We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and cosy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Nannyrain
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Currently staying at Elwood house, it is a lovely cosy house , well equipped, and plenty of space , we have been here for a week and visited , Keswick and Ambleside , also buttermere , it is a lovely quite little village ,and quite location, the cottage provides everything you could want or need for your stay,lovely thought of tea , coffee, sugar,milk and biscuits on arrival,there is washing machine, dryer , and dishwasher , went home with no washing , which is a bonus , there is also a fab log burner , DVD, lots of games and dvds to watch for the cosy nights in , it was just like home from home I would recommend a stay here if you want peace and quite , but able to easily get to other places with peaceful roads to drive on , loved it thank you to the owner , if I had any negatives which I don't really it would be a kitchen update , thanks Stuart , Lorraine,Alan , benson xx

Date of stay: November 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at this lovely house and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolearl...
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, super feel to it”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I and our dog stayed at Ellwood House in September. We really enjoyed the experience, and the cottage is very well equiped. Lovely garden, and area. Caldbeck is a true gem. We will definetly be back. Thank You

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay in this fantastic cottage and found Caldbeck to be a true gem. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumski201...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and garden”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Inside the cottage was nicely furnished and decorated. It was cosy and warm throughout wiwith a good shower and comfortable bed. It was very pleasant sitting in the garden - we were very lucky with the weather.

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful cottage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Ellwood house is a beautiful spacious cottage , with everything you could possibly need. Like home from home really .With lots of extras added too.such a beautiful garden to sit out in with plenty of seating and a big bbq.i would recommend ellwood house to everybody.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House, Caldbeck. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful cottage and were able to enjoy it's beautiful garden. It is great to hear that you would recommend Ellwood House and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuartycr...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a one week stay at Elwood House. The cottage is situated on a quiet country road. We were a little concerned when we read another review which said that there was traffic noise throughout the night which wakened them. We didn't experience any noise during the night - in fact it was birdsong we wakened to every morning! The cottage is well appointed with everything you would need for a self catering stay - wifi worked brilliantly and laundry facilities also great. As others have mentioned, the kitchen is a little dated, but is perfectly adequate. 4 out of the 5 beds were slept in and were all comfortable. The back garden is lovely and a little sun trap, we enjoyed a bbq while our kids played safely in the gated driveway. The garden is well enclosed and safe for dogs too. A lovely cottage in a fab village - we'll be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location and found the cottage to be well appointed with everything you needed for your stay. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.