We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful and comfortable stay in a place full...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Lone Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting by the woodburner at Christmas Spoke room double
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Sitting by the woodburner at Christmas
Spoke room double
cold outside
Cool out even for tennis
Relax in the sitting room
Bathroom
Kitchen with all your needs
Oak wall units
Garden view
Garden with lots of seating for all to use
Local walk in the mist of time!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horndean, Waterlooville, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robandjen...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful and comfortable stay in a place full of charm and character.”
Reviewed 14 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed in the cottage with our family for a week in May and returned on 11th September 2018 for 2 nights B&B. On both occasions we received a great welcome from Mel and Paul. The accommodation was very comfortable and for breakfast we had a wide choice. Ideal location for all sorts of reasons as you are ideally placed for walking, cycling visiting Historic Portsmouth and within easy reach various NT properties. Our stay was so nice we are anticipating a further visit in 2019.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you so much Rob and Jenny, so pleased you returned for a 2nd trip. As you have found out there is so much to see and do in the area, repeat visits are a must! Really thrilled you have now tried both methods of accommodation and that you are planning a return in 2019. As we discussed there are so many walking routes to explore and don’t forget we can always pick you up or drop you off at starting/finishing points on the Southdowns Way too. Paul and I will look forward to your return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue b
2 reviews
“Delightful B&B break”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I stayed with my teenage daughter and my best friend in the main house, B&B in the Ramble and Tandem rooms. Our delightful hostess, Mel, greeted us with tea (or G&T plus nibbles if one's in the mood!) with home baked goodies. Rooms are a treat, gorgeous linens, fresh flowers, all with such creative flair. Breakfast is divine with fresh fruits, home-baking, fruit shots etc - full english is available too. Plus recommendations for dining etc made our short break very special indeed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Thank you Sue for spending the time giving us a review on your stay with us, so pleased we were well located in order for you to meet friends. Pleased you found Gunwharf too for some retail therapy at the outlet there, and managed to find time to visit the Portsmouth Historic dockyard too. Pretty impressive for a short break. It was a delight to have you, Sally and your daughter staying here and that you enjoyed your breakfast spread full of homemade delights and local produce.
Hope to see you again soon. Paul and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D
Skegness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous, a home from home.”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Peaceful location but with many amenities and places of interest within easy reach. Accommodation delightful, immaculate and thoughtfully put together to a very high standard. We loved our stay, warmly welcomed by Mel and Paul, restaurant bookings made and local advice given. Fantastic breakfasts, we were thoroughly spoiled and would love to return. Many thanks for all your hard work.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Thank you Sally so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us. You were the perfect guests, and it was simply lovely to hear about your ventures from each day. So glad you found some good eateries and places to visit and meet up with old friends. We really hope you return one day whether it be in our bed and breakfast accommodation or our in our holiday cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLB288
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worthy of 5 stars I would give it 6 if I could”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here during the Goodwood Festival of Speed, and had booked due to the proximity to Goodwood and the photographs. The photographs of the accommodation do not do it justice, it is truly beautiful both inside and out. We were greeted with very warm welcome, a freshly made cake and bottle of wine, fresh flowers in every room and lots of wonderful touches. The location is truly wonderful - so peaceful but with relatively easy access to the Coast, Goodwood and the surrounding area. The decor is wonderful, with every possible amenity, beautifully furnished. We will definitely return. Thank you Mel for making our stay so wonderful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear The Lone Barn exceeded your expectations. The fact we are within great travelling distance of Goodwood and can access via the back roads is a real bonus to Goodwood attendees. We very much look forward to seeing you again sometime if you decide to visit this wonderful county. Best wishes Paul and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa B
1 review
“A Magical place to stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Lone Barn is lovely peaceful place. The furnishings are beautiful while also being comfortable. It is immaculately kept, spotlessly clean and your every need catered for.
Very welcoming with fresh flowers on the table and Mel's delicious cake is so yummy.
I love staying there to meet up with friends and having a relaxing time.
And...it is set in such beautiful countryside.
Mel & Paul certainly know how to look after their guests.
I would highly recommend a stay at the self catering or the bed and breakfast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review Teresa, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are blessed in our fabulous location here with so much to see and places to go and as you mentioned such beautiful countryside, we hope to see you against very soon All the best Paul & Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing