We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect last stop before returning home”
Pool view from your deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool view from your deck
View across your room , over deck and to ocean beyond Watch the boats come in from your deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Pool view from your deck
View across your room , over deck and to ocean beyond
Watch the boats come in from your deck
Terracotta Room patio
Terracotta Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Tutukaka, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Fritsvh
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect last stop before returning home”
Reviewed 10 March 2019 for a stay in February 2019

This was our last accomodation for our 6 weeks holiday in New Zealand and we couldn't have ended it at a better location. Susy and Brett created a little piece of paradise on top of the cliffs with tremendous views over the bays beneath and on the Poor Knights Islands out in the ocean. The best way to enjoy these views is undoubtedly from the swimming pool or hot tub, but if you don't like getting wet, there's also several seats scattered around the garden to sit back and relax.

We've stayed in the blue room in the main building, which is very spacious and really comfortable and very well equiped with private fridge and nespresso-machine + milk frother. And as a bonus: from the bed you have the same great views over the Poor Knight Islands as from the garden.

Susy and Brett (+ little Poochie & Foofie) are very friendly hosts who are always willing to share their knowledge of the surrounding area and give you special recommendations on things to see and do. On top of that, they cook a great and plentiful breakfast!

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
642jaked
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Is this heaven?”
Reviewed 22 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

What a beautiful oasis we found in Tutakaka. Our quaint little "cabin" was private and romantic and had all the ammenities we needed for a most enjoyable stay. Be prepared for treehouse style living amongst the Tui's and Moreporks surrounded by tropical native bush. We loved the attention to detail in our cabin from nespresso coffee machine and pods, plenty of towels and little eco store soaps. Everything was so clean. Bed was so comfy. Soaking in the outdoor tub with the moon shining through the trees.....glorious. Take the short walk down the property to the secluded bay....you won't be dissapointed. We kayaked around to the next bay and swam in warm reef protected waters....all within site of our cliiftop oasis. The pool area was a great place to relax and enjoy our cocktails. Brett and Suzy were beautiful hosts making sure we were comfortable at all times. The region is stunning with many beaches and bays close by. We will be staying here regularly so that we can keep exploring.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U5538CEma...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ocean view is definitely not worth the price”
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I'll try my best to be impartial and stick to the facts.... My wife and I stayed in the "shed." Sounds quaint, but it really is an old tool shed that was redone to look like a cottage. Yeah, there are incredible oceans views, but that didn't make up for an uncomfortable double bed, no air conditioning, no screens on the windows, no microwave, no stove and no TV. Because there is no AC, when it's warm at night you have to leave the windows and door open for ventilation. If so, be prepared to move under the mosquito netting shortly after the sun goes down. Likewise, though the place is billed as eco-friendly, but be prepared to drench yourself and the shed with the provided insect spray to keep the bugs at bay. The outdoor bathroom is private enough with a great shower, but when the wind stops you'll need that insect spray again. On our last night it was sweltering with no wind, so we left the door and windows open. The wind picked up during the night, but alas so did the rain. When we awoke in the morning the foot of our bed and our luggage were completely soaked. There is a toaster, coffee pot and a small fridge in the room, which was stocked with fruit, bread, jam, butter, honey and OJ, which were replenished after 3 days same as the linen and towels. A generous bottle of dish soap is provided along with a plastic tub and sponges for washing dishes in the outdoor bathtub. You have to walk up to the main house to use wifi as there is no reception in the "shed," but even then it is intermittent. We made due most of the time with a hotspot using our cellphone. The pool was nice, but the hot tub was only filled for the first few days of our stay. Since the B&B doesn't offer meals and there is no stove or microwave in the "shed," you can dine at the Schnappa Rock restaurant in Tutukaka, which is a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive. There are no other restaurants within about 30 minutes. Otherwise you better be creative with the furnished gas grill. You can buy limited food items at the grocery store in Tutukaka. The kayaks and paddle boards that are available are functional, but pretty beat up. In summary, this was a very expensive stay. Over $1500 for 5 nights. The owners should use that money to buy an air conditioner, a microwave and SCREENS for all of the windows all of the windows. I would rate this place a 1-star based on the accommodation, maybe bump it to 1.5-star due to the scenery. However, if you want the views, but won't settle for less than 5-star accommodations, go up the coast a short drive to Paihia and stay at the Moon Shadow B&B. No comparison, but about the same price.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Unfortunately these guests just couldn't find it in their hearts to appreciate that we had an extraordinary weather event that brought humidity like we had never had before. It dampened their entire experience .It would have been nice for them to mention something to us during their stay instead of all their smiles and lies.
Have a read of all our guest reviews on booking.com - they tell the true stories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KermitThe...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent hosts and views but will stay in main house next time”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Excellent hosts that are capable, friendly, welcoming, and warm. Outstanding views.

I stayed in "The Shed" is a recently built stand-alone unit with a semi-outdoor bathroom, separate from the main bed and breakfast. It has a wonderful view, a peaceful away from it all feeling and was impeccably clean. The bed was of a good quality and the outdoor bath was lovely after diving. The included continental breakfast was also very good.

The downside of "The Shed" specifically is proximity to insects, but this was manageable. The ants stayed outside because the hosts keep the unit impeccably clean. Two stinging insects inside the unit when I arrived were easily dealt with by the fly spray provided. Mosquitoes didn't come inside because I closed the doors and windows before sunset, so I didn't need to use the provided mosquito net.

I would stay at this property again, but would probably prefer to stay in the main house as my first choice which I would expect to rate 5 stars.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjl0
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view! Beautiful B&B and such warm hospitality!”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Wow - the best location and a stunning property - love the secret garden path to the edge of the cliff, where the views are awesome! Huge thanks to Susy, Brett and Poochie and Foofie for making us feel so at home - and we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and beautiful deck area. Also, the outdoor baths were such a winner after scuba diving the Poor Knights. The Tutukaka Marina is a pleasant walk, and I can highly recommend Schnapper Restaurant - divine food and excellent service.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and outdoor baths
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Dec 2014
It is always a pleasure having guests that enjoy our environment and a bonus when they are such lovely people.Thank you...we will look forward to meeting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.