of pick up cab. The personal touch was sincerely appreciated and Suhasini & team gets full credit. After a long drive (6 hrs+), we reached Orange County through narrow, unpaved roads … and it was a delight. A warm welcome and rest before the buggy whooshed us off to the restaurant for lunch (it was 3:15 pm) & then to our rooms. Guinea Fowls roaming all round gave us the hint what to experience … The whole estate is located in an area of 35 acres (in a 350 acre plantation) and lines with coffee, pepper, jackfruit, cheery, oranges and fruit trees of all types !!! It’s just AMAZING…

The room was really nice and perfectly set. We had opted for the Presidential Villa which had a living area and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was a delight and I cannot help but mention this specially. A small balcony / sitting area outside faced the coffee and Jackfruit trees, giving the right amount of privacy. The room had a pull out bed which was very comfortable as well. A stocked mini bar with complimentary cold drinks and coffee / tea area with hand-made cookies. One of the things that I must compliment here is the housekeeping who cleaned up and topped up all essentials twice a day. Never once would you complain that the room is not clean …

“Namaskara” is a word that you will keep hearing throughout the stay with all staff greeting you with smiles and folded hands whenever you meet them. The ladies at the reception take a special mention for their warmth and help. My 4 yr old Daughter could spends hours chatting with them and getting toffees / chocolates in return :-). Same with the restaurant staff who kept her delighted and busy when we were enjoying the food.

There were 3 options for lunch and we mostly ate at Granary restaurant … a multi-cuisine buffet one. Peppercorn was another option which is a more barbeque oriented and has fixed menu for lunch. The 3rd one is a pure veg restaurant which we avoided being ‘pure non vegetarian’. The food at Granary was just amazing – with an excellent variety and taste to match. Options of 2 NV starters, 4-5 NV main courses and all other options incl. pastas etc. The ‘Ethnic Food’ section is a must have with Pondi Curry / Fry (Pork) and other Coorg delights. Peppercorn has a fantastic view of the lake and the plantation beyond … The food here was good but made to order and takes a lil time … not a problem when you are visit this place for sure. We did not try this place for dinner as it usually was for special occasions and has a 200 bucks cover charge per head (which I found a little odd keeping in mind that you are already paying 2K+ for food per head everyday).

The lake is a child magnet with fish food (rice flakes) being given by the restaurant staff for feeding. Scores of beautiful golden & silver fishes jostle for these when fed and I never saw any kid happy with only one lot of rice flakes bag. The smiling staff always were ready with more … The road next to the lake is a naturalists delight - with lizards (and sometime snakes) sun bathing; purple colored dragon flies flying around; birds of all colors and size hunting for food. A walk around the same and you can see amazing birds and insects … all enjoying the abundant food available. One of the really remarkable thing about the resort is that they don’t cut any fruit in the 35 acres and its available only for birds and insects to eat… and the result shows !!

The daily activities sets this place apart from others … with bird watching (6:30 am), nature walk (10am to Dubare Forest), Eco-Trail Walk (10:30 am), paper bag making (11 am), Workers Trail (2:30pm); Plantation Trail (4pm) and cultural activities (7:30 pm) keeping you busy incase you decide not to go out for sightseeing. We took the bird watching session (taken by Murthy) which allowed us to see such amazing species which would have been hidden to naked eyes (including giant centipedes and spiders), . I took the Nature trail as well – following Elephant tracks deep into the forest. They apparently came near the resort the previous evening and you could see they were not very discrete with broken trees, footmarks and dung all over. This was amazing and not for the faint hearted or ‘city folks’… be ready to get scratches, insect bites and dirty your dress in the process and you maybe blessed with a sighting of wild elephants … something we could not see inspite of Murthy’s best effort. The resort’s plantation is HUGE and surrounded by the Dubare Forest so makes an interesting stay anyways.

Every evening at 7:30 you would see different cultural events – dances from the local regions with expert performers coming over only for the 30 min show. The small club house is a nice touch with kid activities thrown near the common swimming pool. There was a separate ‘adults pool’ but we did not time to discover the same.

Nearby attractions are Dubare Elephant Camp& Nisargadhama (feeding deers) - must visit for kids, Tibetian Monastery, Abbey Falls, Raja’s Seat, some temples etc. Madikeri is a great place to shop for local delights like spices, honey and handicrafts.

There was nothing to complain about the whole stay there … and I wish we had 2 days more to relax. Brilliant place … Amazing staff, thanks to them for making this an unforgettable stay. We will be back again for sure – someday ! Cheers

Room Tip: The Private Pool Villas near the lake are great ... secluded, with great view and wold life
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WheelsOnOurFeet_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

It is a beautiful place for relaxation; refresh our energy level lovely place for kids for learning about nature, birds, eco friendly etc. The pool in the villa is good. Customer service is good, a food was good, they welcome way is good at the same time welcome drink cold coffee is good.

Room Tip: Private pool villa
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews