We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Deakin's on MountainView
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
81
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary helenmaple syrupat homealgonquin parkfresh fruitfrench toastwonderful hostsother guestsgranolawonderful experienceanother couplegreat foodmade us feelgreat conversationbreakfast was deliciouscookiesevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

If you're staying in the area avoid the hotels and stay with Don and Mary Helen at the Deakins! Beautiful and super clean rooms, amazing property, and the best breakfast we've had in years. And the best part is there hospitality, they truly are wonderful people. I can't wait to return when we travel North next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iroc_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My husband and I learned about The Deakin's on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The home is on a hill and the views are pastoral and calming. Our room was was lovely and the bed and linens so comfortable. We slept well. The house is very quiet rand we were not disturbed by the sounds of other guests. Breakfast was a real treat, with lots of choices. We felt welcome. Don and Mary Helen are excellent hosts.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coombes7424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for commenting on the various things you enjoyed.It is helpful for us as hosts to keep paying close attention to details.We do so enjoy meeting so many people and learn so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This B&B was absolutely spotless. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The breakfast delicious. Our hosts were so very nice and interesting.
The B&B is located within a few kilometers of Wilno and Barry's Bay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope you'll visit us again sometime.

Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Lovely B&B, great food and beautiful country location. The friendly hosts are more than happy to assist you in maximizing your visit by guiding you to some of the best kept hidden secrets found in the Ottawa Valley. Whether you are single, a couple, family, business or cycling/motorcycling touring group, The Deakins B&B experience will help make part of your journey pleasant and memorable.

FB (Gatineau, Qc)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fayb953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for highlighting the various features of our home and the area. More and more travellers are discovering the gem that this area is. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This is my second time at the Deakin's. Beautiful rooms, wonderful, copious and healthy breakfasts, 100 acres of meadowland and maples to view. Don and Mary Helen are so generous and filled with vitality! Already looking forward to visiting their B&B again!

Room Tip: My sister and I each had our own room upstairs. As there are only 2 rooms on the second floor (plus the private bathroom that belongs to the Gardenview Room, and a study) we had the whole floor for ourselves!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Regiena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Mary Helen and I so enjoyed your and your sister's visit. You are a lively pair and you bring out the best in us. Thank you for the art work and the note you recently sent.
We'll go hunting next time. In the meantime, take care.

Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews