We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Deakin's on MountainView
Nearby Hotels
Pine Tree Motel(Eganville)
US$104
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Travellers Motel(Pembroke)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Barry's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Barry's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
81
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary helenmaple syrupat homealgonquin parkfresh fruitfrench toastwonderful hostsother guestsgranolawonderful experienceanother couplegreat foodmade us feelgreat conversationbreakfast was deliciouscookiesevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I stayed at Mary Helen and Don's place for one night early september with my boy friend and his parents. Everything was perfect and beyond expectations! We had the whole basement for us (rooms/ bathroom and restrooms). Everything was super clean and comfy, I just wish we could have stayed longer! Mary Helen and Don are the cutest couple ever, very nice to talk to and very welcoming, Mary Helen offered us a delicious lemonade and cookies in the garden to relax and Don took us visiting his forest and the sugar shack he rebuilt himself as it was back in the 20's. Wonderfull experience! The breakfast was the best I had in a while, prepare your stomach as it's huge! We had fruits (strawberries, bananas, grape, orange, etc.), homemade granola and compote, local yogourt, homemade bread (the recipe comes from Mary Helen's mother), croissant, french toasts with some delicious sausages from the butcher, honey, jams, and of course maple syrup (and a maple jam that you can't find in store). It's the perfect place to relax, I definitely would come back! Very inspirational place if you are an artist or a writer...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ophelie_queffurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

"Beyond expectations"! That's quite an endorsement. Thank you very much. Your generous description of our breakfast is making me hungry even now as I read it. It was our pleasure to give you a tour of our 1920 style sugar shack and to share our home with you. We look forward to your return visit. Give our regards to your travelling 'companions'.
Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This B&B is in a quiet rural area of Ontario, to the south-west of Renfrew. We used it as a base for exploring the area and Algonquin Park. (The East Gate of the Park is about 60 minutes drive from the B&B). The hospitality of Mr and Mrs Deakin was excellent, and they took care to make sure we were comfortable, and that we had the information we needed to plan our day trips, and to find good places to eat supper. The house is very nicely presented, with a well-kept garden, and a maple sugar bush forest, which we did not have time to explore. The breakfasts were among the best we have ever had at B&B's.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. A number of our visitors stay with us to explore Algonquin Park. We are always happy to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed not only our food but our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Everything was perfect. Best breakfast ever!! The authentic sugarbush tour is fabulous. A few minutes of listening to the wolves howling at midnight was really cool too.
Mary Helen and Don made us feel right at home (no dishes tho :-).
Looking forward to playing Homestead at Wolf Ridge golf course next time...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrbb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

A few years back a chef stayed with us for a week while on a canoe course. Mary Helen cosied up to him enough to ask him to cook us breakfast ... which he did! So on your next visit (which we hope will be soon) we'll be happy to have you do dishes, knowing, of course, that you will feel right at home.
We enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind comments.

Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights in the Family Suite and we really enjoyed it here. As we were attending a family wedding, we didn't get out on any excursions with Don and Mary Helen but we really enjoyed breakfasts and chats. Really warm, lovely people with fascinating stories. Would highly recommend! Felt like "home away from home" without the cooking and cleaning!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dancing_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Many of our stories originate from experiences our guests and people in our community have had. In 16 years of B & B we've collected some that make it easy to believe that s 'truth is stranger than fiction'. We're pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to share the highlights of your visit with us.
Don and Mary Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This is a very nice, comfortable bed and breakfast. The hosts are lovely, and helped us choose stair ant for dinner. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts are informative and friendly. We enjoyed our stay, and learned a lot about maple syrup.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room I would not be happy with.
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Helen D, Owner at The Deakin's on MountainView, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews