We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,024)
Filter reviews
2,024 results
Traveller rating
1,797
177
32
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,797
177
32
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pool villaorange countyplantain leafbird watchingpepper cornnature walkreading roomcoffee plantationcoracle rideheaven on earthcultural showhousekeeping teamlilly poolour honeymooncold coffeecandle light dinnervegetarian restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,545 - 1,550 of 2,024 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

It is a beautiful place for relaxation; refresh our energy level lovely place for kids for learning about nature, birds, eco friendly etc. The pool in the villa is good. Customer service is good, a food was good, they welcome way is good at the same time welcome drink cold coffee is good.

Room Tip: Private pool villa
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We took our short vacation straight to Orange county after a stressful phase of business lifestyle .
It was really worthy.The hospitality we enjoyed ,the food on our platter (especially the candle light dinner at peppercorn) and the other activities are really commendable.this place is an ideal choice for couples and families wanting to spend a calm and peaceful time amidst nature's bounty.
Wanting to spend more time in OC activities next time.Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amareswari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a beautiful place, but before you stay there please be aware that it is not as child-friendly as it may seem, and that Customer Service is quite poor, and not of a standard you would expect from another hotel charging similar rates.

We flew into Calicut Airport, and the transfer by car which should have taken 4 hours actually took us 11. This was due to a series of errors for which Orange County were absolutely to blame. We were travelling with a baby so it was not the most pleasant experience and not a great start to a weekend away...

The first driver who came to pick us up at the airport (hired by Orange County resort) set off on the wrong road to the resort. I put through numerous calls at this time to Orange County and at no stage did the staff confirm with the driver that he knew the best way to get to the resort. The driver also did not have a cover for the luggage rack on the car, despite the torrential monsoon rain. As a result my suitcase and that of my husband and all our clothes (and those for our baby) got completely wet.

Approx. 30 mins into our drive from the airport, two guys on a motorbike stopped us to say that the back left tyre on our car was very flat. The driver didn’t seem bothered by this and continued on for another 20 mins or so until we repeatedly insisted he stop and take a look at the tyre. When he did stop he discovered that the fan belt was broken. It doesn’t seem right that not only was the driver not aware of the best way to get to the resort, he obviously didn’t keep his vehicle in proper working order. We then had a 2-hour wait outside a petrol station in the torrential rain with a young baby as we waited for a replacement car.

The second driver sent also did not know his way to the resort, in fact he didn’t know the correct name for it, nor had he ever actually visited it. To add to that, the signs for Orange County along the way do not differentiate between Orange County Coorg and Orange County Kabini, which adds to incredible confusion!! All the signs say are “Orange County Resort”, which is so silly considering both Orange County Coorg and Kabini are in the same area, but actually two hours apart. To cut a long story short it took us almost four times longer to reach the resort than it should have taken. All the while during our journey we were given incorrect or conflicting information over the phone by the staff at Orange County who were incapable of directing their hired driver to their resort. Eventually we gave up trusting the driver and the resort staff and used Google Maps to get us to the correct resort. Unbelievably Orange County tried to charge us for this airport transfer.

In addition, Orange County Coorg is not as child-friendly a resort as you might expect.

1. They don’t have baby cots. In any resort of this standard I would have thought providing cots would not be an issue. Especially when I rang in advance to book one and got an email to confirm this booking. But when we arrived (by that stage v. late at night) we were simply told that the resort didn’t have any cots. The next day we were given a baby’s cradle, which is not a cot and is not suitable for a baby over the age of about 2 months. So for our entire stay there was nowhere safe for our baby to sleep.

2. They don’t offer a babysitting service. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in India and Orange County is the first to not have this facility. All we were looking for is someone to be in our cottage when the baby was asleep allowing myself and my husband to go for dinner together. And of course we would have paid for this service. But I was curtly told that the resort didn’t have this facility and so for the 3 nights we were there we were unable to have dinner together. When I asked if it would be possible to bring the food to the cottage so we could eat together in our living room (it is after all an all-inclusive resort), I was told we would have to pay restaurant prices plus a 50% surcharge for this facility, which I think is just ridiculous.

3. You cannot do a nature walk with a child under the age of 10. The nature walk is something we were very much looking forward to doing, and it should be made clear to people before they book the resort that this is the case (there is no mention of this on their website, nor was I told when I booked, despite me having a conversation with their booking staff about it). We were also not allowed to walk on the Jogger’s Path, for no apparent reason. When we tried to follow it the security guard would not let us through the gate to the plantation, and then staff blatantly lied to us, telling us that no, the Joggers Path did not go this route despite it being clearly signposted.

So we were unable to do a proper walk with our baby, and were unable to go for dinner together, nor was there anywhere safe for our baby to sleep - things anyone would presume would be available to guests staying in this resort. The Orange County resort is so beautiful and it is a shame that these issues prevented us from enjoying the experience as much as we should have.

Orange County Customer Service is really lacking. Despite the issues above, we were not offered any compensation for our stay (we were a group of 6 in total who stayed 3 nights, so we paid them alot of money in total), and as mentioned they tried to charge us the full amount for the first airport transfer, obviously it was just ridiculous to ask for the full amount in those circumstances. My subsequent request for any kind of compensation has simply been ignored by the management at Orange County.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnonTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Evolve Back, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings to you!

We thank you for your valuable feedback. We have discussed your comments at length internally and have carried out detailed investigations on the issues raised. While we know that no amount of explanation can compensate for your unpleasant experiences, we would like to state our perspective on the important issues.

Travel from airport to resort: We have noted that as per our mail dated Tuesday, July 31, 2012, we have recommended you to fly into Bangalore Airport instead of the Kozhikode Airport that you ultimately chose. While traveling, mechanical hiccups (such as a broken fan belt) are rare yet sometimes inevitable. Instead of sending a replacement vehicle from the resort (A 5 hour journey), we arranged a vehicle locally, hoping to reduce your waiting time. We do agree that this vehicle was hastily arranged from Kozhikode due to the emergency nature of the situation and so the driver was not familiar with our resort. We apologize for the incident. Empathizing with your situation, we waived this transport charge completely. We fully understand the pains you had to go through. However, we assure you that your comfort was our priority while we made all these decisions.

Your request for Baby Cot: To begin with, we mistook Baby Cots for cradles. We do keep a small number of cradles in case of special requests. Frankly, we do not face much demand for cradles or baby cots. As an unusual case, the night you arrived, the cradles were pre-booked so they could be delivered to your room only the next day. We apologize for this mistake. Following your inputs, we have placed an order for baby cots.

Baby Sitting: Regarding the availability of babysitting services, we do not offer the same for infants. We are not equipped, nor do we claim to provide the facility for babysitting children below the age of four years although children aged above 4 years are kept engaged at the activity center for kids. And to the best of our knowledge, there are not too many resorts in India that offer babysitting for infants. It would be of great help if you could send us the names of resorts offering this service to info@orangecounty.in so that we can learn from them.

Room Service: The resort is all inclusive and food charges are part of the package. However, on account of the widespread nature of the resort and the fact the food loses its freshness by the time it is delivered to the room, room service of food is discouraged on purpose (the reason for the surcharge). This was also introduced so that guests venture out of their rooms to take in the sights and sounds of nature en route to our beautifully located restaurants.
Access to areas beyond resort premises: Orange County, Coorg is surrounded on three sides by the Dubare Reserve Forest. Keeping the security of our guests in mind, we have blocked access to this particular area beyond the resort premises because of its proximity to the forest. Guests are allowed access to this area only when accompanied by our guides. There are various other pathways leading out of the resort for our guests to jog or walk on and enjoy by themselves. We do admit that there is an old ‘jogger’s path’ board where you were stopped. Ideally, this should have been removed. Let me assure you that you were not allowed access to this particular area beyond the resort premises for the safety and security of your family.

Once again we reiterate that we fully understand the pain you had to endure on your journey from the airport to the resort. This pain seems to have cascaded into all your experiences at the resort. If I was in your place, my reactions would not have been different.

We request you to give us one more chance and we promise to make it up to you and your family.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and we assure you that we have taken them in a positive spirit.

Warm Regards,
General Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We visited Coorg, Kumarakom & Munnar this september and stayed in Orange County, Coorg for a 3night trip. I am overwhelmed to share with you, that we had the time of our vacation here in OC. Right from the welcome, throughout our stay, till we bid adeu we were taken care of immensely.
The Pool villa rooms were beautiful & very comfortable. Very much advisable for COUPLES.
Dining at Granary was amazing. Pampered ourselves with sumptuous meals.
Reading lounge's serenity amongst nature was captivating. The staff was very courteous. Have been to many resorts but have never experienced such a hospitable crew culture.
Kudos to the management :)
Wud look forward to another trip to OC soon ..

Room Tip: Pool Villa
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

NAMASKARA ORANGE COUNTY
it was wonderful experiance at orange county stars from climate , nature , hospitality , location , rooms , pool & speacially reading loung ! granary resto is best resto at orange county ! COUPLE POOL IS MOST ADVISABLE FOR NEWLY MARRIED COUPLES , if u like organic & typical south indian food than its heaven on the earth , or else u have 2 more options for indian food n chats of mumbai like bhel , sev puri etc....attantivness of staff is amezing ! its purely leisure resort ! n one of the best thing over there is its NO NETWORK ZONE ! SO U CAN REALLY HAVE GREAT TIME WITH UR FAMILY

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydeepshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews