We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome coffee”
Review of Apple Tree Cafe

Apple Tree Cafe
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Sennen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Apple Tree Cafe is a licensed cafe/coffee shop serving our own roasted coffee (Penmarace Coffee) as well as tea and soft drinks. We serve breakfast, brunch, lunch, cakes and cream teas. Wherever possible we use local produce in our freshly prepared food. Local artists and crafts people display their work in our cafe. We are dog friendly :)
Reviewed 31 May 2018

The best chips on the Lands End peninsula, finished off with home roasted coffee to die for......... we will be back :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenMart, Owner at Apple Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you, William - I'm so glad you enjoyed your fish and chips and of course our Penmarace Coffee - even though I am just a tad bias it is absolutely lovely coffee. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards, Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We passed this little place on our way from Mousehole to Lands End and made a mental note. Having found the cafe at Lands End to look somewhat unappealing and commercial we headed back to Apple Tree Cafe. My wife's crab sandwich was the best she'd ever had. I loved my brie sandwich and raspberry and pistachio frangipane. Coffee and tea were good and the service was welcoming and friendly. There is on-site parking for about 5 vehicles by the look of it, and plenty of tables inside and out. The building is not of great architectural merit being apparently originally a pretty basic 20th century milking parlour/dairy. But it is beautifully adapted and presented for its current purpose in a pleasing hamlet. The toilets though not plush were lovely and clean and everything needed was present and working: nice hand soap, hot water etc. Sadly we're not likely to be in the area again any time soon but we can warmly recommend it and would definitely go again if we were passing near. Thanks to the team for a delightful experience.

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenMart, Owner at Apple Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Mike

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. The crab comes fresh from Newlyn and certainly is delicious - not to mention the frangipane which is a personal favourite of mine :)

Hopefully, one day we can welcome you again.

Kind regards, Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Visited again this year after super meal last year. The ownership has changed but the standard is still very high. Fish and chips are to die for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenMart, Owner at Apple Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Hi Peter,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your fish and chips and thank you for your review.

Kind regards, Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for some lovely lunch mid walk. Very nice cafe, food was delicious and the chips were the BEST I’ve ever eaten. Definitely worth popping in, missing out otherwise. ;)

Thank emilyjrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenMart, Owner at Apple Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Emily

Lovely to have you with us on Sunday - glad you love the chips - we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Kind regards, Penny and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

went for a breakfast the other morning and was not disappointed. All the food was fresh and locally sourced. Staff really helpful and friendly. Will be going here again before we go back home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crompy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenMart, Owner at Apple Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us and hope to see you before you travel home.

Enjoy your holiday in this beautiful part of the world.

Regards, Penny and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Been to Apple Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing